PDA

View Full Version : Access the open internet



Kazjorke
10-06-2010, 09:29 AM
got me a new Philips TV 32PFL8605H/12 and all works really great.
Net TV is a very nice addon next to watching TV and others.
reason why i waited for this TV set is that it's got a main and central place in my homenetwork.
hopefully i can eliminate a few redundancies in the network.

Browsing the open internet via NETV does not work for websites that require Adobe Flash. I've read the forum posts and indeed this does not seem to be supported for the moment.

Any guidance from Philips :


Are you guys EVER gone consider allowing Adobe Flash ?
If yes, by when can it be expected
Do you guys understand 'the value customers would have' by enabling Flash ?
Are there technical limitations that you could reveal here, why Flash is not possible ?


Many thanks for your fair and honest response
Kazjorke

Cookie
10-06-2010, 03:43 PM
Dear Kazjorke, the outcome of your poll I can already predict, can I win something?

Kazjorke
10-08-2010, 08:36 AM
Well I hope many more users will answer the poll - with that we can then ask Philips to provide us with an add-on. The power of the collective consumer is strong. I have 25 years experience in customer services and i know the rules of the game.
So fingers crossed and invite your friends to vote. I'll make a business case out of it and then we ALL will win.

Kazjorke
10-18-2010, 09:16 AM
Any guidance FROM PHILIPS on NETTV and flash for linux combination would be appreciated ! !!!!

ovidiu
05-12-2011, 07:16 PM
Samsung and LG's 2011 models have smart TV which means that series 7000, 8000 and 9000 for Samsung (an official of Samsung Romania told me that even D6500 series is enabled to fully view internet content without restrictions, but resellers that test it said is not entirely true) and ALL LG's Smart TV models (as LGE.com replied to one of my enqueries) are supporting flash streaming over their version of internet browser. Not to mention Sony's experiments with Google TV...

So, that means Philips is now one step behind the competitors and if nothing is done in the near future with a firmware update....lots of clients will change brand...me included.

Xtreme
05-19-2011, 09:41 PM
I have 25 years experience in customer services and i know the rules of the game.
Yes, you are on the right track.
For example: So many people have complained of the missing buttons in xx05 model's remote controls. Philips did listen and now they will bring back the "Source" and "Teletext" buttons to xx06 models. :D
About the the Flash support.. not going to happen with the old xx05 models as there is not enough power to run it.

smart
05-20-2011, 09:24 AM
I think it is not as easy as some imagine. What about the usability of a flash application which requires a computer mouse on a TV. I see a lot of flash apps on the net which can't be used just with keys. You have to use a mouse. In such cases, when you need a mouse and a keyboard in front of your PC, you can also use the Wifi Media Connect software on your laptop in front of the TV. It has a keyboard and a mouse integrated in one device.

So if the website provider has to built a TV usable flash app, he can also built a CE-HTML app.

Just some other thoughts about flash (some also think it is depricated and future will go into other directions):
http://www.apple.com/hotnews/thoughts-on-flash/