PDA

View Full Version : HTS8100 very low volume even I max the volume setting



ericcsz
08-12-2012, 12:14 AM
Hi all,

My HTS8100 was doing just fine until 2 days ago when the volume stopped working properly. I have to turn the volume to the max to only hear a very faint sound coming from the TV / cd etc.

I have updated the firmware, completely unplugged the system and reset everything with no luck of fixing the problem. Any help / suggestion will be most welcomed.

Thanks.

Regards
Eric

kwinnie
08-13-2012, 07:16 AM
suggest you to go to service centre to have a check. suspect it is because some speakers inside are dead.

ericcsz
08-13-2012, 09:14 AM
Possibly... However if speakers are dead i should be hearing from the subwoofer (?) but none coming from there too.

torilion
08-13-2012, 12:56 PM
Hello,
Same problem here; even at top volume only a very low volume can be heard. It should not be in the tv audio cable as the soundbar's own cd-player shows the same problem. At Philips they said they never heard of the problem before which I find strange because on Google many results show up for this problem for this product. Also I am very disappointed as I didn't expect this product to be wasted within a period of less than 3 yrs.. Anyone knows how to fix it and what costs may be?
Thx!

ericcsz
08-13-2012, 02:23 PM
It's a shame indeed. Been googling too, dont think anyone has a solid solution or answer to it yet. I'm going to try to book it in for repair with Philips. Apparently 35 + transport cost. Hopefully they'll able to sort it out and tell me more.

torilion
08-13-2012, 02:44 PM
Right, I've no clue what may be wrong either. Please update when you know more... thx

kadsads
10-05-2012, 04:27 PM
Right, I've no clue what may be wrong either. Please update when you know more... thx

I have the EXACT same problem!

Extremely irritating. Same age of system....

Anyone have an update? Any one heard anything from PHILLIPS???

rgds,

Mike

torilion
10-05-2012, 06:55 PM
Hello,

I am also still curious to fund out. I know Ericcsz sent his device to repair service, but no update from him yet... Please let as know as we have the same problem and like to know what is wrong and what repair costs are...

Strange Philips say they don't know about this, as it must be a manufacturing error as many people have this problem. So Philips, please live up to your reputation and help us out!

kadsads
10-05-2012, 07:16 PM
Eric, Did you ever get it fixed? What did Philips say? Was it free of charge?

Jazzman91
10-08-2012, 06:28 PM
The exact same thing just happened to me. When the volume is at max ,though soft, the sound is still clear. It's quite the coincidence we're all experiencing this at the same time.

kwinnie
10-09-2012, 04:08 AM
yep, eric, if you have any updates, please let us know.

alans
10-25-2012, 03:24 PM
We have one exactly the same
happened without warning
Just low volume even at MAX

I think Philips tech should see this and make a comment as its clearly a very common and known about problem !

gabriel320
10-25-2012, 07:00 PM
We have one exactly the same
happened without warning
Just low volume even at MAX

I think Philips tech should see this and make a comment as its clearly a very common and known about problem !

i have recently encountered same problem ''HTS8100 very low volume even I max the volume setting''

PHILIPS should do something about it is clearly a mass problem.

Philips - Remko
10-26-2012, 05:44 AM
Dear users,

For the low volume please get in contact with your local call/repair center http://www.philips.com/global/country_selector.page?locale_org=gb_en

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

alans
10-26-2012, 07:22 AM
Dear users,

For the low volume please get in contact with your local call/repair center http://www.philips.com/global/country_selector.page?locale_org=gb_en

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

With respect, this information is of no use to us solving the problem
I am a City and Guilds TV audio technician and have been in the business for 40 years, yet without a "DETAILED" service manual and circuit diagram, I would not know where to start

I feel that Philips know very well of this problem but are refusing to help people

Its possibly a software problem !

lucas1970
10-26-2012, 07:27 AM
Well I used to have this product end 2007 till 2010... For me it looks like the product is to old already for any further support...its over 5 years now

Oscar
10-26-2012, 07:42 AM
@ericcsz, What was the outcome of your repair?

torilion
10-26-2012, 07:51 AM
Hello,

I think Philips must know what the problem is and what estimated costs for repair are. It would be useful if they tell us, so we can decide whether it is worthwhile to send it to repair in advance of making (unnecessary) examining costs and taking all the efforts to get it there.. So Philips please inform us..

Best regards,
Roland

kwinnie
10-26-2012, 08:02 AM
Hello,

I think Philips must know what the problem is and what estimated costs for repair are. It would be useful if they tell us, so we can decide whether it is worthwhile to send it to repair in advance of making (unnecessary) examining costs and taking all the efforts to get it there.. So Philips please inform us..

Best regards,
Roland

hi torilion,
guess this is region/ case specific info. call call centre maybe they hv such info?

hi eric,
do you hv repair cost info to provide for ref?

torilion
10-26-2012, 08:04 AM
hello kwinnie,

they say they don't know. however many people have exactly the same problem so at Philips they should know what it is somewhere... I don't understand why you think it is case or region specific since we all have the exact same uncommon problem...

Philips - Remko
10-26-2012, 09:06 AM
Dear users,

The problem described by you is an unknown issue to us. For this reason you should contact your local call center or help desk as mentioned in my earlier post.

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team

alans
10-26-2012, 04:28 PM
Dear users,

The problem described by you is an unknown issue to us. For this reason you should contact your local call center or help desk as mentioned in my earlier post.

Kind regards,
Philips Moderation Team


Help desk couldnt help !

They say minimum 49 plus vat and parts plus carriage
Carriage alone will be 60 round trip then say another 60 if we are lucky, so 120 makes it a beyond economics repair and its only less than 4 years old.

I think it is disgusting that Philips do not help their customers with this problem world wide !
If it were Samsung , they would sort it quick enough.

And the worst of it is PHILIPS CLEARLY ARE AWARE OF THIS COMMON PROBLEM OF LOW VOLUME

torilion
10-26-2012, 07:18 PM
yes, it's a shame indeed. not credible at all that they claim it is an 'unknown problem' as there are several people in this discussion already, so they must have had many of these devices in their repair department for this issue and must have heard about it on their 'helpdesk' as well I figure...

Blkspruce
11-07-2012, 06:26 PM
This cannot be an unknown issue to Phillips because it is posted in their Forum as well as tracked in their call center. I have the same exact problem as of a month ago. We all spent a great deal of money on this product when it was new and cannot believe it only lasted less than 5 years. I could live with the disk door sticking but no sound does not help me at all. Please Phillips get back to us on this so we know how to repair as this should not be a "disposable" unit.

Oscar
11-08-2012, 05:32 AM
If it is posted in the forum doesnt mean they (philips) know it I think. The only way looks service so there they can see what happens. One user ericcsz went to repair as it looks but did not come back unfortunatly to tell what the outcome was....
Anybody else already tried?

ANOR
11-12-2012, 12:16 PM
Hi,
This spring I had the same thing happening with my HTS 8100. Only low sound at maximum volume setting (for all sources, being radio, cd, dvd or external (digital). I tried a firmware update, but no improvement.

However, a month ago, I went on a long trip and disconnected my appliances completely, also the HTS8100. When I came back last week and connected the system again it WORKED!!! It behaved completly normal, volume and all. I was of course very happy. This happiness lasted for a day, after going to stand-by for the night, the problem reappeared the next morning when switching on. Whats going on?
I now suspect its an amplifier circuit not coming online, or a dampening (protective) circuit beeing activated.


Anyone had succsess in doing repairs?. I dont want to send it away if no solution is available or the repair beeing to costly?

Regards

ANOR
11-15-2012, 11:04 AM
UPDATE: I left the system unplugged overnight. When reconnecting the next morning it worked perfectly again. I get the low volume situation sometimes when going to the stand-by or low pwr mode. A possible work-around is to leave the system completely unplugged for some time (overnight?). It works for me at least some of the times. This of course is not a satisfactory solution, but for the moment the only one....? (apart from buying a new one of course).

GODDIE8100
11-20-2012, 05:43 AM
Similar issue here and its very very frustrating, mine worked great for about a year and a half and that was it, about six months ago I called up philips tech support for advice and they recommend the firmware upgrade which I had already tried with no luck. They then recommended that I call up a third party vendor for better software and when I did, they had no idea what I was talking about so I went down to a local tech who was stumped as well because of the luck of any acknowledgement from Philips that the NO SOUND issue that many of us are experiencing is legitimate and the multiple attempts at the firmware upgrade haven't help.
I personally appeal to the Philips Moderator assigned to this forum to take time out of your busy schedule and tke to whoever you have to talk to and legitimize this issue because clearly there is a patent of your company's award winning product having issues with producing sound yet the promised sound experience was the main reason we all went out to buy your company's Home Theather System. I think that's only fair to ask of a reputable company with a flagship name PHILIPS.

GODDIE8100
11-20-2012, 06:23 AM
Similar issue here and its very very frustrating, mine worked great for about a year and a half and that was it, about six months ago I called up philips tech support for advice and they recommend the firmware upgrade which I had already tried with no luck. They then recommended that I call up a third party vendor for better software and when I did, they had no idea what I was talking about so I went down to a local tech who was stumped as well because of the luck of any acknowledgement from Philips that the NO SOUND issue that many of us are experiencing is legitimate and the multiple attempts at the firmware upgrade haven't help.
I personally appeal to the Philips Moderator assigned to this forum to take time out of your busy schedule and tke to whoever you have to talk to and legitimize this issue because clearly there is a patent of your company's award winning product having issues with producing sound yet the promised sound experience was the main reason we all went out to buy your company's Home Theather System. I think that's only fair to ask of a reputable company with a flagship name PHILIPS.

Oscar
11-20-2012, 08:26 AM
But this does not look like a fw issue at all but more like a technical failure

cmholmes
11-22-2012, 04:04 AM
Hi all, Has anyone been able get a answer from Philips on how to resolve the low sound issue. My sound bar was in with Philips with the same issue and the motherboard was replaced. at a cost of R1800 - ( 100 ponds) It came back with the same problem (although the repair place (Philips appointed) said it was working fine. I sent it back again. techno person says they ran for days no problem. As soon as I get it back same issue. don't think it my TV as the radio on the sound bar also goes low sound as well. Please help.

kwinnie
11-22-2012, 07:54 AM
this is quite strange that the service said it works and when you bring it home it doesnt.
just wondering if the service can show you it works in the service centre? anyway, i think they shud fix this for you with 100 ponds paid...

kwinnie
11-22-2012, 07:55 AM
for me, i think it can be amplifier board failure / output capacitor issue... cud you ask the workshop to have these checked?

theBrav
12-21-2012, 05:48 PM
I have the HTS8100, I also have a Philips 52, 42, 32, and 26 HDTV, two BluRay players, $1000's in LED light bulbs, DVD upconverte, Philips Shaver, Philips Sonicare, and I even bought a Defib for my parents. I always appreciated Philips branded items because they looked good and were of high quality. I'm now an adult who finds himself working for Philips Healthcare and am very proud of that fact.

Even my Christmas lights are Philips because I want to support the company. All that said, I tried calling the support center and they did not offer any viable solutions. This device was too expensive at initial purchase for Philips to hint that 5 years could at all represent wear and tear. I thought it was funny that another member pointed out the sticky door, I too have that issue but don't care because when it works - it's great. Usually I'm watching at audio level 5 or 7 (and if the kids are too loud 11) but right now I need to raise it to 20+ to hear what sounds like a whisper. Very disappointing. I will try to unplug and force myself to listen to the TV speakers only, they are plenty loud enough but I love my HTS8100 BASS and Ambisound.

We need a real solution from Uncle Phil - not a 1-800 number that typically leads us to an English as a 2nd or 3rd language call center.

All signs point to either a hardware issue that's failing at the same time in the field - we deserve a resolution for our investment into Philips products.

del boy
12-23-2012, 12:27 PM
Exactly the same has happened with mine 3 weeks ago. Low sound even at 34 volume. The CD door hasn't opened automatically for 3 years. Bought in 2007 at a very expensive price.

From reading this forum Philips obviously know the fault but for reasons best known to them they don't want to acknowledge it.

In the UK there is a consumer BBC program called Watchdog (available to contact on line) which names and shames companies for shoddy goods and customer service. Even if Philips don't do anything if it is featured on the program at least 12 million people who watch the program will know to avoid Philips goods in the future. I certainly shall.

The only way to make these companies who offer bad service to change their ways is to hit them in the profits. I suggest spreading the word via facebook and twitter as well. This may make them sit up and listen.

Oscar
12-27-2012, 10:20 AM
Hi,

On the 26/10 the answer was given by Philips that this is a unknown issue to them. Personnaly I think also that there is no other solution here then service as this looks like as said by user Kwinnie amplifier board failure / output capacitor issue.

Did somebody have this changed already?

Jingo11
12-30-2012, 12:35 PM
Exactly the same has happened with mine 3 weeks ago. Low sound even at 34 volume. The CD door hasn't opened automatically for 3 years. Bought in 2007 at a very expensive price.

From reading this forum Philips obviously know the fault but for reasons best known to them they don't want to acknowledge it.

In the UK there is a consumer BBC program called Watchdog (available to contact on line) which names and shames companies for shoddy goods and customer service. Even if Philips don't do anything if it is featured on the program at least 12 million people who watch the program will know to avoid Philips goods in the future. I certainly shall.

The only way to make these companies who offer bad service to change their ways is to hit them in the profits. I suggest spreading the word via facebook and twitter as well. This may make them sit up and listen.

Exactly the same here, door sticks a tad ,,, always has but that was something i could live with but the sound issue!! well that is somjething i cannot
Like many many others,, on this forum as well as other forums, mine started to play up losing its sound but when turning it all off it returned. originally you only had to flick the switch off and back on again but then it got worse in that you had to leave it longer and longer unplugged also the amount of useage timme you got from the system was reducing until it no longer made anything other than the whispering sound at full volume.
I was really reluctant to abandon this system but after several months trying to get this fixed I have had to buy a dedicated AVamp which not only annoyed me due to the cost aspect but mainly because the HTS8100 looks/sounds and WAS a great system but Philips themselves have shown themselves to be incompetant and i believe liars ( due to the fact that they say that they know nothing of this problem when it is a well documented problem)
I have always believed a rpoduct is only as good as the back support if it is needed ( which unfortuately as we all kniow occasionally things can go wrong,,,, we accept this, but HOW it is dealt with is what shiws how a company is and in this case it is abisimal !!

This was not a CHEAP product by any step of the imagination which just adda to the soreness f the problem
Like many of people on here i went for a what i thought of was a trusted brand...How wrong was I.
I buy many electrical products and have always liked to keep up with the latest products and in the main I try to buy Good/Well known nd trusted brands and if ii believe them to be a good product I try to promote them as such through friends and contacts so when this sort of treatment comes along it goes totally the other way...which is a shame

I am thinking of just using the subwoofer enclosure and sub itself and turning it into a passive sub as it seems to be only fit for the rubbish tip. I will NOT be buying another Philips product and will be advising the same, relaying my experience in this matter, to anyone i can think of for whom it may help.
Someone mentioned about Facebook...I think that that is a very good idea and will put down my whole experience including the treatment and amount of wasted monies. Hopefully this will help others not going into a purchase from Philips with their eyes closed and can hopefully come up on search engines.

The stupid thing is is that all most of us want is at least to know what the KNOWN problem is so we can fix it adn not just guess as to what it can be...at least that would be a start

Damian35
01-18-2013, 09:56 PM
Nobody should go to Philips with this problem. Go back to the store you bought the unit and tell them you want it repaired or replaced, they will tell you to contact philips for a repair, DO NOT SEND IT BACK! Tell the shop that under the Supply and Sales of Goods act 1982 (look it up) you have a contract with them , not philips, all electrical equipment is covered by a 7 year warranty for manufacture faults, they have to repair or replace free of charge as they sold you goods not of merchantable quality. The shops and manufactures do not want you to know this but its true.

Damian35
01-18-2013, 09:58 PM
here is a copy of the act for anyone who wants to follow it up

dmoneyinc
01-20-2013, 06:11 PM
Same issue here and so far no solution. It's sad actually, I used to work for one of their third party call centers here in Tampa, FL back in 2006-2008 "CGS". This kind of thing always happens and Philips is quick to toss the idea of it being their fault right out of the door. If there is enough people we could actually have something legally done about this. Everyone has their rights to a solid product, and for everyone to experience the same issue around the same time proves that the product it's self was designed to fail after a certain point. Unless however this is all a coincidence, either way still a fail. I was with the company for some time and I for one have been disgusted with how many people I had to turn away due to them being out of warranty. Philips does not care trust me when I tell you that. These people make so much money that to them it's not to much of an issue of the consumer is experiencing issues with a product that is supposed to be gold! This is one of the main reasons why CGS no longer has the contract with Philips/Magnavox and I for one was happy about it. The product is great only if it is still under warranty. I can tell you all right now that we are not going to get anywhere in this forum or calling or going to an ASC. We need to take legal action that is the only way to get these peoples attention trust me!

dmoneyinc
01-20-2013, 06:11 PM
They will not approve my post due to it being correct sad sad Philips.

dmoneyinc
01-20-2013, 06:15 PM
That is two times I attempt to reply to this post, and again these people will not allow my post to publicized.

Jaygrant
01-31-2013, 08:33 AM
Hi I have the same problems with the sticking door and the loss of sound. Tried turning off all day, unplugging etc. sound lasts for about 1 hour and then goes off until you turn off and on again - then same every 10 or 15 minutes. Got to say from reading the thread, terribly disappointed. The system was expensive 5 years ago and Phillips obviously in denial about the issue - head in the sand. Well I will never buy another Phillips product and will ensure that I spread the word as far as possible. I thought there was supposed to be some sort of repercussions on companies with such poor customer service standards? I actually feel ripped off - a 5 year disposable sound system. Will look for a way to spread the word as far as possible. What about everyone in Uk writing to Sunday Times and register it with Watchdog?

riccolesmana
02-08-2013, 04:45 AM
Wow, apparently I am not the only one who having the exact same issue. I was thinking that this thread is an old thread and no activity for a long time.

I purchased this unit four years ago (2009), it works normally as it should for two years (2011). But all of a sudden the unit has went down and only able to produce low volume, besides the door is also stuck. So I tried to upgrade the firmware, but it does not help anything. Since this unit has not been turned on since two years, I decided to plug this unit back - again, the volume and the door does not repaired itself (of course).

Couple days ago, I have delivered my unit to authorised service center to repair this glitch. I have not know the service cost, but I hope it will not be costing me a lot.

riccolesmana
02-15-2013, 09:54 AM
So yesterday I got contacted back from Phillips Service Centre, and they told me that the power supply and the enclosing rubber inside the door is sort of melt. It costs me IDR 740.300 (USD 75) for both spare parts and service. I'm happy the spare parts are available, due this product is kinda too old.

edit:

I have received back the unit yesterday. The Power Supply Unit (PSU) has been replaced and now it's working perfectly again. Specifically the PSU costs 55 bucks. Another 20 bucks were spent for the belt for the door and the service.

Drlnguptx
03-13-2013, 11:21 PM
So yesterday I got contacted back from Phillips Service Centre, and they told me that the power supply and the enclosing rubber inside the door is sort of melt. It costs me IDR 740.300 (USD 75) for both spare parts and service. I'm happy the spare parts are available, due this product is kinda too old.

edit:

I have received back the unit yesterday. The Power Supply Unit (PSU) has been replaced and now it's working perfectly again. Specifically the PSU costs 55 bucks. Another 20 bucks were spent for the belt for the door and the service.

************************************************** ****************
I do alot of searching on the internet and have successfully repaired many items through what I learn.
I read over this post when I first started searching for a resolution for My Phillips equipment. Understand that there are alot of politics and lawyers involved in making decisions at a corporation...
However, I am usually a one to two post guy to those who REALLY need the help. Being that there is NO solution that I could find on the internet, I figured I'd go ahead and see if this would resolves someone's issue without costing them anymore in repair or heart ache! lol

Here is how I repaired my problem...no sound. I cannot vouch for the door jams....
My problem was found within the sub woofer. This is where the power supply is located. Best i can tell without schematics is that there is a primary and secondary power unit contained within the power supply. One powers the the amplifier board and the other powers the sound bar.
Do this at your own risk!
Remove the board (further most lower board contained in the subwoofer, watch out because there are some tricky screws to remove) and you will notice that there are two IDENTICAL electrolyte capacitors ( if you don't know what one looks like, google it) on ONE the side of the board. Mine are marked> 200V 330uf 85C. Without going into the circuitry of how I discovered that the ONE was faulty and the OTHER was on its way faulty, replace them. Don't attempt to replace them with a different value as the original as failure is sure to occur. Spend the extra money and get the exact voltage, micro-farad and most importantly, temperature.... I can go on and on about how they are applied within the circuitry, I have a feeling that no one would really care about it! Just know that the circuitry is set to rely on the primary capacitor , which will eventually lead to another failure...If this is your issue, you will see that there is wear around the plastic of one of the capacitors. My unit has been running for a few days now, so be confident that if, indeed, yours has this same issue, this will fix it.

Good luck! And I hope it resolves your issue...:)

fduvall
03-18-2013, 09:28 AM
My unit just started with this problem last week. Have had it for approx 4 yrs and really happy with the performance. But the CD/DVD door has always been problematic and now with the sound problems, the unit is almost unusable. Anyone else find a fix, short of a do it yourself repair?

fduvall


************************************************** ****************
I do alot of searching on the internet and have successfully repaired many items through what I learn.
I read over this post when I first started searching for a resolution for My Phillips equipment. Understand that there are alot of politics and lawyers involved in making decisions at a corporation...
However, I am usually a one to two post guy to those who REALLY need the help. Being that there is NO solution that I could find on the internet, I figured I'd go ahead and see if this would resolves someone's issue without costing them anymore in repair or heart ache! lol

Here is how I repaired my problem...no sound. I cannot vouch for the door jams....
My problem was found within the sub woofer. This is where the power supply is located. Best i can tell without schematics is that there is a primary and secondary power unit contained within the power supply. One powers the the amplifier board and the other powers the sound bar.
Do this at your own risk!
Remove the board (further most lower board contained in the subwoofer, watch out because there are some tricky screws to remove) and you will notice that there are two IDENTICAL electrolyte capacitors ( if you don't know what one looks like, google it) on ONE the side of the board. Mine are marked> 200V 330uf 85C. Without going into the circuitry of how I discovered that the ONE was faulty and the OTHER was on its way faulty, replace them. Don't attempt to replace them with a different value as the original as failure is sure to occur. Spend the extra money and get the exact voltage, micro-farad and most importantly, temperature.... I can go on and on about how they are applied within the circuitry, I have a feeling that no one would really care about it! Just know that the circuitry is set to rely on the primary capacitor , which will eventually lead to another failure...If this is your issue, you will see that there is wear around the plastic of one of the capacitors. My unit has been running for a few days now, so be confident that if, indeed, yours has this same issue, this will fix it.

Good luck! And I hope it resolves your issue...:)

fduvall
03-19-2013, 12:45 PM
Are there any Moderators still looking at this thread? I just got off the phone with Philips Support in the UK, but they could not help me since I am in Spain. But they did tell me that there is no real information on this problem and it is NOT a "known issue." Or it is not a common issue. I would like to know if I can repair the problem myself, by installing a few capacitors, as was suggested earlier in the thread. If not, I will look for a Philips Authorized repair near Barcelona. Unfortunately, it seems the closest is in Manresa, which is not so close!

Would appreciate any advice from the Thread Moderator(s).

marco.schouwenaar
05-19-2013, 07:31 PM
Laat ik nu ook dit probleem ondervinden. Normaal staat het volume op 3 of 4. Nu moet ik tot 20 gaan en hoor enig geluid. Zelfs op de max is het niet overdreven.
Wat kan het zijn??