PDA

View Full Version : BLURAY my BDP3100/12 displays 'UNKNOWN DISC'



ianrough
12-02-2012, 09:38 AM
I too have problems with my BDP3100 Bluray player, it is around 3 years old and used to load all region 'B' bluray discs but now the same discs that used to work before will NOT load with an error message saying 'Unknown Disc' I used to get around this by powering down the player from the mains and it would then somestimes load the disc but this will NOT fix it now! I have tried a software update but the player says that there is not one available.

I have now carried out further tests and have found that the loading problem is to do with Regional coding, if the disc is 'Region Free' or compatible with Regions A B C it works fine so it is to do with the player reading the regional code! Philips fails again so I have bought an LG player!

Ian Rough.

Toengel
12-02-2012, 09:42 AM
Hi,

for updating, please check the support website of your player. Often you need to update via USB stick to install the latest firmware.

However, "unknown disc" is often an idication of a hardware failure of the disc loader. So, a service is needed...

Toengel@Alex

ianrough
12-02-2012, 09:58 AM
Hi,

for updating, please check the support website of your player. Often you need to update via USB stick to install the latest firmware.

However, "unknown disc" is often an idication of a hardware failure of the disc loader. So, a service is needed...

Toengel@Alex

Thank you for you prompt reply,

I feel the same way just another unreliable Philips product that I have bought over the years you design fabulous 'state of the art' products but sadly they are often very unreliable, so I'm not going to throw any money at this machine having just bout an LG DVD.

Regards,
Ian Rough.