PDA

View Full Version : BDP7600 Latest Firmware upgrade (V1.55) has been released



Philips - Remko
05-11-2012, 08:07 AM
V1.55 is only released to BDP7600/05, /12, /51.

BDP7600/93 still uses the firmware version V1.35.

V1.55 includes the following change:

• Fixes the following issues:
o Philips TV’s with OneUX feature, BDP will freeze if BDP applications are triggered from TV menu.
o BDP does not playback media files when selected from sources menu, while using the MyRemote application on your mobile device.

The former firmware version includes the following changes:

• YouTube Leanback app is added to NetTV. (V1.42)
• Upgrade Facebook application in NetTV. (V1.35)
• Improve playability on ‘HBO Eastbound and Down Season 2’. (V1.35)
• Improve playback operation on rental movies from online video stores via Net TV. (V1.35)
• Remove an unwanted screen saver when playback ‘.mkv’ files from USB flash drive. (V1.35)
• Enable Videociety online video store via Net TV in Germany and Austria. (V1.35)
Kindly download the software at www.philips.com/support:

Karllauer
05-12-2012, 05:49 PM
I have the update now since two days and my BDP froze both days while watching a DVD in the middle of the Playback.(never happened before)
He is also still freezing when going to standby.

I'd like to see an Update that improves my Player. Not one that causes more Problems :P

Edit:
@freezing while playing
make that 3 times now

cadreamboy
05-12-2012, 06:48 PM
Noticed that the player is now showing track numbers (in addition to the track time) when playing back audio CDs. That's nice as I do not longer need to switch the TV on to see which track I am listening to.

Haven't watched a DVD/Blu ray since the update, yet, but after reading Karllauer's post above, I'll keep my old DVD player ready...

hvgsel
05-13-2012, 08:01 PM
The download link above leads to an error 403 : forbidden.

First test results, after upgrading via ECD.

1. Wifi connection with full signal strength (65 mbps) connected to a DLink Dir655 disconnects randomly when using NetTV or DLNA playback.
2. NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist´ has a double selection in the left column. When selecting a broadcast for playback it sometimes selects the wanted broadcast and sometimes it just selects Radio function.
3. NOS app only plays first two minutes of selected broadcats on Wifi and around 3 minutes on LAN. It then automatically returns to main menu of NOS app.
4. Hardware.info app stalls every selected broadcast at the same point in time and can only be stopped by returning to apps main menu. Same results on Wifi and Lan.
5. DLNA playback of MP4 and WMV also shows stalling at certain point in time. No difference on Wifi and LAN. One time forced power/off necessary.

It seems to me that from the beginning, stalling things is a general problem of this player, either playback DVD, NetTV or DLNA. The only difference is that the player needs less forced power/off by pulling the power cord, compared to version 1.35.

I am willing to send my player and maybe my router to Philips to help solve these longlasting problems.
Basically i am fed up with a player, which did not function from day one (august 2011). I have been patient and polite enough to wait for problem resolution, just because the problems were known when i bought it.
On a euro 175 player these problems should not occur or should have been solved long time ago.

I will however test more functions, in order to have more complete error reports.

One more remark : On my Philips TV 37PFL9604 all above problems never occur, so they are BDP7600 problems and should be solved.

Regards,

Hugo

kwinnie
05-14-2012, 06:29 AM
I have the update now since two days and my BDP froze both days while watching a DVD in the middle of the Playback.(never happened before)
He is also still freezing when going to standby.

this plays ok before upgrade?

Philips - Remko
05-14-2012, 07:25 AM
Dear hvgsel,

Thanks for your testing results. I have passed the information to the development team and will come back to you on this.

@Karllauer, can you confirm these movies worked ok before and if this is with one movie only or various?

Kind regards,

Philips - QK
05-15-2012, 04:29 AM
I have the update now since two days and my BDP froze both days while watching a DVD in the middle of the Playback.(never happened before)
He is also still freezing when going to standby.

I'd like to see an Update that improves my Player. Not one that causes more Problems :P

Edit:
@freezing while playing
make that 3 times now

Dear Karllauer,

I have sent you a PM. Could you check and provide us more information?

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

Philips - QK
05-15-2012, 05:06 AM
Dear Hugo@hvgsel,

Could you advise the below so that we can look into your issues as soon as possible:




1. Wifi connection with full signal strength (65 mbps) connected to a DLink Dir655 disconnects randomly when using NetTV or DLNA playback.

Do you have any other devices connected to the network?


5. DLNA playback of MP4 and WMV also shows stalling at certain point in time. No difference on Wifi and LAN. One time forced power/off necessary.

Could you advise what media server is used? Could you share the files that are having issues?

For your issue 2-4, we are now checking with the Smart TV team. Should we have any updates, we will let you know.

Thanks & regards,
Philips Moderation Team

Philips - QK
05-15-2012, 08:17 AM
Dear Hugo,

Please find our input below:


3. NOS app only plays first two minutes of selected broadcats on Wifi and around 3 minutes on LAN. It then automatically returns to main menu of NOS app.

Please disable the screen saver function in the menu of the device and try again


2. NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist´ has a double selection in the left column. When selecting a broadcast for playback it sometimes selects the wanted broadcast and sometimes it just selects Radio function.

This is a known issue and we are looking for a fix for this.



4. Hardware.info app stalls every selected broadcast at the same point in time and can only be stopped by returning to apps main menu. Same results on Wifi and Lan.

We are not sure what you mean here. Could you explain more as we cannot reproduce this?

With thanks & regards,
Philips Moderation Team

centpede
05-16-2012, 08:20 PM
Dear Support,

since firmware V1.55, my BDP7600 always hangs when shutting down to standby. Before it was only sometimes, but now it is every time I switch off the player. On the display the message "Standby" is shown, but the player switches not off and remains in this status. My player is connected on a HTS7111 system on a 55PFL7606 TV. Resetting Easylink does not solve the problem.

Thanks for any help.

EDIT:

Resetting the system to factory settings seem to solve the problem with the standby-freeze. I'll have a look on it whether the situation is stable now.

RobertS
05-17-2012, 10:15 AM
2. NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist´ has a double selection in the left column. When selecting a broadcast for playback it sometimes selects the wanted broadcast and sometimes it just selects Radio function.

Hugo

The double selection in the NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist’ is very very annoying and it makes the app almost useless. I can confirm that this problem was also visible in firmware V1.42. My hope was that it would be solved in firmware V1.55 unfortunately it is not.

Another problem I found is with the blu ray disc of the Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer, EAN 8712626036623 a Dutch/France release. Most of the supplements are not visible or selectable. I can only see/select from the extras the two audio commentaries. But none of the others like The Making of 'Fantastic Four etc. etc is visible. This problem is present under firmware V1.42 and 1.55.

Regards,
Robert

centpede
05-17-2012, 02:09 PM
IceAge 3 with 3D is working now properly with right L/R side assignment. The new 1.55 firmware seems to be a real improvement, Thank you Philips!

hvgsel
05-18-2012, 09:56 PM
Dear QK,

I am a bit busy now, but next week I will look into the questions asked after my first testresults.
Regards, Hugo

dowsha
05-22-2012, 01:12 PM
Dear Support,

since firmware V1.55, my BDP7600 always hangs when shutting down to standby. Before it was only sometimes, but now it is every time I switch off the player. On the display the message "Standby" is shown, but the player switches not off and remains in this status. My player is connected on a HTS7111 system on a 55PFL7606 TV. Resetting Easylink does not solve the problem.

Thanks for any help.

EDIT:

Resetting the system to factory settings seem to solve the problem with the standby-freeze. I'll have a look on it whether the situation is stable now.


Hello, I encounter the same issue. When I shutdown the player, he hangs at stand by, I need to pull the power cord.
Reset to factory default solved the problem for a few days only !.. This issue is still present
Is it a bug known ? Is the the support team aware of this problem ?
Is it a fix for that ?

Thx for your help !!

Philips - QK
05-23-2012, 08:37 AM
Dear dowsha,

Thank you for letting us know your issue.
Please bear with us some time on testing this out. Will update you later on this.

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

dowsha
05-23-2012, 09:19 AM
Dear dowsha,

Thank you for letting us know your issue.
Please bear with us some time on testing this out. Will update you later on this.

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team


Thanks for your update. I'm waiting for your feedback

Dow.

Philips - QK
05-28-2012, 08:11 AM
Dear hvgsel,

Any good news from your side? Have your issues be resolved? Share with us if you have any testing results/ tips on this.

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

stewe
05-28-2012, 12:36 PM
I experienced the same problems as described by centpede (#10) and dowsha (#14) with firmware versions 1.42 and 1.55. I downgraded back to version 1.35 and the problem is gone.
Seems to be a software bug which has to be fixed by Philips ASAP.

hvgsel
05-28-2012, 01:45 PM
Dear Hugo,

Please find our input below:

hvgsel General : I tried all questions below in three different settings :
1. Directly after update, without resetting to factory settings.
2. After resetting to factory setings
3. After resetting to factory settings and clearing NetTV memory

Please disable the screen saver function in the menu of the device and try again

hvgsel : Screen save disable did not change anything; NOS app still stalls.


This is a known issue and we are looking for a fix for this.

hvgsel : OK, will wait for improvement; my TV still displays well.

We are not sure what you mean here. Could you explain more as we cannot reproduce this?

hvgsel : Sequence :
1. go to NetTV app hardware.info
2. select an item from the list and view item
3. item will stall at certain pint in time; if viewed again, it will stall at same point in time
It does not matter which item is picked; every item will stall.

That's for these questions; will try to answer the non-NetTV items tonight.


With thanks & regards,
Philips Moderation Team
dddddddddd

hvgsel
05-28-2012, 06:17 PM
Made a mistake answering inline, but my comments are there preceded by 'hvgsel'..

hvgsel
05-28-2012, 06:30 PM
Dear Hugo@hvgsel,

Could you advise the below so that we can look into your issues as soon as possible:



Do you have any other devices connected to the network?



Could you advise what media server is used? Could you share the files that are having issues?

For your issue 2-4, we are now checking with the Smart TV team. Should we have any updates, we will let you know.

Thanks & regards,
Philips Moderation Team

1 : Do you have any other devices connected to the network?

My network has at least 3 PC's connected wirelessly; one desktop and 2 laptops. Furthermore a Philips TV 37PFL9604 and a Blue Ray player BDP7600, both connected wired via a switch at the TV-site.
Most of the time there are 1 or more extra PC's connected wirelessly.

2. Media server is Windows Media Player and i do not know which files I played, but the problem came with all. I will try again and find out.

kreesP
06-05-2012, 11:51 AM
Hi,

I recently bought a BDP 7600 and upgraded through wi-fi to the latest firmware (supposedly 1.55, I need to check when I'm back home tonight).

I noticed sluggishness in starting up or shutting down before the upgrade, but that was it. The rest operated pretty smoothly.

Until I upgraded to that most recent firmware under discussion here... v1.55. On RIO (2D, not even 3D...) Blu-Ray, the player simply hangs after a couple of minutes. Seemed to be on the same location each time at first sight, but I soon realised after several stubborn attempts of mine that it was not the case. It may fail anywhere, but always very soon after I (re)start playback.

So I end up not being able to playback that brilliant Blu-ray to my longing kids... although a digital copy as MKV does the trick through DLNA handled by my TV set or by my internet set-top box ! (Panasonic 65ST50/Freebox Revolution). I haven't tried the same trick though DLNA on the 7600 player.

Both TV and player are connected to an internet box via wi-fi N (300Mbps), the set-top box via native CPL adapters.

Can you help ?

Joerg_L
07-01-2012, 03:27 PM
Dear Support,

since firmware V1.55, my BDP7600 always hangs when shutting down to standby. Before it was only sometimes, but now it is every time I switch off the player. On the display the message "Standby" is shown, but the player switches not off and remains in this status. My player is connected on a HTS7111 system on a 55PFL7606 TV. Resetting Easylink does not solve the problem.

Thanks for any help.

EDIT:

Resetting the system to factory settings seem to solve the problem with the standby-freeze. I'll have a look on it whether the situation is stable now.

same problem here!

kwinnie
07-04-2012, 08:35 AM
hi Joerg_L,

some other users resolve their issues after doing a factory reset. Can you try that as well?

setup menu > advanced> restore factory default

Joerg_L
07-04-2012, 08:39 AM
Yes, i tried it now and like centpede said:

> Resetting the system to factory settings seem to solve the problem with the standby-freeze. I'll have a look on it whether the situation is stable now.

Thank you

kreesP
07-10-2012, 08:09 AM
Yes, i tried it now and like centpede said:

> Resetting the system to factory settings seem to solve the problem with the standby-freeze. I'll have a look on it whether the situation is stable now.

Thank you

+ 1
until proven wrong...

RobertS
07-13-2012, 05:24 PM
Hi,

The double selection in the NetTV app ´Uitzending Gemist’ seems to be fixed. Many thanks for it, the app ´Uitzending Gemist’ works now as before.

I have still yet another problem in mine NetTV. If I select an app I can see on the apps overview screen just below the lower part of our TV screen the top of a couple of icons. They are red, green, yellow and blue. but only the top of the Icons are visible. So I have to guess which of the color buttons on mine remote I have to take to move, delete the selected app. This is somewhat annoying. I hope this can also be fixed.

PS. I have already tried several settings on our TV to try to see the complete help icons on on the apps overview screen but with no success.

Thanks,
Robert

Toengel
07-13-2012, 06:30 PM
Hi,

you need to setup your TV to "unscaled"... some TVs (e.g. Philips) also have the option to change the image border by some pixels (it's some kind of zoom, where the outer pixels are cutted).

Toengel@Alex

RobertS
07-16-2012, 05:46 PM
Hi Toengel,

Thanks for your quick reaction. But our TV (a Panasonic TX-P42V10E from 2009) doesn’t have the option to change the image borders by some pixels. And I have tried all the available aspect options on our TV like: auto, just, 16:9, zoom, etc. but none where successful.

But besides these options I find that the help icons should be visible for everybody without having to change the TV-image borders or to adjust the aspect ratio etc. I think Philips should move the icons up a little higher on the app-screens so that everybody can see them.

Robert

Joerg_L
07-19-2012, 07:57 PM
Hi,

today after watching a 3d blu ray, the same problem again....

Player hangs in STANDBY after powering off.
I turned the power off in the middle of film

:(

sgk
07-24-2012, 01:26 PM
....
Player hangs in STANDBY after powering off.
I turned the power off in the middle of film
:(
The same thing happened to me twice in the last two days. :(