PDA

View Full Version : Firmware update 46PFL7605H/12 causes out-of-sync audio/video when streaming from pc



Robert-Jan
10-23-2010, 09:43 AM
To my great regret I have installed the latest firmware for the 46PFL7605H/12 model. This resulted in out-of-sync audio/video when streaming from PC. Support told me it was not possible to go back to the original firmware. Needless to say, I am not amused. Instead, I am to wait for a new software update where perhaps the issues MIGHT be solved.

What are the intervals with respect to software updates?

Philips
10-23-2010, 09:51 AM
Dear Robert-Jan,

Please indicate which SW version you are referring to, so we can check and feedback.

There are no fixed intervals for SW release to my knowledge.
If there are urgent issues, they will be fixed asap.
That's why this customer's feedback is so very important for us.

Robert-Jan
10-23-2010, 12:19 PM
The software version is: Q5551-0.140.11.0

Release notes: Release for TV550R1: Q5551-0.140.11.0

lebeno
10-23-2010, 12:53 PM
I have the 37PFL7605H12 with the same software version and I can confirm this problem, audio is visibly out of sync. Problems exists with standard as well as HD content.

Temporary workaround: if I fast forward or reverse for a short time, audio is in sync, about 10-15 seconds later, it is out of sync again.

This is a big showstopper, please fix it.

Joop
10-23-2010, 01:10 PM
I have the 32PFL7605H12 , with the same software version and can also confirm this issue.

I stream from an Iomega storcenter ix2. It is not the storcenter as streaming to my pc using microsoft mediaplayer does not result in delays.

Please fix urgently! I bought this television especially for streaming video/music!!!

tonchi0807
10-25-2010, 11:51 AM
I have the same problem with my 32pfl5405h, and i have instaled same software version. But i have problem with watching videos via USB media player.

shenkie
10-25-2010, 02:13 PM
I have also the same problem with my 37pfl7605. Also when i Use NetTV (rtlGemist, dutch) it gives me loading error and the status screen remains on the screen. I first have to press pause and then play in order to make it dissappear. This fw sucks!

Rogier1975
10-25-2010, 08:14 PM
Also issues on my 37PFL7605H:

Around 30% of the times that I try to switch my TV from standby to ON, the TV does not react (though the red led blinks, yet no further reaction from the TV). Only way to solve this, is by switching the power fully off and on.
Of course (...) then you only get the power splash screen and the TV goes on standby again. But then at least the TV reacts to the remote again.

Regret that I installed this firmware, which is promoted by the Philips Service site :(

Philips
10-26-2010, 11:07 AM
Dear all,

We are working hard to solve above mentioned issues.
Thank u all for reporting, it really helps us to improve our products!

We expect to release a new software version very soon for the 5000 and 7000 series (version 0.140.23.0).
This will solve the audio/video sync issues (and much more....).

Robert-Jan
10-26-2010, 03:00 PM
This is great news! Thank you for the quick response.

george
10-27-2010, 03:08 PM
I own 42pfl7655h/12 and when i installed the latest firmware (tv550r1: Q5551-0.140.11.0)i experienced a problem when playing media files (especially avi files)from the usb port of the tv. 1). Audio and video is out of sync and 2).can't play mkv files when larger than 3 gbytes.(very sorry for my poor english).thanks in advance.

JuAn
10-29-2010, 06:13 PM
Version 140.23 has just been released, you can start here: http://www.support.philips.com/suppo...g_selector.jsp

I hope this will solve all the earlier mentioned issues!
Here are the release notes:

Q5521_0.140.23.0 (Date published: 2010-10-28)
• Unable to view Teletext and/or subtitles are missing on certain channels. (Only applicable to country, Finland)
• TV goes into standby by itself after 2 to 3 hours of operation.
• TV does not display the video in its native format through USB.
• Picture judders while watching digital channels.
• Picture judders during playback via USB.

Q5521_0.140.11.0 (Date published: 2010-10-14)
• Blur picture with vertical lines observed.
• Improve picture performance on analog channels.
• The channel display sequence in the EPG does not match with the preset list in the channel grid. (Only applicable to country, Germany)
• Picture flickers after TV starts up.
• TV has no sound while watching digital (DVB-T) channels. (Only applicable to country, Spain)

0C3
10-30-2010, 04:31 PM
Great update! With Q5521_0.140.23.0 2.35:1 movies aren't displayed with wrong aspect ratio anymore. (on my 37PFL7605) I've contacted Philips support several times about this, also supplied sample files (by e-mail and phone). Good to see problems get resolved and handled properly! Many thanks. Though, a new problem rises: sinds Q5521_0.140.11.0 I can's play MKV files larger then 3 GB anymore (USB and/or DLNA). Hopefully this is fixed soon, then the only thing I need now is DTS decoding in the TV and no need for an external mediaplayer anymore!

george
10-30-2010, 04:50 PM
Great update! With Q5521_0.140.23.0 2.35:1 movies aren't displayed with wrong aspect ratio anymore. (on my 37PFL7605) I've contacted Philips support several times about this, also supplied sample files (by e-mail and phone). Good to see problems get resolved and handled properly! Many thanks. Though, a new problem rises: sinds Q5521_0.140.11.0 I can's play MKV files larger then 3 GB anymore (USB and/or DLNA). Hopefully this is fixed soon, then the only thing I need now is DTS decoding in the TV and no need for an external mediaplayer anymore!

sure thing my friend oc3.but i suppose phillips should pay more attention on handling our tv's external subtitles.that would make it a full media player and no need for an external mediaplayer anymore as oc3 already said.

Joop
10-31-2010, 04:51 PM
I installed the upgrade Version 140.23. The sound delay seems improved although with 1of the 4 tested video's, the sound started to delay again after about 10 minutes. This delay does not happen when playing the video with windows media player (and the nas storage), so it is still the philips television.

So we have an improvement of 80%, but it is still not perfect.

Compliments to Philips by the way, for indeed reacting on this forum with updates solving issues. If you would also solve the subtitle- issue, there is not too much to wish for anymore.

Oh, yes there is :-). I have a linux mobile phone. Would be great to use its keyboard for surfing on the television :-))).

Toengel
10-31-2010, 06:56 PM
Oh, yes there is :-). I have a linux mobile phone. Would be great to use its keyboard for surfing on the television :-))).

Hi,

just look at jointSpace.sourceforge.net :-)

Toengel@Alex

Joop
11-01-2010, 09:08 PM
Hi,

just look at jointSpace.sourceforge.net :-)

Toengel@Alex

I did take a look, but I'm afraid that's a bit out of my league yet. :-)). I just hope some n900 owner will come up with a "click a button" solution.

hansje
12-09-2010, 09:17 PM
is there still problem with synchronisation of audio and video?

danirosa
01-02-2011, 12:19 AM
Is the problem with MKV bigger than 3Gb resolved?

Toengel
01-02-2011, 05:44 PM
Is the problem with MKV bigger than 3Gb resolved?

Hi,

what was your problem exactly? With your question one can't help you what went wrong with your tv...

Toengel@Alex

Andri
02-01-2011, 09:41 PM
I have the philips 32pfl5405H. I have the latest update and I still have the audio video synchronization problem in some videos. Both .avi and .mkv . I could send you more info on the videos that I have gone out of sync if you can look into it.

federal
02-14-2011, 11:12 AM
I have Philips 46PFL7605H/12 and want to run files more than 3GB from my external drive, when will be this problem solved???

Why you didn't normal firmware update without problem at all? :mad:

federal
02-14-2011, 11:45 AM
I think it is possible to add some video and audio codecs.

I have problem with MKV bigger than 3Gb when it will be resolved?

Toengel
02-14-2011, 11:56 AM
Hi,

did you look in the list of supported codecs if your MKV codecs are supported? You can find out, which codecs are inside a MKV file with mediainfo.sourceforge.net

Toengel@Alex

federal
02-14-2011, 12:16 PM
my tv doesn't playing some of mkv format files from usb flash drive, when samsung, sony & panasonic they are playing all of mkv files.

What can you say about m2ts, why I can't play this file format? Why I bought Philips? why I spent 2000$?

Toengel
02-14-2011, 12:29 PM
Hi,

if the included codecs in your m2ts are supported, just rename the file to mkv ;-)


Why I bought Philips? why I spent 2000$?
These questions can only be answered by yourself. :D

Toengel@Alex

federal
02-14-2011, 12:34 PM
Very good, and some mkv files can't play? any idea?

federal
02-14-2011, 12:41 PM
For example:

http://b.pix.ge/s/ucdi1.png

look at this picture, I can't play it why???

whenever will philips programmers do great firmware update?

Toengel
02-14-2011, 01:18 PM
Hi,

DTS is not supported at the first audio stream - convert it to AC3... (and only the first audiostream will be read). I suggest to convert the DTS to AC3 and put the original DTS stream to the 2nd audiostream:
1st audio stream: AC3 (only this one is readable)
2nd audio stream: DTS

Toengel@Alex

federal
02-14-2011, 01:25 PM
how to convert?

Toengel
02-14-2011, 01:45 PM
Hi,

how old are you? Do you know Google?

i.e. www.xmedia-recode.de (http://www.xmedia-recode.de)

Toengel@Alex

federal
02-14-2011, 01:57 PM
how old are you? Do you know Google?

no what is it?

and don't you know how to put in DTS codec to TV firmware?

Toengel
02-14-2011, 02:47 PM
Hi,

why should Philips do that? It's a TV and not a media player. And DTS is not a part of TV broadcasts (but AC3 is and this is supported). But DTS is supported in the Philips Blu-ray players...

Toengel@Alex

federal
02-15-2011, 06:30 AM
broadcasts? where is broadcasts? I want to run media file from flash drive, that you sad it isn't a media player - why it is supported in Samsung TV? can you explain us?

Toengel
02-15-2011, 07:30 AM
Hi,

with broadcasts I mean the broadcast form the TV stations - no TV station broadcasts DTS. That's the reason why Philips didn't integrate DTS support...

You have to ask Samsung, why they support it. Each vendor has different strategies...

If you want DTS support buy a Samsung TV - nowhere is written, that Philips TV support DTS...

Toengel@Alex

federal
02-15-2011, 07:35 AM
ok,

is it possible to integrate DTS to the next firmware update?

Lake292
02-15-2011, 12:44 PM
try this program, very easy to use and does the job its supposed to :)
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/PopCorn_MKV_AudioConverter

federal
02-15-2011, 12:58 PM
try this program, very easy to use and does the job its supposed to :)
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/PopCorn_MKV_AudioConverter


thank you very much

federal
02-15-2011, 01:15 PM
thank you very much

I'm getting error "eac3to missing file specification" what is it?

federal
02-15-2011, 02:30 PM
I fixed it, thanks a lot

Toengel
02-15-2011, 02:33 PM
Hi,

please - you should inform the other readers how do you fixed it...

Toengel@Alex

federal
02-17-2011, 04:32 PM
Hello,

Please ask to philips support about DTS codec integration, it's very importent for everyone.

thank you very much.

nencak
03-08-2011, 06:54 PM
i have the 42pfl5405h/12 and i installed the latest software 0.140.32.0 and having the same problem....

Zachariah
06-15-2011, 11:38 AM
If the upgraded version is creating problem for you then you may opt for paid video email services available at cheaper costs and are proven to be highly user-friendly. So, if you would like to utilize these services then do look for the deals available for you online.

marceld80
07-23-2011, 09:07 AM
Hi,

I've got the same synch problem with audio and video with most of my media files. The only files that work most of the time have a maximum lenght of 20 minutes.
So with almost any movie the synch problem occurs. However these are perfectly normal xvid/divx files.

I've waited for a good update now for almost a year. Is anyone working on this problem?


I bought this tv mainly for its "network" possibilty. This has been a disappointment to me. I have a feeling that this player is a half product. This is not what I expect from Philips quality. Furtmermore I expected that updates would have solved this problem by now... now I wished I bought the cheaper version without network possibilities, since they hardly work.

Hopefully you can fix this problem for me now, because of this post.

Thank you.
Marcel