PDA

View Full Version : switching channels with program guide



koenraad
10-13-2010, 06:13 PM
I sometimes encounter a problem when I switch a channel with the program guide function on my 40plf8605. Approx 1 out of 10 times when I try to switch to a different channel directly from the program guide function the TV goes black. The TV set stays on but no channel is shown. If I redo the same action again, there is a big chance it works normally and I can view the selected channel. Upto now I've only encountered this when I switch inside the program guide menu system. Did anybody else encountered this issue?
main software version Q5551_0.140.11.0

Corneel
10-14-2010, 03:29 PM
Do you use the internet EPG (IP-EPG with Picture in Picture) or the EPG provided by digital cable (without PIP). Did you see the same problem with the previous software?

koenraad
10-14-2010, 05:40 PM
the one provided by the cable. I didn't know it is possible to use ip-epg. In my setup it is not possible. normally..

posted by a philips mod.

When u use digital cable (DVB-C). It might be that the digital cable provider offers a program guide. When you use the digital decoder in the TV, the TV might automatically provide de program guide from the cable provider. In that way you have no choice in the program guide.

what a pity...
but meanwhile in another thread (http://www.supportforum.philips.com/showthread.php?660-EPG-not-working-(network))

And about the previous software, I'm not sure but I can't remember if it the bug was present there too. Not to my knowledge.

livkey
01-03-2011, 12:09 PM
Hi,
about this... cannot be done that when in Chanel Guide to have a quick video preview of the channel you select with the cursor? like in the NetTv interface where you see the tunned channel in the right side ......

enterfornone
06-28-2011, 09:03 PM
Of course it can, but somehow the Philips EPG (broadcaster of course, Philips does not recognize the existence of Eastern Europe for lots of functions ip-EPG including, although is happy to take same money) is crippled.
Just like the Now/Next - hidden behind a black screen, and two buttons, and a menu - it seems like the whole EPG is intentionally made next to useless.