PDA

View Full Version : 37PFL3507H/12 software update leaves tv uncontrollable



vdewidt
06-10-2012, 12:27 PM
Hi All,

I received my 37PFL3507H/12 2 days ago. Serial FZ1A1216028991

This morning I updated the software via USB
At some point the software update progress stalled for 15 minutes; it was 90% or so
DO NOT TURN OFF TV it said on screen
But what if that's my only option???
Cause it didn't respond to remote or buttons on the back.

Now it just sits there....
PHILIPS logo shows for a second or two but then tv switches off? Remote signal does blink when i push the remote.

The usb stick with newest software is still attached because that's the only way the setup will be finished at some point...

Is there a hard reset possible in some way???

All help is welcome!

UPDATE

I can access the menu once again. But updating via the normal procedure (power off - insert USB with update - power on) does not work. Is there another way to update?

Philips - Benedickte
06-12-2012, 02:51 PM
Hi All,

I received my 37PFL3507H/12 2 days ago. Serial FZ1A1216028991

This morning I updated the software via USB
At some point the software update progress stalled for 15 minutes; it was 90% or so
DO NOT TURN OFF TV it said on screen
But what if that's my only option???
Cause it didn't respond to remote or buttons on the back.

Now it just sits there....
PHILIPS logo shows for a second or two but then tv switches off? Remote signal does blink when i push the remote.

The usb stick with newest software is still attached because that's the only way the setup will be finished at some point...

Is there a hard reset possible in some way???

All help is welcome!

UPDATE

I can access the menu once again. But updating via the normal procedure (power off - insert USB with update - power on) does not work. Is there another way to update?


Hi vdewidt.

First of all welcome to the forum. And congratulations with new Philips TV.

It is a shame you are experiencing difficulty with your TV.

Can you please confirm what software version you have?
The latest software version you can find here (http://www.philips.nl/c/televisie/3500-series-94-cm-37-inch-full-hd-1080p-dvb-t-c-37pfl3507h_12/prd/nl/;jsessionid=4E45F438F3DD89B909F5E7DFBD31579C.app10 1-drp2?t=support). I would advice you to download this version (2.07), and then try do an upgrade. with the empty USB stick.

Please get back to us with an update.

Benedickte

vdewidt
06-12-2012, 02:56 PM
Benedickte,

Thanks for your reply. I fixed my problem with help from philips service by telephone.
I was able to update the software via USB after numerous attempts through the normal setup menu. You can close this forum string.

Dimined
06-15-2012, 10:37 AM
Hi, vdewidt. How did you resolve the problem? By persistent and constant retrying to update the firmware?
I got my new 32PFL3017H/12 - FZ1A1214006973 a couple of days ago. Going through the manual, I read that it is strongly recommended to update the software. Since the original software was 2.03 (or 2.02 - don't remember) and on the Philips site the newest version was 2.08 I tried an update. I followed the instruction and reached to the "restart" stage. Pressed "OK" and the result was exactly what you describe. The PHILIPS logo flashes, then I get a blink of a TV program, and then everything goes black. Although I can still hear sound from the channel and change the channels as well (this I understand by hearing). The remote works, I guess.
So how did you overcome you problem?
I have sent an e-mail to my Philips support in Bulgaria, but have no answer for now.

Thanks for any answer.

I am not sure if Benedickte will be reading this, but will be very glad if I can get any advice.

Thanks in advance and have a nice day!

Dimitar

Toengel
06-15-2012, 10:41 AM
Hi,

please also see: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?6181-42PFL3007-software-upgraded-now-HDMI-CEC-not-working-and-Pause-TV-function-removed&p=34821#post34821

Toengel@Alex