PDA

View Full Version : BDP3406/F7 Netflix 4:3 problem



Southpaw
05-16-2012, 02:41 AM
Hello, I have contacted Phillips around 6 times in the past month or so regarding this problem. They have been very helpful and replaced my Blu-Ray player and it still has not fixed the problem. I have spoken on the phone for many hours and have tried resetting and changing almost every setting possible and still nothing.

The problem is that when Netflix plays a movie the Television seems to re size the whole picture to 4:3, I really do not understand how or why this occurs. I have taken a video to show you exactly what happens.


http://youtu.be/M8uW4Zfz7fI

I took pictures of the model number of the TV and Blu-ray player(s) I have. I still haven't sent my original back but will be in the mail by tomorrow morning

http://i1208.photobucket.com/albums/cc373/mattymcc/IMG_0544.jpg
http://i1208.photobucket.com/albums/cc373/mattymcc/IMG_0541.jpg
http://i1208.photobucket.com/albums/cc373/mattymcc/IMG_0539.jpg
http://i1208.photobucket.com/albums/cc373/mattymcc/IMG_0542.jpg
http://i1208.photobucket.com/albums/cc373/mattymcc/IMG_0538.jpg

If you have any clues or idea why it would be doing this please let me know. Thanks!

I do understand this could be a TV problem but I have a feeling that it's the two together.


-Southpaw

Philips - QK
05-16-2012, 06:21 AM
Dear Southpaw,

We have a similar issue on aspect ratio for BDP3000 series.
See here: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?5183-BDP3200-12-wrong-AR-in-MKV-playback&goto=newpost&goto=newpost
We are now working for a fix on that (including BDP3406). Please bear with us some time for this.

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

Nagual
05-23-2012, 03:25 AM
Hi Southpaw,

I also own this model, although the newer M2 version, and while mine is from 2012 manufacture and doesn't display this issue I have another: I've been unable to update the firmware. See here. (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?5692-BDP3406-F7-cannot-update-firmware)

Were you able to? If so, how? Thanks for any info.

BTW I hope a newer replacement may solve the issue for you, but be sure it isn't something related to your TV or connection. I discovered before getting my Samsung HD set that the 3406 had weird bugs outputting through anything but the HDMI cable. I also discovered tonight after playing a conventional DVD that the resolution wouldn't switch to a higher setting on Netflix without rebooting the player.