PDA

View Full Version : BDP 3100 software update



Marc Atkinson
04-10-2012, 02:34 PM
Hi :) Ive got a blu-ray player BDP 3100 and it's been playing up a lot recently. I first noticed it when i bought CAPTAIN AMERICA on Blu-ray and the sound keeps jumping etc... I took it back to the shop thinking it was the disc, got an exchnage, same thing... Got another exchange... same thing.. and another... same thing... got a refund... re-bought the disc at another shop... samething :o( Since then some discs wont play at all ('unknown disc') and my new GAME OF THRONES.... no chance! :( Anyway, I looked online and figured I'd need to update my software etc... so downloaded the upgrade to a usb stick and tried to update it but it wouldnt have it and kept saying 'cannot verify software' or something? :o( Can anybody help? Thank you :o)

Toengel
04-10-2012, 02:41 PM
Hi,

be sure that you have the right version: /05, /12 etc...

Format your stick with FAT, remove any disc, keep the folder structure: USB-stick\UPG_ALL\xxx.bin

Toengel@Alex

Marc Atkinson
04-10-2012, 03:06 PM
Tried all that... It just keeps saying 'verification falied' :(

kwinnie
04-11-2012, 10:11 AM
as for the unknown disc error, it can be a loader issue /
can be confirmed by many users in the forum and issues can be solved bringing back to service.

sorry cant help much

Marc Atkinson
04-11-2012, 11:39 AM
Ok, tired all the advice but it just doesnt work... Everytime I try the message on the blu-ray says 'verification failed'.... Anyone got any ideas?

Philips - Remko
04-12-2012, 10:15 AM
Hi Marc,

Please get in contact with your local call centre www.philips.com/contact

Kind regards,

Cliveodevo
04-13-2012, 09:19 PM
I have experienced exactly the same problem with my BDP3000/05. I bought Game of Thrones Box set. It won't play. I tried to upgrade firmware following instructions to the letter.. Tried it on three different USB sticks. Exactly the same. message: "No legitimate upgrade software found". Tried it via the network. It could not recognise the network. Tried three different network cables. Still no luck.

My network works fine. Netgear wireless router all devices network fine but not the Blu Ray player. Chatted on line with a couple of advisers who eventually put me onto a Blue Ray "specialist" who said that the Game of Thrones set was a common problem on the forums and that the Blu Ray standards people would have to supply them with the new standard so that Philips could update their firmware files again. I did emphasise that even if they did I could not upgrade the firmware with the current software by any of the means that they suggest on the firmware support page. That was two weeks ago and I still haven't heard back. I think there must be a problem with the connections for the USB and Network sockets.

Cliveodevo
04-13-2012, 09:21 PM
I have experienced exactly the same problem with my BDP3000/05. I bought Game of Thrones Box set. It won't play. I tried to upgrade firmware following instructions to the letter.. Tried it on three different USB sticks. Exactly the same. message: "No legitimate upgrade software found". Tried it via the network. It could not recognise the network. Tried three different network cables. Still no luck.

My network works fine. Netgear wireless router all devices network fine but not the Blu Ray player. Chatted on line with a couple of advisers who eventually put me onto a Blue Ray "specialist" who said that the Game of Thrones set was a common problem on the forums and that the Blu Ray standards people would have to supply them with the new standard so that Philips could update their firmware files again. I did emphasise that even if they did I could not upgrade the firmware with the current software by any of the means that they suggest on the firmware support page. That was two weeks ago and I still haven't heard back. I think there must be a problem with the connections for the USB and Network sockets.

Philips - Remko
04-16-2012, 07:12 AM
Hi Cliveodevo,

Please get in contact with your local call centre www.philips.com/contact

They can help you further with the nearest service centre.

Kind regards,

izogi
12-02-2012, 10:41 AM
I couldn't comment about problems with updating firmware, but for those people who've experienced an issue playing Game of Thrones Season 1 on blu-ray, please see my post in this other thread (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?2925-BDP3000-Latest-Software-Upgrade-(v1142-1)-has-been-released&p=46525&viewfull=1#post46525), with workaround steps which so far seem to work for me. I own a Philips BDP3000, but it might be the same issue or a similar in the BDP3100.

As far as I can tell from my own experience, it's something to do with the auto-play sequence which causes the player to lock up, and I'd be interested to know if anyone can replicate the success I've had. I don't have a clue what this might have to do with the blu-ray standard or Philips not having it, but if the workaround is reliable then maybe it'll help Philips to nail a possible firmware bug.