PDA

View Full Version : AD7000W/12 always needing to be restarted



tsolignani
07-24-2012, 04:16 PM
I have this airplay speaker and I always have to restart it (power off then back on), otherwise my airplay enabled peripherals do not see it.

I looked for firmare upgrades, but despite a tutorial on the site there seem to be none.

Can someone help me?

Thank you.

kwinnie
07-25-2012, 02:26 AM
yep, unlike some streaming apps there is no refresh button on airplay. so when you have this issue, you have to restart it. how frequent you see this issue? this can be some router issue. are you using a AP?

mikeasavage
08-17-2012, 10:28 PM
I have the same issue... I cannot find a new firmware update either. Someone from Philips please reply.

GhostOfClayton
11-19-2012, 08:24 PM
I had the same issue. It turned out that my broadband signal has a high signal to noise ratio. This means it gets the best speed out of the cable, but drops out very briefly now and again (not an issue normally). The trouble is, when this happens, my whole router drops (for half a second), including the wireless end. Airplay devices are sensitive to this, and often lose connectivity requiring restart. I solved this by using a wireless access point, connecting it to the wifi router via ethernet cable, and then configuring the airplay devices to use this rather than the wifi router. It still drops out, but very, very occaisionally.