PDA

View Full Version : Subtitles not shown



janmetdepet
04-22-2012, 09:00 PM
I know Philips TV's are not showing subtitels (srt files), so I embedded the subtitles in my movie using Mediacoder. When playing the movie with mediaplayer or VLC, it shows the subtitles...so they are embedded in the movie.
But...when playing the movie on my TV ( streaming from pc), it's not showing the subtitles. How do I get the subtitles?
Do I need to setup something on my television (37PFL9606) ?

Philips - Thomas
04-23-2012, 06:13 AM
Hi

on mkv Files the TV can show the Subtitles via USB.
However, you can also hardcode the Subtitles to the Video File but if that does not work you have to check the File itself.

Regards
Thomas

shrimpman
05-09-2012, 06:13 AM
Hi

on mkv Files the TV can show the Subtitles via USB.
However, you can also hardcode the Subtitles to the Video File but if that does not work you have to check the File itself.

Regards
Thomas

Hi Thomas,

recently I am the owner of a 42PFL7906K/02 and I have the same problem. I've read different post where you have been adressing this problem (showing subtitles).

I use mkvmerge the hardcode external subtitles into mkv files and then I tried to watch the file while streaming over DNLA. But the subtitles are not shown (they cannot be activated=>subtile menu entry is disabled). They are shown if I acess the file via USB or with my Oplay media player (they still have to be actively enabled, but it works). That means the hardcoding did work.

Is there anything in particular, that I have to consider with the settings of my tv or with the settings of my encoding software?
Is only a flaw within the coding of the firmware that prevents users from activating hardcoded subtibles manually while streaming via dlna? Has this issue been taken care of in recent firmware updates or will this issue been adressed in future updates?
Please help me, I don't want to switch to another manufacturer.

Your help is already very much appreciated in advance
Regards
Mark

Philips - Thomas
05-09-2012, 06:52 AM
Hi

if the Subtitle is hardcoded to the File you dont need to activate it via the menu, it must be shown, allways.
The Subtitle has to be a part of the Video itself.

Thomas

shrimpman
05-09-2012, 07:37 AM
Hi!

I mean with hardcoded, that I implemented the external subtitle into the mkv file with mkvmerge. That why only one file has to be transmitted (in conformity with DLNA-Standard). I did not actually reencode the file. That would take to much time.

Regards
Mark

Philips - Thomas
05-09-2012, 07:39 AM
Hi

indeed it would, but thats the only way to have the Subtitle in the Movie via Network.

Thomas

shrimpman
05-09-2012, 07:40 AM
What I really need is the possibility to manually activate Subtitles while I am streaming. The subtitles are there. They only need to be enabled. See my previous post. But the functionality seems to be disabled. It works with my mediaplayer.

Do so see any possibily for a later implementation of this functionality?