View Full Version : Songbird DIED - is my expensive GoGear Connect 3 now useless?

05-03-2012, 08:46 PM
Today, I was trying to sync my SA3CNT16K/12 with philips songbird: always a pain, takes ages to 'mount the device'. So I decided to check for updates for Philips Songbird. There was an undate available, supposed to make songbird more stable and faster - souds great! But no. The thing crashed. Now, Songbird isn't working. So I tried to uninstall, and reinstall the newest version from Philips website. Every time, when the installation package runs it stops and tells me "an error has occured during installation, please run the install again". It happens when the Songbird 1.9.6___etc.exe is started from my user/appdata/local/temp/philips songbird folder.

I tried all available installation exe;s on the Philips site: same thing.

So then I installed the whole thing manually, adding all the add-ons from this temp folder to my Songbird. Now, Songbird dosn't recognize my device. HOW DO I GET SONGBIRD TO RECOGNIZE MY DEVICE?

Finally, I tried installing the latest Songbird from Songbird website: 1.10. Nice software, but: HOW DO I GET THIS NEW SONGBIRD TO SYNC? It doesn't 'see' my philips device.

PLEASE HELP! Now, I can't sync my device. Will you please fix your buggy software?

This isn't the first bug. A fex months ago, a firmware 'upgrade' made my device itself crash. Had to completely reset it, with all content gone. Bugs, bugs, bugs: and it was quite an expensive thing too, this 'mini tablet PC' as Philips calls it.

In the mean time: I will certainly not recommend anyone to buy this 'top of the line' device from philips. Go for Samsung if you want Android. Or pay more, and buy Apple.:mad:

05-04-2012, 08:13 AM
Hi Dijk,

I have installed it some days ago (2) on my new PC and had no issues at all. It runs Windows 7 and did not see any issues yet.
What operating system are you using? Did you give it a short try on a different PC?


02-07-2013, 08:23 AM
I bought this GoGear SA3CNT16/12 but it sometimes work and after that the screen becomes clear. I do not know what is happening. Can somebody help me. Thanks

William Wallace
02-20-2013, 01:34 PM
Hi rmabdon,

Could you give some more details, what do you do when the screen becoems clear, does it happen while you're playing songs or switching between different options? When does the screen appear again? What happens after restart? What software version do you have? (have you tried updating it?)

Philips - Katerina
08-27-2015, 01:03 PM
Hello participants of the thread and forum members in general!

Hopefully your issue was dealt with and you are no longer facing it. Since the thread has been silent for some time now, I will proceed by closing it. If you still have the same question about the same issue or any similar issues arise feel free to start a new thread or contact one of us moderators to open this thread again.

Kind regards
Philips Katerina