PDA

View Full Version : Connect MAC to Philips TV



stellan
09-20-2010, 04:16 PM
Hi

I just bougt a new philips tv and found out that the WiFi MediaConnect does not support Mac :(. Does anyone know if there is a workaround, another software that supports Mac.

I have looked at mediaservers software but they seems to only read the files from the computer. I also like to project my computerscreen on the tv.

Take care

JuAn
09-20-2010, 05:03 PM
Has been discussed before: click here (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?148-WIFI-Philips-to-Mac). Maybe that helps?

Perry
10-07-2010, 01:31 PM
Hi

I just bougt a new philips tv and found out that the WiFi MediaConnect does not support Mac :(. Does anyone know if there is a workaround, another software that supports Mac.

I have looked at mediaservers software but they seems to only read the files from the computer. I also like to project my computerscreen on the tv.

Take care

The WiFi Media Connect software does exactly what you want: project your computerscreen on the TV.

The link JuAn gave does not describe how to use the bundled WiFi Media Connect software. I run the WiFi MediaConnect software in a virtualised Windows environment. There is a free app for Mac called VirtualBox. After you install this you can install a copy of Windows 'under' VirtualBox. Make sure you give the Windows machine a bridged network connection. Also install and run the WiFi media connect software in the virtual windows environment. When the connection is established the Windows desktop will show on your TV automatically.

Remote mousing: (but failed usefulness)
I also put "Free mouse" on my iPhone in an attempt to control the computer remotely over WiFi (My TV is upstairs, Mac downstairs). It requires a small server program on the computer too. Use the Windows server version under Windows. However the delay that WiFi Media Connect introduces is a couple of seconds which makes remote mousing quite unusable.