PDA

View Full Version : Wifi Media Connect: Wrong sound source



matthias
06-08-2012, 11:18 AM
I have problems with Wifi Media Connect.

Everything works as it should, except the sound source that is played on the TV is wrong.

Instead of hearing the audio from the video player, I hear the "environment" audio from my notebook microphone (e.g. me talking) on the TV with a few seconds of delay.

How can I change the sound source that Wifi Media Connect uses as input?

I tried re-installing, but it didn't solve the problem - the microphone is still selected as input.

Thanks,
Matthias

nimbystripes
06-12-2012, 04:58 AM
It is possible that there is a software recorder currently running in your notebook which made you hear sounds in your background. Try to check on this. http://imagicon.info/cat/12-19/icon_e_smile.gif

matthias
06-12-2012, 08:20 AM
äh, no there isnt' ;-)

Philips - Marco
06-13-2012, 12:13 PM
Hi Matthias,

You should be able to disable or deactivate the microphone from the soundcard settings of your pc and select a different input.

Regards,
Marco

matthias
06-14-2012, 02:22 PM
I have tried that already, but without success.

There are 3 playback devices (Loudspeaker/SoundMAX, SPDIF/SoundMAX and Loudspeaker/WFMCVAD).
The default playback device is Loudspeaker/WFMCVAD.

There are 3 recording devices (Microphone/SoundMAX, MIDI/WFMCVAD and Microphone/WFMCVAD).
The default recording device is Microphone/WFMCVAD.

Still, on TV, I only hear the audio from Microphone/SoundMAX. When I mute Microphone/SoundMAX, everything is quiet, I also don't hear any playback on Loudspeaker/WFMCVAD.

It seems, Wifi Mediaconnect still records from Microphone/SoundMAX, even if it is not the default recording device.
Thus my question: how can I tell Wifi Mediaconnect to use a different input? Which input is the right one? (MIDI/WFMCVAD or Microphone WFMCVAD?)

Thanks,
Matthias

Philips - Marco
06-21-2012, 09:44 AM
Hi Matthias,

There are no settings for the audio source in Wifi Media Connect, The audio output is determined by the computer’s sound settings in the Control Panel.

Could you please check again the PC settings or try a test on another pc?

Regards,
Marco

matthias
06-23-2012, 02:58 PM
I just tried another reinstall, but rebooted the machine after uninstall and before new install, and the sound source is now correct.
I didn't change anything else on my system, so maybe there are no settings for the sound source, but it seems that there are some configuration values or files of Wifi Mediaconnect where sound source is stored.

So for anyone running into the same issues: a reinstall with a reboot before the new install solved the issue.

I still have problems with sound quality, but I'll open another thread with a new title to keep it "sorted"