PDA

View Full Version : Your experiences with FW v0.14.101 for 5806, 6000 and 7000 series (2011 models)



Philips - Benedickte
10-01-2012, 02:21 PM
Hi all

14.101 is online.

Please share your experiences with this new SW version here in this topic. Channeling your input will make it easier for users to search and find relevant info.

Remarks
- Due to the global IT structure, there might be a delay in the uploading/synchronising of new SW releases (and their release notes). Please, have a little patience if you cannot immediately see the new files on the support web pages and try 1 or 2 days later.
- IMPORTANT: After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start": after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 2 minutes (till all components are shut down), unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for a few minutes before starting again.
Changelog:

Subtitle is not synchronized with the video.
Subtitle is shown in strange colours

Best regards,
Benedickte

romario_ne
10-02-2012, 07:23 AM
WOW!!!
The best firmware "upgrade" I have ever seen!!!!
You have a lot of problem with quality and functionality! So why do you made changes in subtitle`s showing???
I think many peoples asked you to resolve this "problem".
Am I right?
LOL LOL LOL
Dear Philips! YOU DO NOT WANT TO WORK! PLEASE LISTEN TO THE USERS OF YOUR POOR PRODUCTS, OR YOU WILL LOSE EVEN THEM!!!

AndreasP
10-02-2012, 06:41 PM
Hi!
I can confirm that my issue with the distorted subtitles on National Geographic channel seems to be corrected. No distortions so far! :) Good work!

Thank you, hope you can fix the other issues in the future... (reboots, slow menu, TV Guide not always workning = no watching on my recordings......)

Best Regards!

Nikkel
10-02-2012, 07:57 PM
Since update of HTS7201 and 47PFL7606 the HTS menu is no longer integrated in the TV menu. Regardless some cold starts of both products. Have this equipment 1 year now and there are always some issues. Very very dissappointing..

matteo.k
10-02-2012, 08:49 PM
So again the "Random Black Screen"-Problem isn't solved yet, which is very annoying...

pacific
10-02-2012, 08:57 PM
Dear Moderator,

Would there be a firmware upgrade for PFL6606H, to remove the visual artifacts around fast-moving objects (even sometimes around slow moving objects), caused after turning ON the HD Natural Motion in the Pixel Plus HD menu?

I got a 40PFL6606H because of its 400 Hz PMR/HD Natural Motion feature. But I can not use this feature because it results in a negative impact on the overall quality, leaving visual artifacts around fast-moving objects. Tried HD Natural Motion - Minimum, Medium & Maximum settings, but no luck!

I hope this issue could be resolved soon :)

Thanks,
PK

L1Zeeman
10-03-2012, 01:27 PM
New bugs:

#1 "Resume playback" causes player to hang: picture freeze, sound hangs in a loop of about 1 second.
This bug is reproducable.
#2 Several "channel update available" messages per day. If you run a channel update it results in no channels added or deleted.


@ Philips. please check if you can confirm bug #1

Rgds,
Leen

desight
10-03-2012, 05:18 PM
Hi all

14.101 is online.

Please share your experiences with this new SW version here in this topic. Channeling your input will make it easier for users to search and find relevant info.

Remarks
- Due to the global IT structure, there might be a delay in the uploading/synchronising of new SW releases (and their release notes). Please, have a little patience if you cannot immediately see the new files on the support web pages and try 1 or 2 days later.
- IMPORTANT: After upgrading your TV, it is necessary to perform a "cold start": after the TV is running again (after the update), shut down the TV, wait 2 minutes (till all components are shut down), unplug the TV from the mains (pull power cord) for a few minutes before starting again.
Changelog:

Subtitle is not synchronized with the video.
Subtitle is shown in strange colours

Best regards,
Benedickte





Huge changelog =))) i'm impressed! and what about MKV 3D playback from built in player? is there any chance to fix the annoying ghosting on any movie, and bring back the compatibilities to play them like in 000.014.084.000?
by the way... this bug is fully reproducible!!! Any suggestion??

_Luke_
10-05-2012, 10:57 AM
Now understand why in the mega store your TV products there aren't! Once upon a time the Philips quality producer of TV

el_lama
10-05-2012, 01:00 PM
Not happy with the update. I was watching Champions League in HD yesterday and saw so many macroblogs, ghosting (on closes up of the running player). It was very visible when there was only player with green grass background.
The other thing is cracking sound when playing of USB (mkv). It seems to be random though annoying.
And the last ... HbbTV does not work/not fixed for CZ country! Cant believe that you cant make it working after 6 months. Have contacted local support and received typical blabla ... Philips is working on ..., cant say anything, cant promise anything ... gosh.

doener
10-07-2012, 01:56 PM
I have some strange issues with HDMI and ARC with my Philips 7606k02
I the problems below are where also there with older .99 Firmware.

I recently bought a Panasonic sc-htb20 2.1 Sound-System which is connected over HDMI ARC.
It starts and turns-off together with the TV as expected also the volume is adjustable with the Philips Remote. The TV gives no feedback when changing the volume but thats ok. So until here everything is fine.

My TV is connected to wired network and over HDMI to sc-htb20, PS3 ,Unitimedia HD Recorder and from time to time to a PC.

DLNA -> HDMI ARC
When I stream form a computer to the TV then i have often sound drops(means 10 seconds) no sound on My Soundsystem which is connected over HDMI ARC. If i then shutdown the Sound-System the internal TV speaker just working fine. Also only with the Internal Speaker on i dont have this problem.
To Fix that i have to restart the soundsystem, or press frequent play and pause until sound returns, or wait 10-15 seconds.

HDMI -> HDMI ARC
This also happens with the PS3, Unitimeda HD Reciever and the internal TV Reciever but not that frequent like on DLNA.

PC HDMI -> HDMI ARC
Never seen that when my Acer Laptop is connected to the TV via HDMI.

MiniDisplayPort->HDMI->TV
With my MacBook Pro from Early 2012 conneted to the TV. The TV is unusable!
I cannot change the Volume, or the Channel, the TV reacts only to the Power On and Off buttons from the TV Remote. Also the HDMI devices are not powering on an off together with the TV, while my macbook is connected.

How is that even Possible?

doener
10-07-2012, 02:17 PM
HDMI-CEC -> PS3
I cannot control the PS3 with the TV remote properly.
It is a PS3 Slim with current 4.XX FW. One press on a navigation button (left,right,Up,down) on the TV-Remote results nearly all of the times in multiple button presses in the same direction.
It was working with my PS3 with 3.XX FW and a older TV FW.

L1Zeeman
10-08-2012, 04:16 PM
After evaluating FW14.101 for 1 week I can report following issues, some new and some old ones (note: most issues are not reproducable but occur at random):

#1 "Resume playback" causes player to hang: picture freeze, sound hangs in a loop of about 1 second.
This bug is reproducable.
#2 Several "channel update available" messages per day. If you run a channel update it results in no channels added or deleted.
#3 No sound after closing CSM
#4 TV shutsdown and reboots after switching channels
#5 Timeshift only starts to record after trying to acces it, so not possible to FREV to earlier parts that should be recorded.
#6 "Authentication" message overlay on top of the EPG after stopping playback of recording.
Current TV channel is playing normal in PIP, message goes away after pressing the red button.
#7 "Static" Clicks in the Audio Signal while playing HDD recording. Using FREW, repeated playback gives clicks everytime, but at different times. After stop and starting playback again the clicks are gone.
Also had these clicks in timeshift mode. (Similar clicks reported in FW14.95 till FW14.98).
#8 Ambilight continues to work after switching to stand-by.
#9 When watching a teletext page suddenly the message "No text available" is shown for a while.
#10 Recording function is blocked, message "Connect storage", but storage is connected and timeshift works, so the HDD is OK. Remedy: Disconnect and reconnect the HDD.
#11 OSD message "write error" after switching channels
#12 TV reboots after stopping playback
#13 EPG GUI doesn't load completely/properly
#14 Random bursts of macroblocks (presumably due to overload of the picture processing).
Less frequent as with FW14.99 but still not OK.

tomios
10-08-2012, 05:26 PM
My TV 42PFL7606H, when I see new update on Philips web, I go on TV and check online update. I won't work. It say that I have lastest software (not true). It's 19.99 now. Every update I've done over USB.

RomanSO
10-09-2012, 09:34 AM
There should be the special hell for all employees of technical support Philips. They will ask there about one, but there will do absolutely another to them! Again and again!!!!

desight
10-10-2012, 04:19 PM
There should be the special hell for all employees of technical support Philips. They will ask there about one, but there will do absolutely another to them! Again and again!!!!

I totaly agree with you! they always fix some other things! not remember that philips has fixed some issues that posted here!
:confused::confused::confused:

Peter Walker
10-12-2012, 12:11 PM
I am still having audio problems when playing the sound on my AV-Receiver.

TV: 42PFL7666K/02
Firmware: 000.014.101.000
No CI module installed
TV-Tuner: DVB-S(2)
TV-Channel: Channel 4 HD – Dolby Digital 2/0
Audio Output: SPDIF (Laser)
AV-Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR600E

I use the TV to receive UK TV stations via satellite. I do not have these audio problems with any BBC or ITV channels, but all the time with Channel 4 HD. So obviously there is something about the Channel 4 HD audio signal which causes the sound to briefly mute the sound, every few seconds.

The sound plays fine on the internal loudspeakers on all channels.

I have read that this problem has been reported, but hope that my observation that it applies to Channel 4 HD and not with BBC and ITV channels, might help to identify and hopefully fix the problem.

desight
10-13-2012, 11:32 AM
Ppl, some one tryed to play 3D SBS
after FW update? Im having problem to play 3D content from USB in built in Player sins i updated from 19.84 to 19.93 ! Every movie have ghosting effect! Unwatchable!!! This bug is fixed in 19.101 ??? Or is still presist???

L1Zeeman
10-16-2012, 03:18 PM
Update after testing FW14.101 for 2 weeks in bold (note: most issues are not reproducable but occur at random):

#1 "Resume playback" causes player to hang: picture freeze, sound hangs in a loop of about 1 second.
This bug is reproducable.
#2 Several "channel update available" messages per day. If you run a channel update it results in no channels added or deleted.
#3 No sound after closing CSM
#4 TV shutsdown and reboots after switching channels
#5 Timeshift only starts to record after trying to acces it, so not possible to FREV to earlier parts that should be recorded.
#6 "Authentication" message overlay on top of the EPG after stopping playback of recording.
Current TV channel is playing normal in PIP, message goes away after pressing the red button.
#7 "Static" Clicks in the Audio Signal while playing HDD recording. Using FREW, repeated playback gives clicks everytime, but at different times. After stop and starting playback again the clicks are gone.
Also had these clicks in timeshift mode. (Similar clicks reported in FW14.95 till FW14.98).
#8 Ambilight continues to work after switching to stand-by.
#9 When watching a teletext page suddenly the message "No text available" is shown for a while.
#10 Recording function is blocked, message "Connect storage", but storage is connected and timeshift works, so the HDD is OK. Remedy: Disconnect and reconnect the HDD.
#11 OSD message "write error" after switching channels
#12 TV reboots after stopping playback
#13 EPG GUI doesn't load completely/properly
#14 Random bursts of macroblocks (presumably due to overload of the picture processing).
Less frequent as with FW14.99 but still not OK.
#15 No sound after switching TV on while HDD recording is in progress
#16 Shutdown and reboot after opening a "details" page in the EPG


@Philips moderators: Is there any possibility one of you reacts on this bug list?

doener
10-19-2012, 03:01 PM
PS3 & CEC multiple Inputs send Issue

I used my TV remote often to start and control the PS3 Slim. But after a FW update of the TV and the PS3 FW 4.00 (i did both at the same time:() and it became unusable. One Button press results in multiple inputs for the PS3.

So i did now some research, I Unplugged all devices, did a complete new installation of the TV. plugged the PS3 in ... and its still the same...

But now i have reallised what the problem is!

When I press a button on the remote, the TV-Recieves multiple inputs (i can see it with the red led on my 7606k02 blinking really fast between 1x times). The TV it self seems to handle only one input, even if the led blinks multiple times. But if im connected to the PS3 Slim, it sends all events to the PS3 so there i get so many inputs like the led blinks.

So what happend with a fw update of the tv or ps3?
option 1. The Older TV 14.8X FW sended also only one input command to the ps3 over CEC.
option 2. The PS3 filtered to fast inputs from a cec device with the fw lower than 4.00 and dosent do it anymore.
option 3. my remote is broken because it sends sometimes multiple ir codes during pushing a button. ( if i try to push the button on the remote as short as possible, i get only one input, but you cant tell that your wife....)


I hope for some feedback.

Ge Someone
10-22-2012, 08:43 PM
Update after testing FW14.101 for 2 weeks

#1 "Resume playback" causes player to hang: picture freeze, sound hangs in a loop of about 1 second.
This bug is reproducable.

I confirm this bug in xx101, resuming recorded programs does not work anymore. I went back to xx99 and it worked again without problem.

#12 TV reboots after quitting the Smart TV app Uitzending gemist.

BTW this is on a pfl7606H/12

doener
10-23-2012, 09:05 AM
I am still having audio problems when playing the sound on my AV-Receiver.

TV: 42PFL7666K/02
Firmware: 000.014.101.000
No CI module installed
TV-Tuner: DVB-S(2)
TV-Channel: Channel 4 HD Dolby Digital 2/0
Audio Output: SPDIF (Laser)
AV-Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR600E

I use the TV to receive UK TV stations via satellite. I do not have these audio problems with any BBC or ITV channels, but all the time with Channel 4 HD. So obviously there is something about the Channel 4 HD audio signal which causes the sound to briefly mute the sound, every few seconds.

The sound plays fine on the internal loudspeakers on all channels.

I have read that this problem has been reported, but hope that my observation that it applies to Channel 4 HD and not with BBC and ITV channels, might help to identify and hopefully fix the problem.

This sound also a bit like my HDMI ARC problem. Which i desribe on the first page.
I also have the problem on ARTE HD.

L1Zeeman
10-25-2012, 10:59 AM
Update after testing FW14.101 for 3 weeks in bold (note: most issues are not reproducable but occur at random):

#1 "Resume playback" causes player to hang: picture freeze, sound hangs in a loop of about 1 second.
This bug is reproducable.
#2 Several "channel update available" messages per day. If you run a channel update it results in no channels added or deleted.
#3 No sound after closing CSM
#4 TV shutsdown and reboots after switching channels
#5 Timeshift only starts to record after trying to acces it, so not possible to FREV to earlier parts that should be recorded.
#6 "Authentication" message overlay on top of the EPG after stopping playback of recording.
Current TV channel is playing normal in PIP, message goes away after pressing the red button.
#7 "Static" Clicks in the Audio Signal while playing HDD recording. Using FREW, repeated playback gives clicks everytime, but at different times. After stop and starting playback again the clicks are gone.
Also had these clicks in timeshift mode. (Similar clicks reported in FW14.95 till FW14.98).
#8 Ambilight continues to work after switching to stand-by.
#9 When watching a teletext page suddenly the message "No text available" is shown for a while.
#10 Recording function is blocked, message "Connect storage", but storage is connected and timeshift works, so the HDD is OK. Remedy: Disconnect and reconnect the HDD.
#11 OSD message "write error" after switching channels
#12 TV reboots after stopping playback
#13 EPG GUI doesn't load completely/properly
#14 Random bursts of macroblocks (presumably due to overload of the picture processing).
Less frequent as with FW14.99 but still not OK.
#15 No sound after switching TV on while HDD recording is in progress
#16 Shutdown and reboot after opening a "details" page in the EPG
#17 After closing the EPG by pressing "Watch TV" in the home menu, the picture is only displayed in PIP-box format instead of full screen
#18 While watching TV suddenly the message scrambled program pops up
#19 After switching the TV on from stand-by no reception of scrambled programs
#20 While watching TV with a recording in progress suddenly the TV shuts down and restarts resulting in a failed recording
#21 Sound and picture are out of sync after switching channels.

Alex10
11-05-2012, 10:26 AM
After evaluating FW14.101 for 1 week I can report following issues, some new and some old ones (note: most issues are not reproducable but occur at random):

#1 "Resume playback" causes player to hang: picture freeze, sound hangs in a loop of about 1 second.
This bug is reproducable.
#2 Several "channel update available" messages per day. If you run a channel update it results in no channels added or deleted.
#3 No sound after closing CSM
#4 TV shutsdown and reboots after switching channels
#5 Timeshift only starts to record after trying to acces it, so not possible to FREV to earlier parts that should be recorded.
#6 "Authentication" message overlay on top of the EPG after stopping playback of recording.
Current TV channel is playing normal in PIP, message goes away after pressing the red button.
#7 "Static" Clicks in the Audio Signal while playing HDD recording. Using FREW, repeated playback gives clicks everytime, but at different times. After stop and starting playback again the clicks are gone.
Also had these clicks in timeshift mode. (Similar clicks reported in FW14.95 till FW14.98).
#8 Ambilight continues to work after switching to stand-by.
#9 When watching a teletext page suddenly the message "No text available" is shown for a while.
#10 Recording function is blocked, message "Connect storage", but storage is connected and timeshift works, so the HDD is OK. Remedy: Disconnect and reconnect the HDD.
#11 OSD message "write error" after switching channels
#12 TV reboots after stopping playback
#13 EPG GUI doesn't load completely/properly
#14 Random bursts of macroblocks (presumably due to overload of the picture processing).
Less frequent as with FW14.99 but still not OK.


---------- poor software quality -------------
it seems to me that they use a prio controlled versioning system for bug fixing and so they postponed software problems
down because first prio is developing new TV types support and new functions
i recommend to phillips make you firmware for older TVs open source - the community has the power and more linux developers to deliver more bug fixing :-)

Alex10
11-05-2012, 10:36 AM
i think due to cpu limitations of your tv this will not possible - you have to use an external player for SBS 3D

Toengel
11-05-2012, 10:42 AM
Hi,

3D-SBS is working on 2011 TVs... via USB

Toengel@Alex

groufo
11-06-2012, 03:47 PM
Hello,

I have a quite old firmware on my 6606 (December 2011). I am experiencing some picture freeze when watching HD channels. Otherwise everything is OK. Should I upgrade to this new firmware? Or do you people consider it too risky given the possible risk of "new" bugs?

Thanks,
G.

_Luke_
11-14-2012, 09:54 AM
In Italy you do not see more Philips TVs in large retail chains... there is a why!!!

doener
11-14-2012, 10:09 PM
More and more BUGS appear. I did not expect that from a TV which I bought for 1900 Euro!

So now "Easylink" and "Easylink-Autostart" dosent work anymore. It dose not power up my AMP anymore. It dosen't see the PS3 and Raspberry Pi.

I Have seen some instructions to get it back working. "http://58pfl9955.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/philips-was-tun-wenn-easylink-oder-hdmi-arc-nicht-mehr-funktioniert/"

Also the sound drop problem is well known atleast since January 2012
"http://58pfl9955.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/philips-aufruf-zur-untersuchung-von-tonaussetzern-mit-ci-modulen/"

But im really tired of posting bugs here and see no reaction and developement. All i Want is a Working TV. If that is to much for Philips, they should simply stop selling TVs until they are working propperly! What a poor management. I cant use my TV as TV, its now only a BIG expensive screen. (55 7606k02) If had bought it as screen I would be happy, would add a nice AV-Reciever and a Set-Up-Box. But i bought it as a TV which I wanted to use as a "Headunit". And this works worse than every Chinise no name TV. This is not the Premium TV i expected to buy.

A Dissapointed, feeling ripped off customer. My only hope is that someone hacks this TV and does philips job.

Joerg*
11-16-2012, 07:43 AM
Dear Philips Support Team,

Do you become aware of the fact that less and less users are posting here? It's no wonder when you don't respond to the customer's issues. It seems in a few months nobody remains interested in Philips TVs. Hope this is the goal what you would like to achieve.

Greetings

Joerg*

black.stream
11-19-2012, 05:41 PM
When I press power button on my PS3 system, tv also turns on but after several seconds it turns off my it self (PS3 also turns off). It is conntected via HDMI 1

RomanSO
11-20-2012, 06:26 PM
Does somebody trusts that there will be a new firmware?

black.stream
11-20-2012, 06:54 PM
Does somebody trusts that there will be a new firmware?

According to TP Vision Blog, new firmware will soon be realased:

http://58pfl9955.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/philips-neue-firmware-fr-2011er-tv-serien-5806-6000-7000-8000-9000-und-219-version-14-104-im-anmarsch/

Regards,

black.stream

Toengel
11-26-2012, 03:35 PM
Hi,

Firmware 14.104 is available: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?9167-Your-experiences-with-FW-v0-14-104-for-5806-6000-and-7000-series-(2011-models)

Toengel@Alex