PDA

View Full Version : 46PFL9706 suddenly shuts down...



joybee
04-10-2012, 02:03 PM
Hello!
I've bought my 46PFL9706 in January and I like it very much.
However, it shuts down nearly once a day, after 2, 3, 4 hours, and it has to be restarted. This is annoying, and it seems to happen more often the longer I use it (I use it daily for several hours.)
My questions: does anyone have the same problem with his 9706? Philips: what could fix this? I thought I had the current firmware inside but that didn't fix it...

Thanks
joybee

Toengel
04-10-2012, 02:15 PM
Hi,

please install the latest firmware 14.96 (via USB). After the TV works again, shut down, wait 1 minutes (to shut down all componentes) and pull power cord for 2-3 minutes and try again.

Toengel@Alex

joybee
04-11-2012, 07:04 AM
Good morning!
Will try, let you know.
Thanks, joybee

joybee
04-16-2012, 01:58 PM
Hello again!
No shutdowns with the 14.96 firmware since last Wednesday!
Seems to work now.
BR
joybee

erje
06-14-2012, 12:30 PM
Hello again!
No shutdowns with the 14.96 firmware since last Wednesday!
Seems to work now.
BR
joybee

Hi
Have you not seen any shutdowns? I have the same model and still have the issue in sw version 14.98.
BR
erje

iDoubt
06-14-2012, 06:05 PM
Hi
Have you not seen any shutdowns? I have the same model and still have the issue in sw version 14.98.
BR
erje

Hi Erje, I also got the same issue with the 14.98 firmware. Re-booting more and more often.

erje
06-14-2012, 06:42 PM
Hi Erje, I also got the same issue with the 14.98 firmware. Re-booting more and more often.

Hi iDoubt
Interesting observation. Shut downs and rebooting seem to be reported in various threads here.

When I let the TV on standby for a long time (such as overnight) the TV switches off after 2 hours (no rebooting). If I close the TV with the remote to standby and then switces off with the mains switch (on the side on the 46PFL9706) the TV do not switches off after 2 hours (?). Philips will take the TV to the workshop but I refuse as long as the Euro championship in football is on :o. (Actually it turned it self off 5 minutes before one match was finished :mad:) I use a decoder on HDMI 1 input as source and do not touch the TV remote.

I suspect a SW flaw, Philips seem to think it is a HW failure (?). - And yes I have a friend with the same issue on his set

joybee
06-17-2012, 02:58 PM
My television is working fine with 14.96 (via USB).
Best regards,
joybee

erje
06-18-2012, 03:44 PM
My television is working fine with 14.96 (via USB).
Best regards,
joybee
Hi
Do you let the TV be in standby over the night?
If I let the TV be in stand-by over the night (evening to evening) I have experienced suddenly shutdowns after 2 hours when using the HDMI 1 and 2 inputs as source (CableTV set top box and Satelite tuner respectively). My friend experienced the same using the digital tuner (DVB-T). I have not experienced the switch off when starting the TV from the BluRay player (HDMI 3) over the CEC-link.
If I switches the set off with the mains switch (Standby to Power Off) and let be like this over the night it works ok.

Best regards
ErJe

Niels
06-18-2012, 05:05 PM
In one of the other threads Philips acknowledged that this is a SW bug and they are working on a solution! (Finally, since I am suffering from black screens / auto resets now for 7 months !)

Niels

erje
06-18-2012, 07:45 PM
In one of the other threads Philips acknowledged that this is a SW bug and they are working on a solution! (Finally, since I am suffering from black screens / auto resets now for 7 months !)

Niels

Hi!
Interesting. Where is this thread?

ErJe

VincentU
06-19-2012, 12:11 PM
Hi!
Interesting. Where is this thread?

ErJe

http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?5811-32PFL6606-12-turns-black-at-random-moments&p=33885&viewfull=1#post33885

It can take long though :(