PDA

View Full Version : Widgets



bman
10-06-2010, 06:50 PM
When become the widgets available for my philips tv?
I've got the 32pfl7605H/12

Does anyone knows?

Philips
10-07-2010, 01:26 PM
Widgets is a new function in our latest 2010 TV’s, it will allow a combination of broadcasted video together with Net TV functionality.

For better and faster functionality, Philips will not put widgets on top of the broadcasted video, but we will include the broadcaster video into the Net TV portal. This means that the video will be shown in a “picture in picture” format. In that way you still have the full Net TV functionality available and the broadcasted video is not distorted with graphics.

To activate this, a new software will be released. This software will remove the widget icon form the home menu, since it is no longer required (as Net TV will always start with the combined picture).
The final software validation is in progress, it is expected to come available soon. Therefore just accept the new software announcement on your TV when it is popping up.

The new “Net TV portal” will be announced on the existing Net TV home page. When the new software is sufficiently distributed into the connected TV’s, we will move all connected TV’s to the new Net TV portal.

Regretfully, TV’s that do not have the widgets option, will not be able to show the broadcasted video combined on the Net TV homepage.

avia
12-18-2010, 11:09 AM
What about 2009 TVs? Will Phlips update their software to support widgets?

Mario
12-18-2010, 11:42 PM
What about 2009 TVs? Will Phlips update their software to support widgets?

There are no more widgets.

Philips won't allow users to display overlay video on the top of the TV broadcast anymore. Officially "For better and faster functionality (http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/dcbint/cpindex.pl?scy=GB&mid=Link_FAQs&view=aa12_view_partial.html&session=&new_tmpl=1&list=aa12_list_partial.html&slg=ENG&ctn=46PFL8605H/12&dct=FAQ&refnr=0081436&faqview=1)"... :mad:

Edit: See also Corneel's comment (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?852-Now-available-on-Net-TV-TWITTER%21&p=1883#post1883).

avia
12-19-2010, 10:10 AM
OK, thanks for clarification.


Philips won't allow users to display overlay video on the top of the TV broadcast anymore.
Not only Philips makes TVs... And maybe this position changes if future...

JuAn
12-19-2010, 03:11 PM
...Philips won't allow users to display overlay video on the top of the TV broadcast anymore.

Dear Mario and Avia: You both didn't read Corneel's reply very well: It is not Philips but it are the broadcasters that do not allow these widgets on top of their content.....

Mario
12-20-2010, 05:56 AM
Dear Mario and Avia: You both didn't read Corneel's reply very well: It is not Philips but it are the broadcasters that do not allow these widgets on top of their content.....

Dear JuAn,

are you kidding me? My neighbor's TV (a brand from South Korea, beginning with S) has this feature already. He enjoys this functionality while he receives the same broadcasts as me.

This situation reminds me of the lacking Flash support for iPhone...

Well done Philips. *sigh*

PS: And what about allowing widgets for DVD sessions?
While I listen to music from USB?

PPS: Maybe I've bought my TV only to watch movies from local sources? C'mon, Philips's statement doesn't convince me at all.

sosoro
12-24-2010, 10:34 PM
We want widgets! Please add them back!!!

sosoro
01-01-2011, 07:01 PM
Any new info related to widgets? It's a BIG minus from Philips if they don't add widgets (and my next lcd will not be from P)!

GeorgeN
04-14-2011, 10:35 PM
Hi from Greece,

Its a pity that Philips has done this...
I am also very disappointed by that and some other issues with my new philips tv...
Definitely the next tv will not be Philips...

Constantinos19
03-10-2012, 01:17 PM
Philips tv a company that continues ignoring their clients. GREECE/Cyprus buys your tvs but you don't really care. Apps fro Greece are not there.... So maybe Greece will be not there for you nowadays.

Toengel
03-10-2012, 01:45 PM
Hi,

26 Apps should be available in Greece - not much, I agree...

But you can create you own App: http://www.yourappontv.com/

Toengel@Alex

Constantinos19
03-10-2012, 08:45 PM
To create new apps you have to be the owner of it. So whats the point?
Also i don't know how to use www.yourappontv.com

Samsung is improving all the time smart tv apps for Greece and Lg do the same. Philips maybe don't care about Greece. A video store with movies we want for sure but i am asking a lot.

Toengel
03-11-2012, 08:05 AM
Hi,

you know, that the content isn't provided by Philips? Only the architecture comes from Philips. So you need to blame the content owners, why they don't provide their Samsung/LG Apps also for Philips NetTV architecture.

Toengel@Alex

Constantinos19
03-11-2012, 12:16 PM
No i think the promotion is the problem and Philips does something wrong. Samsung and Lg must be doing something to get the apps in their smart tvs. Lg and Philips was supposed to get worg together but what happen???