PDA

View Full Version : MKV file issue



lovelyballu
09-11-2012, 05:43 AM
Hello Friends.....

I am using BDP7500SL/51 . I have an issue with playing of mkv files through USB. Every mkv file plays with normal sound output but the picture is distorted and plays as if every thing is crumbled up with breaking pixels.


Please anybody need help. Any suggesstions to solve this issue.

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 09:45 AM
Hi,
I got the same problem here. Problem seems to be the file system it's using (FAT32). It can read NTFS with smaller files like mp3 and jpeg, but when it comes to video it's no good... It won't read files bigger then 4Gig propperly in NTFS formatted USB connections.

Philips we need an UPDATE here! Who uses FAT32 anyway these days... It's to old...

Toengel
10-05-2012, 09:47 AM
Hi,

the BDP7500SL is a 2009 device and as far as I know, you won't get a feature-update for that BDP.

Toengel@Alex

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 09:51 AM
It's not only about this type of BDP, it's about all the BDP philips has... Not one can read NTFS files correct. So an update is needed for all the systems...

Toengel
10-05-2012, 10:02 AM
Hi,

NTFS is supported since 2010 models (at least beginning of 7000 series).

Toengel@Alex

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 10:05 AM
Dear Toengel,

Pls advise! Why can i not play my MKV file correctly through USB then?
MKV files will only play well over DLNA and not over USB (with NTFS).

FAT32 is no option because the files are to big for FAT32

What to do then?

Toengel
10-05-2012, 10:16 AM
Hi,

you can only buy a new BDP or a HMP (e.g. HMP7000 or HMP7001). Or you format one USB stick with FAT32 and split the MKVs...

Toengel@Alex

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 10:24 AM
Toengel

I just received my new BDP7700 this week and it wont plays the MKV file propperly over USB.
So what new model do you sugguest then?

Still, if NTFS is supported for these devices > it doesn't work like it should, right?
Won't Philips do something about this?

Toengel
10-05-2012, 10:34 AM
HI,

ok - the 7700 is a 2012 device - and it supports NTFS...

Did you installed the latest firmware (see support website!)? Did you make a factory reset after that?

Toengel@Alex

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 11:06 AM
Dear Toengel,

Firmware V3.46
Forgot about the factory reset after updating! Great, it works proper now!!!;)

Thx man, i am very glad with this option working!

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 11:17 AM
ow second, i was using an ADATA USB3.0 16Gig stick in NTFS format.
So a USB3.0 sticks can work backward compatible on the BDP7700

Tested with a
MKV video file (8Gig) 1920 x 800
Photo JPEG file (4Mb) 4000x 3000
Music MP3 file (16Mb) 320kbps


Now only one problem is left... correct subtilte display for MKV

Toengel
10-05-2012, 11:21 AM
Hi,

great - what is the problem with subs?

Toengel@Alex

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 11:29 AM
Thank you for asking Toengel!

Subtitles > these seem only to be displayed in one type of format: But the displayed format is,
- to big...&
- not sharp
- i cant possition the subs on the screen

I would like to change font, size, & maybe the colour if possible?
I am using:
MKV merge
MKV extract
Subtitle Edit 3.0

I tried to resize, changed the font, changed .srt files to .ssa etc. But MKV subtitles only displays in one type of format on my BDP7700.

Toengel
10-05-2012, 11:41 AM
Hi,

I think, this won't be changed on the current BDPs...

Toengel@Alex

bjeunink
10-05-2012, 11:49 AM
Toengel,

I heard about a upcomming new 7000 series this month.
Does these BDP support such subtitle features?

Pls. advise

Toengel
10-05-2012, 12:51 PM
Hi,

I don't know - but personally I don't think so...

Toengel@Alex

bjeunink
10-08-2012, 11:48 AM
Hi,

I think, this won't be changed on the current BDPs...

Toengel@Alex


Dear Toengel,

After testing again today i found out the following:

As explained before the MKV subtiltes are not displayed correctly > to big & with long sentences they get out of screen...

Today i tested with an external .srt subtitle on my external HDD on my BDP7700. The subtitle has the same name as the video file with .srt extension. This time the subtitles were displayed correctly.

I also tried this over DLNA. Now the external subtitle will not load, only the internals from the MKV files.

So it seems to be: that subtitles can only be loaded correctly when they are external and loaded from a HDD.:confused:

I hope Philips can do something about this. Please reply.

Gr. Bram

keirawatson
10-18-2012, 04:47 AM
You need to find out what video types your media player supports, or perhaps there is a firmware update for the device so it will support more media types.

bjeunink
10-18-2012, 07:04 AM
Keira Watson,

Did you read, page 1 of 2?

torrreto
11-26-2012, 08:40 AM
hi, i have the 7700 and it cant play the subtitles from the usb,at the 3d movies only.
i allready have the update 3.53 but nothing.
please help

kwinnie
11-26-2012, 08:51 AM
what is the format of the subtitle?

torrreto
11-26-2012, 11:20 AM
hi, its about greek subtitles and the format is .srt

Toengel
11-26-2012, 11:25 AM
Hi,

just upload somewhere the SRT file... so Philips can test it (one can use the file with any video file - only need to rename it accordingly to the video file name).

Toengel@Alex

torrreto
11-26-2012, 11:41 AM
hi Alex
i renamed the srt file as the mkv file but is not working

kwinnie
11-27-2012, 01:23 AM
hi torreto, :)
Alex means you can send the srt to Philips moderator so that they can test it. Since your case is specifically for 3d video, suggest you can trim a small part of the video also...