PDA

View Full Version : Sub texts get distorted when watching National Geographic HD



AndreasP
07-07-2012, 11:26 PM
Hi!

I have a 47PFL7606T/12 with firmware 000.014.098.000 and a problem with distorted sub texts when watching the National Geographic HD channel:
http://www.oijoij-hd.com/thumbs/hU7.jpg (http://www.oijoij-hd.com/images/hU7.jpg)http://www.oijoij-hd.com/thumbs/mUrz2.jpg (http://www.oijoij-hd.com/images/mUrz2.jpg)

The distortion only occurs on the Nat.Geo channel. All others like Discovery Showcase and other HD/SD channels are fine.
I'm watching it via a Swedish cable operator called "comhem" and use a CL+ HD-module from them.

It always occurs after 12-13 subs. When it does, I often press the "options" button:
http://www.oijoij-hd.com/thumbs/fEB9.jpg (http://www.oijoij-hd.com/images/fEB9.jpg)

After pressing it again, the subs are normal for 12-13 more:
http://www.oijoij-hd.com/thumbs/hj2St.jpg (http://www.oijoij-hd.com/images/hj2St.jpg)

If I press the "options" button fast twice the options menu don't have time to appear but the subs are ok after that (12-13 times...)

Hope it can be fixed in the next firmware. If you need more info from me I will be glad to help!

Philips - Thomas
07-11-2012, 03:46 PM
Hi Andreas and welcome to our Community,

we will have a look into this and i will come back afterwards.
Can you just give me some more details.
The subtext has to be activated on the menu or is it shown directly?

Regards
Thomas

AndreasP
07-15-2012, 09:42 AM
Hi Andreas and welcome to our Community,

we will have a look into this and i will come back afterwards.
Can you just give me some more details.
The subtext has to be activated on the menu or is it shown directly?

Regards
Thomas

Hi!

If I press the "SUBTITLE" button and choose the "Subtitles off" option the subtitles does not appear at all. If I choose "Subtitles on" they reappears again. I hope that explains your question.

I have also tested to change the "Subtitle language" via the "OPTIONS" button and on this channel I can choose between Swedish, Danish, Norwegian. The distortion appears after 12-13 subtitle rows (pairs) on all languages.

I have also found out that the distortion disappear just by pressing volume up/down once. The subtitle disappears when the volume symbol shows in the left corner and when the subtitle comes back it's ok the next 12-13 subs. The subtitle always disappears when any "TV Graphic" is shown.

If I press the "TEXT" button I get "No Text available" so I don't think it's a teletext problem.

Regards,
Andreas Petersson

klauzser
07-16-2012, 02:30 AM
Is it possible to use a different .srt file for subtitles? Is there a way to do it? http://imagicon.info/cat/12-19/vbsmile.png

Philips - Thomas
07-16-2012, 06:38 AM
Hi

srt Files are only usable if you play files via USB.
Here it is a Broadcast so there is no srt File.

Thomas

AndreasP
07-18-2012, 07:47 PM
Hi,
Was thinking about that it would be nice with a function that could help your technicians fix problems that consumer have.

I was thinking something like this:

1. Explaining what the problem is, in the forum for example.
2. Get an answer with some sort of service code to punch in and an email address..
3. The TV starts generating some sort of log-file on a USB-stick.
4. Using the TV until the problem occurs.
5. Consumer notes the time when problem occurs.
6. Mail the file and time..

Or maybe via some menu and code the TV just connect directly to a Philips server and sends the log and other info online...maybe the customer can press some button when the problem occurs to time stamp..

Just a thought...:confused::rolleyes:

/Andreas Petersson

Manu03
07-21-2012, 08:58 PM
I am having the same problem with the subtitles on my TV. Only on Nat Geo HD... I have a 42PFL5604H/12 latest firmware

Philips - Thomas
07-24-2012, 10:13 AM
Hi @ all

our Dev Team is looking into this but at this Moment i can't give you any Updates.
As soon as there is anything to tell, i will let you know.

Regards
Thomas

fretboard
08-12-2012, 09:52 AM
I have the same problem om my 40PFL5507T/12 latest firmware

omtslug
08-24-2012, 10:15 PM
Same here on a 46PFL6606T with latest firmware Q5551-0.14.99.0_bld78a.
Had the problem on previous fw's too and 14.99 which I upgraded to some
days ago.
You got good imgs in first post but I just wanted to post this
which I took today, I have only seen this variant once.

1385
The first subtitle line is ok but the lower one distored.
Usually both of them are 'scrambled'. Some rendering problem.. ?

Any updates ?
Can we do more to assist ? This is very annoying.
regards /Stefan

Philips - Benedickte
08-28-2012, 01:15 PM
Same here on a 46PFL6606T with latest firmware Q5551-0.14.99.0_bld78a.
Had the problem on previous fw's too and 14.99 which I upgraded to some
days ago.
You got good imgs in first post but I just wanted to post this
which I took today, I have only seen this variant once.

1385
The first subtitle line is ok but the lower one distored.
Usually both of them are 'scrambled'. Some rendering problem.. ?

Any updates ?
Can we do more to assist ? This is very annoying.
regards /Stefan

Hi Stefan.

I can inform you that we are looking into this at the moment, as soon as we got a solution we will post this.

Thank you for your patients.

Regards,
Benedickte

ancr62
08-29-2012, 03:46 PM
This problem exist in 2012 models as well.
I have a 42PFL4047 with latest SW with the same problem...

/Anders

bais
09-04-2012, 07:30 PM
Hi Iam having exactly the same problem with the subtitles mostly at national geographic HD channel and Ca module conax and Comhem Sweden. I can watch the channel 20-30 seconds then the subs looks like green purple pixels.switching channel or turn the subs on and off helps another 30 seconds then it starts to pixel again. I have seen the problem a couple of times at Discovery channel hd to. Thank you for your help regarding our subtitle problems.

Philips - Benedickte
09-05-2012, 01:59 PM
Hi Iam having exactly the same problem with the subtitles mostly at national geographic HD channel and Ca module conax and Comhem Sweden. I can watch the channel 20-30 seconds then the subs looks like green purple pixels.switching channel or turn the subs on and off helps another 30 seconds then it starts to pixel again. I have seen the problem a couple of times at Discovery channel hd to. Thank you for your help regarding our subtitle problems.

Hi Bais.

Have you been in contact with the customer service? If not, i would advise you to contact them.
This issue is due to the way National Geografic HD sends out their subtitles, and Philips is working on this case.

Best regards,
Benedickte

yonex
09-19-2012, 07:44 PM
Hello!

Its been a while since any information regarding the text distortion for PFL7606T. Could you please give us some update?

BR Yonex

Tapio
10-26-2012, 05:24 PM
Hi Bais.

Have you been in contact with the customer service? If not, i would advise you to contact them.
This issue is due to the way National Geografic HD sends out their subtitles, and Philips is working on this case.

Best regards,
Benedickte

Hi, Benedicte!

The distorted sub text in Nat Geo HD-channel appears even in Boxers terrestial TV-net in Sweden.
My TV is a 47PFL4007T. All other HD-channels work perfectly. The text in NatGeo HD is normal in some 20-30 first seconds, then blurred.

Look forward to an plausible explanation and, even better, some kind of a fix.

Best regards / Tapio

Philips - Benedickte
10-26-2012, 05:49 PM
Hi, Benedicte!

The distorted sub text in Nat Geo HD-channel appears even in Boxers terrestial TV-net in Sweden.
My TV is a 47PFL4007T. All other HD-channels work perfectly. The text in NatGeo HD is normal in some 20-30 first seconds, then blurred.

Look forward to an plausible explanation and, even better, some kind of a fix.

Best regards / Tapio

Hi Tapio.

Could you please confirm to me what software version is installed on your TV? If not the latest (93.0), I would advise you to update to this.

Best regards,
Benedickte

Toengel
10-26-2012, 05:50 PM
Hi,

did you installed firmware 93.0 via USB stick? This update should fix that.

Toengel@Alex

AndreasP
10-26-2012, 07:08 PM
Hi!

Sorry for not mention in this thread that FW v0.14.101 did solve the problem for me.

I did mention it in:
http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?8145-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0-14-101-for-5806-6000-and-7000-series-(2011-models)&p=41978&viewfull=1#post41978

Thank you!
Best Regards,
Andreas Petersson

Tapio
10-27-2012, 09:32 AM
Hello, Benedicte, and thank You for the swift response!

The TV-set was delivered with a version Q554E-0.91.0.0 installed.
I have now upgraded to the latest version, that is 0.92.0.0.
Further updates are not available.

Result: No blurred lines during a trial period of 30 minutes by now. GREAT!

Thank You, and Best of Greetings!

Tapio

Toengel
10-27-2012, 09:33 AM
Hi,

latest is 93.0 ;-)

Toengel@Alex

jigodiass
10-27-2012, 10:28 AM
I have the same problem but on a 32PFL7605H/12 TV . Is there any change that a new firmware that would fix this problem to be released for this tv ?

Thank you!

Motorrad
11-04-2012, 08:50 PM
Same problem with 32PFL5604H/12

It would be a new firmware that will fix the issue ?

Thanks