PDA

View Full Version : WAC700/WAS700 Advice Needed!



ElTel
07-16-2012, 08:05 AM
My WAC700 has finally given up the ghost, after years of good service! Have tried everything to resurrect it, but fear it's beyond help now - at least financially viable help anyway!

I still have two working WAS700's though, and keen to replace the WAC700 with something that will a) allow me to continue to use the stations and b) could possibly allow me to transfer the DMM contents from the WAC700 onto the new unit - so I don't lose all the CD's ripped down the years.

I've been looking at the MCI298, NP3300 and NP3900 as possible replacements - anyone got any thoughts on the best unit to meet my requirements?

Thanks in advance

Tias
07-16-2012, 04:02 PM
Hi !

You should look for a WAC7000, WAC7500 or MCi500H, they all fully supports the WAS700 stations.
Copying the files from your old WAC700 is tricky if it doesn't work.
With some hardware digging to get the harddisk out of the WAC700 and then using a Linux LiveCD in your PC, you can get access to the tracks (well, as long as the harddisk of the WAC700 is still ok), but there will be no tags in the MP3 tracks ripped on the WAC700.

Cheers !

ElTel
07-18-2012, 05:44 PM
Hi !

You should look for a WAC7000, WAC7500 or MCi500H, they all fully supports the WAS700 stations.
Copying the files from your old WAC700 is tricky if it doesn't work.
With some hardware digging to get the harddisk out of the WAC700 and then using a Linux LiveCD in your PC, you can get access to the tracks (well, as long as the harddisk of the WAC700 is still ok), but there will be no tags in the MP3 tracks ripped on the WAC700.

Cheers !

Thanks for the quick response Tias - does that mean none of the other streamiums I listed are compatible with the WAS700 then?

Ideally I wanted a newer streamium but retain the use of the old stations.

Tias
07-18-2012, 10:05 PM
Hi !

The full list of WAS700-compatible Centers are :

WAC5
WAC700
WAC5000
WAC7000
WAC7500
MCi500H

The WAS700 does not work too well with just a UPnP server I'm afraid, therefore, the MCi900 and MCi8080 cannot be used.

Cheers !

poolman
08-10-2015, 01:37 PM
Hi,
Has anyone got or can tell me were I can get the installation files to put on my new hard drive for my WAC700 as when I ghost the old hard drive to the new hard drive, it must of copied over the corrupt file and will not boot still.
Poolman

Philips - Katerina
08-19-2015, 11:56 AM
Hello pooman!

Welcome back to the forum!

This is something that I hope all forum members give a lot of consideration to. We are aware of the fact that many of you are technically knowledgeable either through experience or your jobs and there is nothing better than having a hobby! But as Philips we cannot and do not want any of you to open up your devices because you may get hurt which is the worst part and your devices cannot be returned to us for repair which would be a shame if they could be saved.

Having said that I guess you know where I am getting at. Putting in hard drives is something that should be done by Philips service partners only. If you do it on your own we cannot give you the software files as that too can only be done by our service partners.

Please be careful!

Kind regards,
Philips - Katerina