PDA

View Full Version : Digital Coaxial Output on 9600



kvic
05-29-2012, 03:36 PM
Hi

9600 has RCA socket for the digital coaxial output. Looking at the RCA socket, it's no different than other RCA sockets for the analog outputs. Does anyone know if the RCA socket (for the digital coaxial) is 75 ohm?

Can Philips help to confirm please?

Thanks

Toengel
05-29-2012, 04:03 PM
Hi,

it's written in the manual...

Digital output: 0.5 Vp-p (75 ohm)
• Optical, Coaxial

Toengel@Alex

kvic
05-30-2012, 04:02 PM
Thanks. This helps

Anyone has experience with the digital coaxial output on 9600 to share?

Does the "Audio Sync Delay" work on the coaxial output or optical output? (it's confirmed "Audio Sync Delay" not working on the analog outputs by design)

Toengel
05-30-2012, 04:14 PM
Hi,

yes - audio delay (via option menu) has an effect on coaxial output...

Toengel@Alex

kvic
05-30-2012, 04:32 PM
Nice, thanks

Let me go to buy a good cable the coming weekend.
Going to connect 9600 to my DAC through the coaxial output.
For one, it's to re-use my 2-ch speakers (the DAC is able to act as a switch) when I watch movies from 9600. Second, can use 9600 as a CD transport for musics.

Toengel
05-30-2012, 04:34 PM
Hi,

sorry - I meant optical out (my setting at home) - but shouldn't be a difference.

Delay is from 0 to 200ms as far as I remember.

Toengel@Alex

kvic
06-01-2012, 03:32 PM
Audio Delay on optical output doesn't work!

Actually it "works"...should rename the function to "Audio advance".

The more delay you add...the more the audio is ahead of the video.

Philips, fantastic!

kvic
06-01-2012, 03:39 PM
Philips, can you fix it? Just reverse the logics please. I'm guessing that will fix Audio Delay for analog outputs as well.

kvic
06-01-2012, 03:44 PM
Test methodology: hook up 9600 to TV through HDMI.
Connect 9600 to a Digital-Analog-Converter (DAC) through optical output.

Turn on TV build-in speakers. Turn on the speakers connected to DAC.

Play a Blu-ray with lots of speeches e.g. Scent of Woman, ch13 where Apacino gave the great speech at the school.

The audio from Speakers on DAC is ahead of the TV built-in speakers. The more delay you add by Option Menu > Audio Sync, the more the audio from the DAC is ahead of the audio from TV's built-in speakers.

The TV built-in speaker is in-sync with the video.

Toengel
06-01-2012, 03:51 PM
Hi,

is the sound on the DAC also ahead, if you set delay to 0?

Toengel@Alex

kvic
06-01-2012, 04:00 PM
Hi,

is the sound on the DAC also ahead, if you set delay to 0?

Toengel@Alex

.yes.

Toengel
06-01-2012, 04:02 PM
Hi,

then something is wrong - I will check my 9600 at home...

Toengel@Alex

Toengel
06-01-2012, 05:35 PM
Hi,

I tried now - something is wrong - I did not hear any difference between 0 and 200ms. But in the past this worked...

Toengel@Alex

kvic
06-01-2012, 06:29 PM
Indeed no difference between o and 200 after I listened more carefully. Optical output is faster than video. Conclusion: audio delay does not work for digital audio output as well as not for analog output.

I hope it's a bug in the recent firmware. Philips, pls investigate and fix it ASAP.

Philips - QK
06-05-2012, 03:54 AM
Dear both,

Could you provide us with more info on your DAC (brand/ model)?

With thanks & regards,
Philips Moderation Team

Toengel
06-05-2012, 07:31 AM
Hi,

I'm not using any DAC - I connect my BDP9600 directly to my HTS system via SPDIF.

Toengel@Alex

kvic
06-05-2012, 06:01 PM
MUSILAND MD-10 is my DAC. I tried both optical output and coaxial output from 9600. Either way the signaling between 9600 and the DAC is SPDIF. I see no delay with enabling Audio Delay from the Option Menu.

Thanks

Philips - QK
06-06-2012, 08:21 AM
Dear both,

Thanks for your info.
We are now checking on this as according to our specification we only support audio delay on HDMI. Will let you know on this later.

With thanks & regards,
Philips Moderation Team

Philips - QK
06-08-2012, 03:39 AM
Dear both,

Audio sync is only supported for HDMI output and we have an FAQ for this (see below). We are testing with 3 different versions of the SW now. Will update you later on this.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=DK&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20120607082400_165.21.240.146&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=AEN&ctn=BDP9600/12&dct=FAQ&refnr=0089318&faqview=1

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

Toengel
06-08-2012, 10:42 AM
Hi,

hmm - now I'm confused - what did I in the past?

Nevertheless, then please enable passthrough for 2010 TVs ;-)

Toengel@Alex

kvic
07-08-2012, 04:42 AM
Dear both,

Audio sync is only supported for HDMI output and we have an FAQ for this (see below). We are testing with 3 different versions of the SW now. Will update you later on this.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=DK&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=20120607082400_165.21.240.146&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=AEN&ctn=BDP9600/12&dct=FAQ&refnr=0089318&faqview=1

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

Philips - any update on your testings? Can the issue be corrected by firmware update?