PDA

View Full Version : No detection of USB HDD (3,5" - USB3.0 - 3TB)



Fitness-Boy
04-27-2012, 10:15 PM
Hey guys! I have a big problem and I really need your help.

I bought a new USB (3.0) harddrive (3,5" - 3TB - NTFS). It's a "Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk (STAC3000201)".

If I connect this harddrive with my BDP7600 BluRay Player, the harddrive spins up and there is just this white USB sign which shows that an USB drive is connected. But when I press the "OK" button to open the USB storage device - nothing happens.

If I connect it to my 46PFL9706 TV there comes an information on the TV screen (...USB device connected...) and nothing continues. If I try to start the USB device in the "Home" menue it shows just an "empty" harddrive.

The really weird thing is, that I used a similarly harddrive before whitout any problems. It was a "Samsung Story Station (HX-DT020EB)" (3,5" - 2TB - USB3.0 - NTFS). It was very easy to connect to the TV as well as to the BluRay Player.

What can be the reason for my problem? The only difference to my previous drive is just that the new HDD is from Seagate and has 1TB more disc space!?

Oscar
04-28-2012, 05:41 AM
Hi,

Not working on your BDP nor tv? Does it work on your pc? Have you formatted it already?

Bye

Fitness-Boy
04-28-2012, 10:26 AM
Hi,

Not working on your BDP nor tv? Does it work on your pc? Have you formatted it already?

Bye


Of course, I have formatted it already. The format is NTFS as I wrote in my previous post. Yes it does work on my pc. And yes there are files on it - the HDD isn't empty.

Fitness-Boy
04-28-2012, 12:16 PM
Today I had a phone talk with the philips support. They said that the philips TVs and BDPs don't support USB devices over 2TB. Maybe there will come an Update this year. Maybe not :(((

Did somebody else try to connect an >2TB HDD on a philips TV/BDP ?

Oscar
04-30-2012, 07:51 AM
This sounds very strange to me since there are other threads with people usign for example 2.5TB and they work.....

I will check on my BDP (have to lent a 3 TB one though first :cool: ) ) and will come back to you

Bye

Toengel
04-30-2012, 08:13 AM
Hi,

see also: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?5706-No-detection-of-USB-HDD-(3-5-quot-USB3-0-3TB)&p=31881#post31881

Toengel@Alex

Philips - Remko
04-30-2012, 11:02 AM
Hi Fitness-Boy,

For the BDP part I would like to have some extra information:

1) Are you having USB 2.0 or USB 3.0?
2) What is the Power consumption of the external hard disk ( Does that exceed 500Ma?)

Thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards

Fitness-Boy
05-01-2012, 10:28 AM
1) as I already wrote in my first post - both HDDs have USB 3.0 connection (the 2TB drive which is working fine and the 3TB drive which doesn't work)

2) the data on the power supply: INPUT -> 100-240V~, 50-60Hz, 500mA Max.

+ I figured out that the difference between this drives is (except of the capacity) the sector size.
The common sector size for external HDDs was 512 bytes per sector. My new 3TB drive has 4 kbytes pet sector (4kbytes/sector is common for >2TB drives).
I think the linux software on the philips TVs can't handle it. If it's so, this could be solved by a firmware update.

I'll try to find a 3TB drive with 512bytes/sector and try to connect it to the TV/BDP.

Philips - Remko
05-02-2012, 10:54 AM
Dear Fitness-Boy,

For BDP7600 we support:

FAT32: up to 4GB Volume Size
NTFS: up to 2TB Volume Size

Kind regards,

Remko

Fitness-Boy
05-02-2012, 10:13 PM
Dear Remko,

thank you for your answer. It's weird, because who needs a 4TB drive in a FAT32 format? It's not possible to have files bigger than 4GB on it.

Do you think the supported volume size will be (or can be) raised for NTFS format by a firmware update?

Regards

Toengel
05-03-2012, 06:22 AM
Hi,

please read again Remokos post ;-) FAT32 up to 4 GB...

Toengel@Alex

Fitness-Boy
05-03-2012, 03:56 PM
Hi,

please read again Remokos post ;-) FAT32 up to 4 GB...

Toengel@Alex

ohh, yes. my fault. Being able to read helps ;)

shtrek
08-22-2012, 07:59 PM
And yet, please answer the question -
film library for playback on a TV 52PL5605/12 size larger than 2Tb?
If the option, with volume over 2TB is not possible, please tell which external hard drive with 2TB volume equal chance to use with TV 52PL5605/12?
Thank you.

shtrek
08-27-2012, 12:38 PM
If the answer is no, because my TV model is incorrectly specified, correct TV 52PL5605/12 52PLF5605/12 on TV. The answer to this question is awaited with eagerness.

Oscar
08-27-2012, 01:08 PM
Think you are in the wrong section here.....

shtrek
08-27-2012, 01:44 PM
Asked the question here, not to create a new topic. If not, then tell me, please, in what section I post a topic with my question?

Pacman
08-27-2012, 01:55 PM
Think its better in the TV section :)