PDA

View Full Version : My "socalled" smart tv cant see/read subtitles



duranarve
11-27-2012, 11:11 AM
Hi! A week ago I bought this, Philips 4000 series Smart LED-TV 32PFL4047T 81 cm (32'') Full HD 1080p DVB-T2/C med Pixel Plus HD, and I was told it should be able to play movies and subtitles from my usb drive. So far Ive found out that it can play movies (avi, mkv) but not subs (srt). And now it really bothers me, because that was one of the key reasons why I bought this tv. And from what Ive read it should be able to play subs, so I dont get it.
When I plug my usb drive to the tv, only the movie titles appear on the screen, and not the subs (they are like invisible).

Anyone have a solution to this?

Toengel
11-27-2012, 12:00 PM
Hi,

you need to activate the subtitle manually - press option key and chose subtitle...

Also the SRT need to have the same name as the video file:

- movie.avi
- movie.srt

Toengel@Alex

duranarve
11-27-2012, 01:20 PM
Hi!
Thanks a lot for your answer and solution, now it works:-)

ib130258
11-27-2012, 01:27 PM
Hi, I have more or less the same problem with DVD's that I put on my 'server' PC (copy/paste of the DVD content). I can find them and play them on my tv (40PFL5507H/12) AND I cannot activate the subtitles as have been indicated by Toengel in this topic. How come?
More problems: I can't navigate on the DVD menu, which is also very user unfriendly. Why is that?
In other words: it's not usable at all!

Manuj
11-27-2012, 01:52 PM
Hi, I have more or less the same problem with DVD's that I put on my 'server' PC (copy/paste of the DVD content). I can find them and play them on my tv (40PFL5507H/12) AND I cannot activate the subtitles as have been indicated by Toengel in this topic. How come?
More problems: I can't navigate on the DVD menu, which is also very user unfriendly. Why is that?
In other words: it's not usable at all!

How do you dump DVDs ?
If you create ISO files (such as me), it looks like they are not supported (I don't know officialy, I just noticed myself).
If you just copy/paste the directories, then you won't have much success either.
But trnasforming into mpg file (well, you just do the main film, you can't keep menus for instance), then that should/will work.

ib130258
11-27-2012, 02:27 PM
You can play the film when copy/paste the content of the dvd to the pc. What's the point in converting the dvd into mpg? Losing quality, losing time? For amusement? What's the point? Why having a network connection on a tv anyway?
I don't get it!
Same problem with blu-ray ...

Manuj
11-27-2012, 02:42 PM
You can play the film when copy/paste the content of the dvd to the pc. What's the point in converting the dvd into mpg? Losing quality, losing time? For amusement? What's the point? Why having a network connection on a tv anyway?
I don't get it!
Same problem with blu-ray ...

Well DVDs are already in mpg.
This is simpler than converting again, and there is no loss of quality.
Audio may have to be converted again, but not video.
I'm sure there are tools for that... but don't get me wrong, I would love that the TV could open directories as well. Or ISO files at least. I was just trying to propose a bypass solution and trying to help.

The TV does many things, but not completely. For sure you are right about that.
My estimation is that the player opens 80% of the files I have on my NAS. This is not perfect, but not that bad. But I'm happy I don't have so many DVDs I dumped in ISO files (Most are compressed into good quality Divx because of disk size).
And well, ... I'm happy I have an external media player (XBMC).

Toengel
11-27-2012, 02:42 PM
Hi,

you can only copy DVD content, if the content is not encrypted... Of course, you can use a "copy" tool... but in some countries it's not "allowed"...

Toengel@Alex

Manuj
11-27-2012, 02:57 PM
Well, for sure encryption is a topic by itself. In quite a few countries you can copy for personal use (using dvdshrink for instance).

And I made quite a few DVDs myself with personal stuff (family, friends, or even for professional purpose). Keeping the DVD format makes it easier to burn and give a DVD to someone else.

@Toengel : do you know for sure if the "VIDEO_TS" directory can be read by TV's embedded player ?
I doubt this is so but I have never tested myself.

Manuj
11-27-2012, 03:05 PM
On this site there is a list of VOB to MPG converters (http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/169081-How-to-convert-DVDs-back-to-MPG-files-for-reauthor-or-reedit)

I use DVDlab for authoring (building the DVD from .mpg files). I'm not used to those tools.

Again, I understand the benefit of being able to read (uncrypted) VIDEO_TS directory dumps.

Philips ? what can you say about it.

Toengel
11-27-2012, 03:12 PM
Hi,

I don't know, if the TV can read the VIDEO_TS stuff... I have a BDP, which can play DVDs and BDs :-))

Toengel@Alex

Manuj
11-27-2012, 03:14 PM
Sometimes you know more than what you own :)
this could be within specs, or not.

Toengel
11-27-2012, 03:20 PM
Hi,

for such things, I would suggest to take a look at the HMP7001 media player... I think it can read ISO files...

Toengel@Alex

ib130258
11-27-2012, 03:35 PM
Guys and girls, it's so easy: copy/paste the content of a DVD to an networkshare (trought a mediaserver of course) and the TV (at least mine) can play the DVD. The problem is that you can't get away with the menu's, you can't get control of them.
I have no idea what's causing it - I have the same problem with my brand new DB player (inclusive the last software updates) from LG. LG at least recognize the problem and they are looking for a solution.
Why converting DVD anyway?
ISO-images is another matter, this is complicating the problem and you don't save much?
Converting to divx makes sense looking at space, but you loose the rest of the DVD ... not a solution for mu issue.

Toengel
11-27-2012, 03:42 PM
Hi,

just copy/paste the content of a DVD does not decrypt the encrypted commercial DVDs...


Toengel@Alex

Manuj
11-27-2012, 05:08 PM
@ib130258 : make sure you decrypt the DVD as Toengel is telling. For sur this is important.

ISO files are more practical to move (to me), and put into a directory in the midle of mkv, avi, ...
ISO files are not converted, this is an image of you DVD. You can then burn them again and get an exact copy.
You can also attach jpg files to be used by XBMC for instance.
On Windows, VLC is also doing a good job.

To make iso, (again once decrypted if this is the case of your cource), you just need a burn software that lets you create ISO files instead of creating a real DVD. This is fast and easy and you archive original !

pmarcaul
02-03-2013, 11:41 PM
Hi, I purchased a 55PFL8007. Last Software version QF1EU-0.150.82.0 is installed.
TV specification from Philips site states MKV container and Subtitles SAMI | SubRip(SRT) | SubViewer | DivX in charcode UTF-8 (and others) are supported.

Nevertheless, so far I was NOT able to demonstrate it and read (via USB stick) any subtitle inside a mkv file.
I did generate (via mkvmerge tool) 2 mkv files from a same initial mkv file:
-one with 1 AVC video & 2 AAC audio & 1 UTF-8 subtitle will not play (no picture) at all (while working perfect on PC with VLC player)
-one with 1 AVC video & 2 AAC audio will play correctly and audio language switch works well on the TV
-one with 1 AVC video & 1 AAC audio & 1 UTF-8 subtitle play correctly video and audio but no subtitle (despite I activated via remote control the Subtitle). All tryout were played successfully with their subtitles with VLC player on a PC.

So the question is: has anyone ever succeeded in playing on a 2012 serie 8000 TV a MKV file with at least 1 encapsulated subtitle track ? if yes, possibility to eaxctly describe the file or post such a file .

wolfk
02-25-2013, 09:59 AM
@ib130258 :
ISO files are more practical to move (to me), and put into a directory in the midle of mkv, avi, ...

Could you please explain, what you mean with "put in the middle" ?
I have the same problem: I have copied some DVDs as iso-files, and put them on a media server.
But the TV is not able to play them anyway.

Manuj
03-08-2013, 03:40 PM
I meant drop ISO files into the same directory as other files (mkv, avi, ...).

Then, you're right, ISO files won't work with the TV (this is what I wrote).
You have either to extract the main film into .mpg (no re-encoding, but you lose menus), or re-encode into a supported format.

Another option is to use an external player, such as XBMC, plugged into HDMI input.
Could be a PC (like I use everyday, a Zbox) or a raspberry board + Raspbmc installed (I tested recently). The raspberry can be self-powered by TV USB output, and you plug your LAN in RJ45 connector (should run also with Wifi but it should be checked that power from TV-USB is still enough for an extra Wifi dongle).
Installing all this is a really cheap, small, and easy-to-install for a full-HD solution. XBMC will play almost any type of file.

Side Note : because of this damn audio-click over HDMI, I had to use audio headset ouput on the raspberry.

I hope this helps.

Edit : it will also make you a better smartTV, as XBMC has many plugins. Youtube (in HD) but also Netflix just to name 2 of the most widely used.

Edit 2 : Netflix is not supported by the Raspberry pi. A PC with a commercial soft can upnp an SD version of netflix. So, for netflix, a PS3 or Xbox is best or other officially supported hardware).