PDA

View Full Version : Usb 3



Lafaurie80
08-08-2012, 11:18 AM
On my 55PFL8007K/12:
are all three USB connectors, USB3.0. ?

Bob

Toengel
08-08-2012, 11:26 AM
Hi,

no - should be USB 2.0 connectors. But you should be able to use USB3 Harddrives (to be sure, use external power supply for these HDDs).

Toengel@Alex

Amazone
08-08-2012, 11:24 PM
Hi,

no - should be USB 2.0 connectors. But you should be able to use USB3 Harddrives (to be sure, use external power supply for these HDDs).

Toengel@Alex

This is right. I think external powersupply should be recommended by Philips, especially for larger disks. I bought myself a supermodern WD usb3 1TB harddisk and cannot use it because of powerproblems, which slows the disk down.
This is a problem only connected with tv's, not pc's

Toengel
08-09-2012, 07:20 AM
Hi,

the main problem is the spin up power of the USB drives. The TV delivers only 500mAh (as stated in USB specifications), but many drives need more power to spin up...

For TVs it's better to buy USB2-HDDs...

Toengel@Alex

Lafaurie80
08-09-2012, 11:19 AM
the WD usb3 1TB was exactly what I had in mind to buy for my tv....
Can you give any recommendations for a drive which will work very well on this tv.

Many thanks

Bob

Lafaurie80
08-13-2012, 01:27 PM
Just bought a 32G USB key... thinking that that would be the best and cheapest solution, hearing about those spin-on power limits.... 25€ !

But when the formatting started, the machine told me: "at least 48G needed.... and recommended to use a 25OG or more H/D"...

Wasn't this really not something on which Philips could have send a warning: here , or in the start-up manual. No, this is not funny !

Would the WE "Elements" 1TB (USB2.0...an old one I have on my computer) be good enough ? Or are there any better suggestions ?

Bob

Amazone
08-13-2012, 03:58 PM
Just bought a 32G USB key... thinking that that would be the best and cheapest solution, hearing about those spin-on power limits.... 25€ !

But when the formatting started, the machine told me: "at least 48G needed.... and recommended to use a 25OG or more H/D"...

Wasn't this really not something on which Philips could have send a warning: here , or in the start-up manual. No, this is not funny !

Would the WE "Elements" 1TB (USB2.0...an old one I have on my computer) be good enough ? Or are there any better suggestions ?

Bob

I am sorry to hear you made that mistake.
I got a warning before format that you needed 250gb for recording... the 32gb would function for nettv downloading of movies etc

The WE ''Elements sounds fine, USB2 is a safe choice (is it a My book with powersupply?)
External powersupply is also a safe choice.