PDA

View Full Version : Smart TV: Get free channels as Net TV from Thailand



Axel
07-22-2012, 07:49 PM
Hi,

I have recently bought a BDP7700 and installed it. It works fine via my WLAN and 802.11n (max 130 Mbps) seems to be sufficient for receiving Net TV.

Now I want to extend the available scope of channels available to free thai TV channels over the Internet. But I lack functionality.

One problem could be insufficient network transmission speed from Thailand - I use an 100 Mbps fibre cable for the Internet and gets regularly around effectively 50 Mbps noticed by the Speedtest Net (http://speedtest.net), lower with Bangkok (DTAC as remote server). I get around 2,5-3 Mbps downstream and 0,3-0,5 Mbps upstream. It should be sufficient for Net TV from most thai sites (I can see some of the sendings on my computer).

It should be possible to receive even via the BDP7700 WLAN network interface and i can run Youtube and other apps via the Smart TV interface. I can run the Internet interface included with Smart TV and locate the free thai channels offerings on the following excellent web pages:

http://wwitv.com/television/204.htm
http://thaitvnow.com

The sendings can be viewed in fullscreen like the Microsoft Media Player. However, I must start receiving by clicking a "play" icon on the page shown from thai TV vendors. This "play" icon is not visible via the Smart TV Internet interface nor clickable. I make this detailed description so nobody should need to be in doubt about what I intend to do.

So I wonder whether there is a way to solve this matter to have a fully working thai TV environment here with my BDP7700? Has someone done the same thing I try to do? Does this require the programming and setup of separate apps for every channel - there are small differences between the layout of interface between different vendors of free thai TV channels over the Internet.

Can someone bring me knowledges and details about how to enable a fully working environment for this task?

I hope for positive comments to get this mission successfully completed!

Kind regards,

Axel

mydearcosmo
07-23-2012, 03:15 AM
First thing you should do is to contact Philips about it and tell them your concern. In case it is not yet possible, there would be a chance that they will consider it in the future. http://imagicon.info/cat/12-19/icon_smile1.gif

Axel
07-23-2012, 01:57 PM
Mydearcosmo,

It's a good proposal! I'll contact the Philips support promptly!

Thanks!

Axel
07-23-2012, 02:38 PM
One workaround would be to use a computer with WLAN and HDMI possibility to display on TV screen (HD output). And use wireless mouse/keyboard (2,4 Ghz) as control devices. But hopefully it can be included with the BD player in some way in future, let's see what happens.

miranda
12-12-2012, 09:28 PM
You may also try on http://tvlive32.com. Technical information on various TV channels is also available.

Axel
07-12-2014, 01:37 PM
First thing you should do is to contact Philips about it and tell them your concern. In case it is not yet possible, there would be a chance that they will consider it in the future. http://imagicon.info/cat/12-19/icon_smile1.gif
OK, I have now upgraded to the new Philips BDP7750!

Not completely investigating it, but I can see that the remark regarding using a wireless keyboard and mouse has been enabled although not included with the packade. It must be installed as an extra equipment on the end user's behalf but this is not a problem - I'll do! I have tried to navigate using the remote control but the possibility to use wireless keyboard and mouse via USB port and a wireless piin is apperciated!

Thanks to the Philips company to implement this.

And I am looking forward to share experiences with more advanced users and others here regarding the improved Internet applications functionality too!

Axel