PDA

View Full Version : Connection to internet radio



analytchem
06-14-2012, 07:58 PM
I have a NP3900, which is connected via cable and a CISCO router to the internet.
From time to time I would like to take it to another room in my house, which is also supplied with internet connection via cable.
To prevent any speculations, the router as well as the internet connections are working very well with any other kind of internet device.
However unplugging the NP3900 at one place and reconnecting it at another place makes always big troubles. The standard message I get when turning on internet radio is "no connection to online services", despite the NP is connected to the internet (checked in the service menu). The device is registered at Philips.
Getting back connection to the internet radio becomes gambling. So far I could not identify any reason why I got it back, sometimes after a few days only.
This issue is absolutely annoying. I thought that I would purchase a reliable device when choosing for Philips. I am close to dumping Philips from my suppliers list.

So can anyone give me some advice how to get the NP running?

fromsomewhere
06-15-2012, 07:44 AM
I have a NP3900, which is connected via cable and a CISCO router to the internet.
From time to time I would like to take it to another room in my house, which is also supplied with internet connection via cable.
To prevent any speculations, the router as well as the internet connections are working very well with any other kind of internet device.
However unplugging the NP3900 at one place and reconnecting it at another place makes always big troubles. The standard message I get when turning on internet radio is "no connection to online services", despite the NP is connected to the internet (checked in the service menu). The device is registered at Philips.
Getting back connection to the internet radio becomes gambling. So far I could not identify any reason why I got it back, sometimes after a few days only.
This issue is absolutely annoying. I thought that I would purchase a reliable device when choosing for Philips. I am close to dumping Philips from my suppliers list.

So can anyone give me some advice how to get the NP running?


Hi

When you move to the other room, try doing wired network setup again through settings>>network settings>>wired.
Check whether things work fine after that.

analytchem
06-15-2012, 04:28 PM
Hi

When you move to the other room, try doing wired network setup again through settings>>network settings>>wired.
Check whether things work fine after that.


Thanks for your reply.
I did this already. The strange thing is that the internet connection works when setting up the wired connection manually. It even works when I connect to internet radio. It says first "connecting to internet", then "connected to internet" and immediately after "online service not availabale".
I checked the registration at Philips, but I did not find any indication of any mistake.

lucas1970
06-18-2012, 06:56 AM
Maybe post your MAC and registration ID

VicFontaine
06-28-2012, 12:50 PM
Maybe post your MAC and registration ID

I have the same problem by accessing over lan:
I can access the NP3900 with http://192.168.1.104:8889/index.htm; so everything in my network is okay. But, I often get an empty list of favorites and "No Contact to Online Services"... - I resettet and registered again, but it does not function.

I have the latest official firmware - is there any hope for a new version soon? The last one is "old" and contains lots of bugs...

Nice product, but supporting and developing a proper firmware seems to be a problem...

If there is a chance to become a beta-tester, I would do...

Pacman
07-03-2012, 03:44 PM
Also would say give MAC id to be checked

VicFontaine
07-12-2012, 06:59 AM
also would say give mac id to be checked

18:8e:d5:36:d4:c8

Judith
08-06-2012, 08:46 PM
Dear all,

I am new to this forum and also a new owner of a NP3900. I bought it primarily to be able to listen to digital radio. So far, things have not gone very smoothly. Like Analytchem, I want to be able to take my radio to another room from time to time, and this indeed causes all kinds of problems. I have to reenter the network settings every time. And even it succesfully makes the connection I am not able to listen to any radio stations, but instead get a message 'THIS IS AN EMPTY LIST'. What does that mean? Can someone give me a hint? After 2 days of puzzling, I am contemplating to return the radio to the store.

analytchem
08-29-2012, 06:59 PM
I have the same problem by accessing over lan:
I can access the NP3900 with http://192.168.1.104:8889/index.htm; so everything in my network is okay. But, I often get an empty list of favorites and "No Contact to Online Services"... - I resettet and registered again, but it does not function.

I have the latest official firmware - is there any hope for a new version soon? The last one is "old" and contains lots of bugs...

Nice product, but supporting and developing a proper firmware seems to be a problem...

If there is a chance to become a beta-tester, I would do...

I got the problem with the lost network connection partially solved. After unplugging and reconnecting the NP3900,
I had to reset it to factory default settings. It got the connection to the on-line service back, but lost all user settings
such as favorites.