PDA

View Full Version : BDP5200 HDMI multichannel output not working



Cumulus7
11-08-2012, 09:52 PM
Hi,

on my 5200/12 i am unable to get the HDMI AC3 output to work.
Firmware 1.61

I tried to set the HDMI audio to both "auto" and "bitstream" - no result!
I only get 2-channel PCM.
Why is the bitstream option not working?

My other hardware works just fine with multichannel over HDMI. (digital SAT receiver for example)

Since i am unable to find old firmware versions, i can't try out if old firmware used to work.
This is pretty bad at the moment - DVD and BluRays without multichannel.... :(

THX for any help
Markus

Toengel
11-09-2012, 06:33 AM
Hi,

can you please describe how do you connect your devices?

Toengel@Alex

Cumulus7
11-09-2012, 11:36 AM
- BluRay and SAT-receiver to TV with HDMI
- TV to AudioReceiver via optical cable.

AC3 from Sat-receiver and the TVs integrated media player works just fine.

Greetings Markus

Toengel
11-09-2012, 12:11 PM
Hi,

from my point of view, this is a bug...

See the actual changelog of the 2012 BDPs (e.g. BDP5500). This has been fixed there in version 3.53...

Toengel@Alex

Cumulus7
11-09-2012, 12:33 PM
Is philips support reading this forum, or do i have to contact them seperately by mail?

Thx Markus

Oscar
11-09-2012, 12:40 PM
Looking at that they changed it with other devices they do and in general lately they ae more on top....let wait and see...

kwinnie
11-22-2012, 07:32 AM
Hi Cumulus7,

To eliminate the variables in your issue, would you please try the below connection and let us know the results:
TV <---HDMI----> BDP5200
BDP5200 <------Optical -------> Audio receiver

If the multichannel works this way, it's not likely the issue of BDP5200, it can be something wrong with the HDMI between TV and BDP5200.
If the multichannel not work at all, then we can be quite sure it's issue with BDP5200.