PDA

View Full Version : 46PFL9706K, DLNA, 2 sound tracks: No Sound played



Chew
09-07-2012, 04:52 PM
Hi all,

I'd like to stream my videos via DLNA from Windows Media Player to my 46PFL9706K TV. My videos are in MP4 format using h264 and AAC encodings. When playing videos with only one AAC sound track, everything is fine. But when I try to play a video file with two or more AAC sound tracks, I end up having no sound at all.

Windows Media Player itself or VLC both play the sound for the very same video file.

I create my videos using handbrake and I tried to reencode one video with xmedia-recode but it didn't help.

Have any of you experienced related issues? Are there some tipps you could give me? Because, frankly, I'm out of ideas here :-)

Regards,

Erik

Philips - Benedickte
09-10-2012, 01:09 PM
Hi all,

I'd like to stream my videos via DLNA from Windows Media Player to my 46PFL9706K TV. My videos are in MP4 format using h264 and AAC encodings. When playing videos with only one AAC sound track, everything is fine. But when I try to play a video file with two or more AAC sound tracks, I end up having no sound at all.

Windows Media Player itself or VLC both play the sound for the very same video file.

I create my videos using handbrake and I tried to reencode one video with xmedia-recode but it didn't help.

Have any of you experienced related issues? Are there some tipps you could give me? Because, frankly, I'm out of ideas here :-)

Regards,

Erik

Hi Erik.

Welcome to the forums.

The reason why you don't get any sound when playing a file with 2 or more audio tracks is because the TV's only supports 1 audio track over DLNA.

Best regards,
Benedickte.

Chew
09-10-2012, 01:16 PM
Thank you both for the welcome and your reply.

Well, that's almost too easy then, of course. I thought I had read about other Philips TVs that only used the first of multiple audio streams, but still at least played the first one - while mine remains silent.
Is this a software issue to be addressed some time or will it stay this way?

Best regards,

Erik

Philips - Benedickte
09-10-2012, 01:30 PM
Thank you both for the welcome and your reply.

Well, that's almost too easy then, of course. I thought I had read about other Philips TVs that only used the first of multiple audio streams, but still at least played the first one - while mine remains silent.
Is this a software issue to be addressed some time or will it stay this way?

Best regards,

Erik

Hi again Erik.

I will have a second look into this. Could you please share the media info of one of the files not playing with 2 audio tracks?

BR,
Benedickte

Chew
09-10-2012, 04:17 PM
Hello,

thank you very much for the second look. I had to get home first to get my hands on the media info. Here it is:

General
Complete name : C:\Users\Chew\Videos\test_two_aac_1.m4v
Format : MPEG-4
Codec ID : M4V
File size : 118 MiB
Duration : 7mn 19s
Overall bit rate : 2 261 Kbps
Writing application : Lavf54.25.104
Xtra : WM/MediaClassPrimaryID

Video
ID : 1
Format : MPEG-4 Visual
Format profile : Simple@L1
Format settings, BVOP : No
Format settings, QPel : No
Format settings, GMC : No warppoints
Format settings, Matrix : Default (H.263)
Codec ID : 20
Duration : 7mn 19s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 999 Kbps
Width : 720 pixels
Height : 572 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Compression mode : Lossy
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.194
Stream size : 105 MiB (88%)
Writing library : Lavc54.55.100

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 7mn 18s
Duration_LastFrame : -10ms
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 128 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 44.1 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 6.69 MiB (6%)
Language : English

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 7mn 18s
Duration_LastFrame : -10ms
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 128 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 44.1 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 6.69 MiB (6%)
Language : German

Is there anything else you need to know? I could also post the advanced media info, which would be quite lengthy.

Best regards,

Erik

Chew
09-11-2012, 08:35 AM
Hello,

Firstly, thank you for the second look!

I have attached the media info for a test video file that wouldn't play sound over DLNA.

As a side note: When I convert this file into a 3GP file with two audio tracks, the TV plays one of the tracks. But I'd rather have MP4 files (or m4v for that matter).

Best regards,

Erik

Philips - Benedickte
09-13-2012, 10:32 AM
Hello,

Firstly, thank you for the second look!

I have attached the media info for a test video file that wouldn't play sound over DLNA.

As a side note: When I convert this file into a 3GP file with two audio tracks, the TV plays one of the tracks. But I'd rather have MP4 files (or m4v for that matter).

Best regards,

Erik

Hi Erik.

Thank you for the mediainfo.

Have you tried playing these MP4 files with 2 audiotracks from a USB and how is the result of this?

Could you please provide us with a MP4 file that has 2 audiotracks?

Thank you.
Best regards,
Benedickte

Chew
09-13-2012, 09:09 PM
Hello Benedickte.

I copied a test file to a USB stick and connected that stick to the TV. First, the video wasn't displayed by the TV. I changed the file's extension from ".m4v" to ".mp4". After that, the video on the USB stick was listed. Still no sound however.

I have sent you a download link to the very same test video (still with .m4v extension however) in a PN.

Thank you very much for having a look into this.

Best regards,

Erik

Philips - Benedickte
09-14-2012, 09:35 AM
Hello Benedickte.

I copied a test file to a USB stick and connected that stick to the TV. First, the video wasn't displayed by the TV. I changed the file's extension from ".m4v" to ".mp4". After that, the video on the USB stick was listed. Still no sound however.

I have sent you a download link to the very same test video (still with .m4v extension however) in a PN.

Thank you very much for having a look into this.

Best regards,

Erik

Hi Erik.

Thank you so much.

Could you please confirm to me what DLNA media servers you have tried? and if the same as stated in first post, could you please try another server (example: twonky, tversity, ushare, mediatomb) and post the result back?

Best regards,
Benedickte

Chew
09-16-2012, 04:11 PM
Hi Erik.

Thank you so much.

Could you please confirm to me what DLNA media servers you have tried? and if the same as stated in first post, could you please try another server (example: twonky, tversity, ushare, mediatomb) and post the result back?

Best regards,
Benedickte

Hello Benedickte.

Thank you for your response.

Originally, I only tried the Windows 7 Home Premium built-in Windows Media Player to stream my media.
Following your post I have installed twonky and tversity (ushare and mediatomb don't seem to offer Windows binaries). Except for configuring the path to my test videos, I used the default settings of both programs respectively. The results were just like before: A video with one audio tracks would play fine, with two audio track file I sent to you, the TV remains silent.

Is there anything else I could try? I already thought of resetting my TV to factory defaults, but then refrained from it since I don't know if it would do anything good. I would rather rely on the specialists :-)

Thus, thank you very much for investigating!

Best Regards,

Erik

P.S.
As an additional test I tried to play the very same video offered by all three DLNA Servers installed (WMP, Twonky, Tversity) on my PS3. This works fine, audio is played here.
I also tried the video to play from another Windows 7 PC with WMP, still no luck regarding sound.

Chew
10-11-2012, 01:29 PM
Hi Benedickte.

I'd like to kindly ask whether there are any new findings regarding my problem. Does the file I delivered to you play well for you?

Best regards,

Erik

Philips - Benedickte
10-11-2012, 03:08 PM
Hi Benedickte.

I'd like to kindly ask whether there are any new findings regarding my problem. Does the file I delivered to you play well for you?

Best regards,

Erik

Hi Erik.

I have passed this on to the development and they are looking at the issue you are experiencing.
I will let you know as soon as I got an answer :)

Best regards,
Benedickte

Philips - Benedickte
03-07-2013, 10:44 AM
Hi Benedickte.

I'd like to kindly ask whether there are any new findings regarding my problem. Does the file I delivered to you play well for you?

Best regards,

Erik

Hi Erik.

Are you still experiencing this?
What software version is installed on your TV?

Best regards,
Benedickte

Chew
03-10-2013, 08:03 AM
Hello Benedickte.

Thank you for coming back to me regarding this issue. Yes, the problem still persists, I haven't been able to solve it on my own.
The software installed is:

Momentane Software: Q5551-0.14.99.0
Versionshinweise: Release for TV550R3:
Q5551-0.14.99.0_bld78a

Generation date: <blank>

(i.e. there is no generation data given). I have never done a software upgrade on the TV and when I try now, it still says "No updates available". The TV's software version is the one the TV shipped a year ago.

Thank you!

Best regards,

Erik