PDA

View Full Version : Your experiences with FW v0.108.8.0 for 6xx7, 7xx7 and 8xx7 series (2012 models).



Philips - Benedickte
06-15-2012, 11:52 AM
Hi Guys

Please share your experiences with this new SW version here in this topic. Channeling your input will make it easier for users to search and find relevant info.

Remarks
- Due to our global IT structure, there might be a delay in the uploading/synchronising of new SW releases (and their release notes). Please, have a little patience if you cannot immediately see the new files on our web pages and try 1 or 2 days later.
- After upgrading your TV it is advised to perform a "cold start": unplug the TV from the mains for a few minutes before starting again.

Release Notes: v0.108.8.0
- Skype functionality improvements.
- E-sticker added (for retail).

Regards,
Benedicte

Manuel
06-21-2012, 02:09 PM
I think this tv's series have a android OS!

Philips - Thomas
06-21-2012, 02:13 PM
Hi,

there is no Android OS on our TV's.

Regards
Thomas

Toengel
06-24-2012, 06:19 PM
Hi,

observed issue with 108.8 (forwarded to me):
- sorting channels only works in favorite list? Bug or feature?

Toengel@Alex

Philips
06-25-2012, 01:37 PM
Hi,
observed issue with 108.8 (forwarded to me):
- sorting channels only works in favorite list? Bug or feature?

Toengel@Alex

Hi Alex,

Thanks for the feedback.
Issue is indeed a feature ;), and according to the specifications.

Kind regards,
JuAn

Toengel
06-25-2012, 01:48 PM
Hi,

thanks for the feedback!

Toengel@Alex

Sepultura
06-29-2012, 02:03 PM
Hi,

1. in the morning i can't turn on my 42PFL6877 over the On/Off button on the remote. Only after pull out and plug in the power plug again it works.

2. The android app doesn't work very well. Only the buttons "On/Off", "Liste","Optionen", "SmartTV" und "Teletext" are working.
android version 4.0.3 with an Acer A510 and
android version 2.3.7 with a Motorola Milestone.
app version is 2.2

3.The software is really really slow...it's very uncomfortable to use.

Regards,
Sepultura

Rudolph
07-04-2012, 05:55 PM
Gelöscht ...

Philips - Thomas
07-05-2012, 10:53 AM
Hallo Rudolph,

Danke für deinen post aber dies ist das Englische Support Forum, hier wird ausschließlich Englisch geschrieben, bitte editiere deinen post entsprechend.

Danke
Thomas

maxel-digi
07-09-2012, 01:11 PM
i think the menues are very slow..especially the TV Guide is damned slow

Philips
07-09-2012, 10:29 PM
Dear all,

A new SW version with some major improvements is about to be released. If all tests are positively finalised, we will notify you here in this forum and of course on our support web site.

Regards,
JuAn

Important: As always, once the software upgrade is completed, you need to disconnect the power cable from the power outlet. Wait 1 or 2 minutes then reconnect it. After that you can start your TV in the usual way.

AiKoiN
07-10-2012, 03:00 PM
Dear all,

A new SW version with some major improvements is about to be released. If all tests are positively finalised, we will notify you here in this forum and of course on our support web site.

Regards,
JuAn

Important: As always, once the software upgrade is completed, you need to disconnect the power cable from the power outlet. Wait 1 or 2 minutes then reconnect it. After that you can start your TV in the usual way.

That is fine !

i hope that my bugs are also fixed:

- hdmi switching keeps asking for what device is connected.
- smart tv not functioning properly
- philips logo not centerd when turning on tv
- trouble with usb devices recording and pauzing 640gb disk. 32gb stick not for pauze function.
- slow respons in menus (tv settings)
- smart tv screen (whats on tv) when you have opend an app and get back the screen is black.
- wifi password is displayed !!! not encrypted
- passwords in databsae philips registration not encrypted
- keeps asking for registrating me again
- support for ipad stream
- support for Media Link HD ?

- etc.

qpqdriver
07-10-2012, 06:58 PM
Hi!

Most of the things have been mentioned... My feedback is on 55PFL8007:

Maybe to add:

- If HDMI cable is connected (and no device is attached) and you turn on the TV, the TV turns on, shows a channel a couple of seconds - turns off. If you turn on again you are not anymore in Satelite mode - you are in (cable-)TV mode - and not in your favorites anymore

- In SmartTV I am missing Maxdome and all the other Video Apps

- Adding apps to SmartTV will hang up the system (if you browse through SmartTV Apps and you are on page 3 or 4)

- Ambilight Lounge Mode is not working correct - TV turns on Ambilight - but you can not change Lounge Mode (Colours)

- Sometimes DLNA crashes if you browse (still checking when this happens)

- SmartTV crashes sometimes - the TV restarts then completly.

- If you record something the recording logo on the top right is not completly displayed on the screen.

- It's mentioned before: But things are slow... comment: less is more! I don't need animation or channel logos - just browsing through the menu is enough :-)

- In DLNA: The digital sound output volume is reduced. If you have an amplifier connected using the optical out the sound is very quiet on DLNA content compared to Satelite TV.

Thanks,
Bastian

medusa
07-11-2012, 09:12 AM
Hi there,

I am from Germany and writing in this English-section because I hope/think, that I will get better support.

Yesterday I got my 40PFL7007 with FW 0.108.8.0.
Setup was running perfect.

I don´t use internal tuners, but external devices:
- HD-SAT-Receiver Dreambox DM800 SE on HDMI 1
- DVD-Player 3880 Philips on HDMI 2

My problem:
It is almost impossible to turn on the TV !
I push ON/OFF button on remote control and I notice, that the red remote-LED receives the signal (light flashing).
Most of the times TV stays off. After lots of trials it starts, sometime successfull, sometimes it starts (red LED not visible) and gets off again (red LED appears again).
It seems then, that no connection (Dreambox) could be detected, but Dreambox was switched on before.

It takes me everytime 5-10min to turn the TV on.
Unplugging power cable for 5min doesn´t solve the problem.
I tried 3 different brand-new HDMI cables with 1.4 and/or Ethernet standard. No change.

I also noticed interlace and changing colors at startup (sometimes blue background instead of black).

After the TV has started up correctly everything works fine.

I will wait 10 days before I return my TV to amazon. This is a very general function.
A TV, that can´t be turned on is useless.
Same problem was described in German forum by another user.

Thanks Philips in advance.

cbonde
07-11-2012, 07:26 PM
Please, Philips Support, follow this German chat forum about the 8007 (2012) - a lot of anticipation, the reviews start steaming up on page 13.

http://www.hifi-forum.de/viewthread-152-9484-13.html

cbonde
07-11-2012, 07:59 PM
Hi,
Had the 46PFL8007T/12 since 2nd July. Here is my first feedback.

- As mentioned several times by others the SW is sluuugiiiish (I can live with that for a while).

- TV continiously loses login information for wireless network, and repeatedly asks for details e.g. when switching from Smart TV to/from Skype. This is very annoying.

- Search for channels (I use external DVB-C decoder) I am not prompted for "Network ID" when choosing Country=Denmark, but I do, when I choose Country=Other. Not keying in the Network ID causes alot of irrelevant channels and customer-unfriendly order.

- Skype: Onscreen Help and pdf-manual refer to a Logoff button under <Settings>. I have not found that button.

- Skype: time stamp top right is not CET-time (2 hours behind)

- Skype: labels for Red/Green/Blue/Yellow says "Undefined"

- Smart TV: Press <App Gallery> and it often 1) freezes or 2) prompts "Cannot find Philips server try again later"

- Smart TV: Press <RED> (All) and it 1) freezes 2) exits Smart TV 3) turns off TV

- Danish Text Labels several places in menu: Choose betwwen "Ja"=Yes or "Ingen"=None. "Ingen" should probably should be "Annuller"=Cancel

- I view TV-signal through receiver via HDMI1. Often the TV forgets that picture is from HDMI1 for instance when flipping between Smart TV and Skype, and I have to choose source again.

- Menu: When I press "Return" I expect to go back one step in the Menu, but I actually leave the Menu.

- The TV prompts me for New Source regulary even though I have registered, and not changed the setup.

I look forward to the forthcoming SW update.

damelga
07-18-2012, 08:02 AM
Hi all,

I have purchased model 42PFL6007/12 and I'm experimenting the same problems than Medusa:

Very difficult turn on the TV. Finally I have found the best mode: Press and hold the "ON" button until the logo of "Philips" appears in the TV. Is the only way I have found to turn on!!!

As comented "maxel-digi", the menu is very slow (including Guide).


I have tried to connect my external hard drive via USB to the TV and can't read the context. In another TV (LG) I don't have any problem to connect it. This model of philips detect the USB, but when attend to read, appears a message that indicates that is empty the hard drive. The hard drive has 500 gb and with format FAT32:
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=440

Several times occurs that when reproduces multimedia (divx, mov, etc...) the TV doesn't show the video (as these videos were incompatibles) but other times the same videos are reproduced. I don't understand what is happen....

Finally I don't have internet connection, so I dind't test functions related to smartv, however, it seems to fail a lot!!!!

Please Philips, consider our comments!!!!!!

Best regards and thanks in advanced!

Brakius
07-18-2012, 12:06 PM
8007: When you press on the Smart TV button then my bluray 7500MKII is going on.

Philips - Benedickte
07-19-2012, 12:11 PM
8007: When you press on the Smart TV button then my bluray 7500MKII is going on.

Hi Brakius

Can you please confirm what Smart TV button you are pressing? ( TV remote, Blu ray remote, in the menu)

If Using TV remote control, the TV might send signal through CEC/easylink and tells the blu ray to turn on.

Best Regards
Benedickte

Toengel
07-19-2012, 06:27 PM
Hi,

the new firmware 132.5.1 is now available on the support websites: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?6645-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0-132-5-1-for-6xx7-7xx7-and-8xx7-series-(2012-models)

Toengel@Alex

Brakius
07-19-2012, 06:46 PM
@Benedickte I press the SmartTV button on the remote. When I put off the easylink then it does not startup automatical when I press the SmartTV button.

Philips - Thomas
07-20-2012, 07:42 AM
Hi@All

132.5 is out, please follow up in
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?6645-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0-132-5-1-for-6xx7-7xx7-and-8xx7-series-%282012-models%29

Regards
Thomas