PDA

View Full Version : PhilipsMyRemote not working as 'Remote Control' for 32PFL3517H



HenriM
05-10-2012, 07:21 PM
32PFL3517H/12
Version T921E 2.06
PQ Version: Flash PQ V0.19 2012/04/10
AQ-Version: Flash AQ V0.02 111227

I have connected my TV wired to network and this is working correctly. iPhone is in same network in same subnet (DHCP). I can see DNLA enabled device (e.g. ReadyNAS).

When I install on my iPhone the 'Philips MyRemote' App and turn on 'SimpleShare Server' I can see my iPhone as well on the TV and use it (Video/Audio/Photo).

However I cannot achieve to use this App to use my iPhone as a Remote Control for my TV. The lower part (Control Window) doesn't show any device. When I press refresh it starts searching for devices but it doesn't find anyone. I expected my PFL3517H TV to appear here, but it doesn't. So basically the TV can find the iPhone, but the iPhone cannot find the TV.

Questions:
Should it be possible to use 'Philips MyRemote' as remote control for my 32PFL3517H/12 TV?
Is it not working due to bug in firwmare of TV (I have updated to latest version)?

I also tried to re-install 'Philips MyRemote' several times but this doesn't solve the problem.

Warper1981
05-12-2012, 09:51 PM
Hi HenriM,

Unfortunately I'm also experiencing the same problem. I tried to activate Joint Space, but it did not work. Maybe this model is not compatible with it?

Hope that someone comes up with some info.

Philips
05-14-2012, 12:36 PM
Guys,

These 3500 series TV’s support DLNA 1.0, whereas the higher ranges support DLNA 1.5. This means that a consumer can pull multimedia content from a DLNA media server (phone/tablet/PC) to the TV via the TV’s user interface and remote control, but he can NOT push the content to the TV using a tablet or phone, nor control the TV via the App.
So it is not a bug, it is according spec.

Regards,
JuAn

HenriM
05-14-2012, 02:33 PM
Any chance that a future firmware upgrade will add support for DLNA 1.5 or are there hardware limitations for that?

HenriM
05-18-2012, 12:58 PM
These 3500 series TV's support DLNA 1.0, whereas the higher ranges support DLNA 1.5.


That is weird because when I check with Plex the TV reports back as User-Agent with next string: "IPI/1.0 UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50". This suggest that is support DLNA 1.5, right?

HenriM
06-03-2012, 12:50 PM
That is weird because when I check with Plex the TV reports back as User-Agent with next string: "IPI/1.0 UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50". This suggest that is support DLNA 1.5, right?

Any update from Philips about which DLNA version is now integrated with current firmware?

tetrapackage
06-25-2012, 12:44 PM
I guess there are still no updates regarding DLNA to be integrated to the latest firmware? Any plan working on this? http://imagicon.info/cat/12-19/vbulletin-wink.gif

HenriM
07-31-2012, 07:50 PM
I guess there are still no updates regarding DLNA to be integrated to the latest firmware? Any plan working on this? http://imagicon.info/cat/12-19/vbulletin-wink.gif

Can someone from Philips Support reading this forum please answer this question (and my original question about the actual version)?

Peauty
08-15-2012, 02:51 PM
Hi

I just bought the 42PFL3507 and I downloaded the MyRemote App on my 4S iPhone but the app doesn't find my TV while every Philips wesites (http://www.philips.fr/c/televiseurs/16165/cat/?origin=|mckv|sLSVPtA6X&pcrid=11822576303|plid|#!/range) says the MyRemote works on this TV.

I see also after buying this TV that Philips lied a lot on the features that are not finally available. Is this one of this lies by the brand, I don't get it?
I feel like I've been fooled on everything about this TV.

Thanks for helping me.

Best

Toengel
08-15-2012, 03:29 PM
Hi,

I cannot find any information on that page, that MyRemote is supported for your model.

Toengel@Alex

Peauty
08-15-2012, 04:57 PM
Well, here it is:
http://www.philips.co.uk/c/televisions/3500-series-107-cm-42-inch-full-hd-1080p-dvb-t2-c-42pfl3507t_12/prd
On the first paragraph:
Easy wireless connection with optional wireless USB adapter
Enjoy Smart TV wirelessly with the Philips Wi-Fi USB Adapter (PTA01) for Smart TV. Simply insert the adapter to the USB connector at the side of the TV and connect your TV directly to your home network. Navigate to your preferred online content with your TV remote control.

Looking forward for your answer now.
Best

Toengel
08-15-2012, 09:11 PM
Hi,

TV remote control = that hardware plastic thing, you unpacked together with your TV to control your TV

MyRemote = Android or iOS app

Toengel@Alex

user0815
08-15-2012, 10:25 PM
*g* sh*t happens....

There is only one word in french for remote control or for remote

tÚlÚcommande
http://matelecommandetv.com/images0/14433-1_5/TELECOMMANDE-PHILIPS.jpg

Peauty
08-16-2012, 09:36 AM
Hi,

Indeed, my bad.
I've found on Apple's apps websites (French and US) http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/philips-myremote/id426883783?mt=8 the reason why it doesn't work.
Philips has a problem with this apps like everybody says it in the reviews and Philips still hasn't fix it. So the apps is available for people but isn't useful...
Interesting...

user0815
08-16-2012, 10:57 AM
Well, you've got what you have paid for :cool: > Ironical sound <

However, you need not go so far away.
Much more views on the matter are here where you are:
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/forumdisplay.php?73-Apps-MyRemote-App-for-Apple

Peauty
08-16-2012, 11:23 AM
Ah, about that I don't know...
I'm very disappointed about what Philips calls SMART TV cause I've bought the 42PFL3507 just for that - (Philips' websites adds this in the features of this TV range) instead of the Samsung Smart TV and now the Philips forum guy says that my TV has not SMART TV. What's that?

I hate commercial lie. Specially when the purchase is a certain amount of money.

user0815
08-16-2012, 12:26 PM
Next error ?
SMART TV as per specification has nothing to do with the Apple iTunes stuff.

This is what you paid for, in hopefully proper french language
http://www.philips.fr/c/televiseurs/3500-series-81-cm-32-pouce-full-hd-1080p-dvb-t-c-32pfl3517h_12/prd/

edit: correct link insert:
http://www.philips.fr/c/televiseurs/3500-series-hdtv-dvb-t-c-81-cm-32-pouce-32pfl3507h_12/prd/

Would recommend to click on folder 'Aide' for the instruction manuals, the spec sheet and media manger and firmware.
:D

Peauty
08-16-2012, 02:15 PM
Sorry but I've never compared Smart TV to the Apple's one.
And as said my tv is the 42PFL3507, not the one from this link you've sent.

Best

user0815
08-16-2012, 05:45 PM
I've found on Apple's apps websites (French and US) http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/philips-myremote/id426883783?mt=8 the reason why it doesn't work.


*g*
Apology, I've edit my post and put the link right. Just for you :rolleyes:

Peauty
08-17-2012, 08:45 AM
AHAHA Still the same link
thanks anyway, don't bother, I think I'll find the answer to my Philips Remote Apps anywhere. Nobody and EVEN PHILIPS can't explain to its customers why it doesn't work.
Sad

Best

HenriM
09-24-2012, 06:16 PM
Still waiting for an answer from Philips ... :(

Peauty
09-24-2012, 06:22 PM
I gave up... and have deleted the app.
They won't answer cause they don't have a solution

Bon courage


Still waiting for an answer from Philips ... :(

Toengel
09-24-2012, 06:38 PM
Hi,

what do you want to know? MyRemote isn't possible with your TV as stated on the previous page by Philips.

Toengel@Alex