PDA

View Full Version : I Have AW1000 and want to use it wired only; if possible with static ip.



E-OnE
12-04-2012, 12:34 PM
Hello,

I Have AW1000 and want to use it wired only; if possible with static ip, and still control it by app off course.

My AW1000 only connects by wifi even when the antenna extender is removed and cable (5e) is plugged in.
There is no detection what so ever on my Linksys E2000 router, there is no light burning or flashing.
(When I connect my lt is works fine, so nothing wrong with the cable or router it seems.)

Something else I noticed is that the AW1000 is not always visible in my network, not as a computer, multimedia device or other device. So I cannot access it by web page. When starting the app(1.6.2) on my android phone is also does not detect my AW1000 (explainable). So I have to go through the install steps on my android phone on a daily basses. This is not what i want.

A positive point is that nevertheless my internet radio is working fine over de AW1000?!??!

Thanks in advance for your reply,

Regards

Iwan

fromsomewhere
12-04-2012, 12:56 PM
Hello,

I Have AW1000 and want to use it wired only; if possible with static ip, and still control it by app off course.

My AW1000 only connects by wifi even when the antenna extender is removed and cable (5e) is plugged in.
There is no detection what so ever on my Linksys E2000 router, there is no light burning or flashing.
(When I connect my lt is works fine, so nothing wrong with the cable or router it seems.)

Something else I noticed is that the AW1000 is not always visible in my network, not as a computer, multimedia device or other device. So I cannot access it by web page. When starting the app(1.6.2) on my android phone is also does not detect my AW1000 (explainable). So I have to go through the install steps on my android phone on a daily basses. This is not what i want.

A positive point is that nevertheless my internet radio is working fine over de AW1000?!??!

Thanks in advance for your reply,

Regards
.



Iwan

Hi Iwan,


Next time when your AW is not detected by android app, just check whether speaker light is white & click on "refresh" button under settings in play tab & see whether you find AW. There is no need to re do installation

E-OnE
12-04-2012, 07:04 PM
Hi Iwan,


Next time when your AW is not detected by android app, just check whether speaker light is white & click on "refresh" button under settings in play tab & see whether you find AW. There is no need to re do installation

Thanx for your reply, but hat doesn't work, like I mentioned the AW is not visible in my network, bu the light is white and the radio(funciton) is working. That is also a reason for me to go for wired, maybe that will be more stable, see the rest of my text/Question.

k1200rs
12-04-2012, 11:50 PM
When you want to switch from wifi to wired, you first need to do a hard reset. See the procedure given by Philips in the 'i cannot get it started' discussion.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/cpindex.pl?ctn=AW1000/10&dct=FAQ&faqview=1&list=aa12_list_partial.html&mid=Link_FAQs&refnr=0095830&scy=AT&slg=AEN&view=aa12_view_partial.html




I share your view regarding the fact that AirStudio app does not always find the AW1000 (or it takes some time) whilst other apps (skifta/bubble) I have on my tablet discover the AW in no time and every time. Hence it is a software design issue.

Have you already tried the music sharing? That's a real disaster. Hope Philips will improve it. Not sure if I keep my AW1000 until then.

k1200rs
12-05-2012, 12:05 AM
BTW, I dont think the AW1000 supports static ip.

Oscar
12-05-2012, 08:53 AM
Does that not work then music sharing or whats the issue...

k1200rs
12-05-2012, 03:05 PM
What is the question?

Oscar
12-05-2012, 03:26 PM
You say its a real dissaster so would be nice to know what and how it goes wrong

k1200rs
12-07-2012, 11:45 AM
Here are some inputs. Just about the Music Library Streaming.
It is not an exhaustive list, just few points.
This does not cover bugs in Radios and Music Services.

1) When you start AirStudio it does not always find the AW
You need to rescan or in worse cases even need to reboot the AW.
At the time I am writing this, it was just not finding the AW. I started Bubble UPNP and it found it immediately (in case someone suspects my LAN or WIFI)

2) Browsing the library is slow (compared to skifta and bubble upnp on the same Android tablet). It is also slow to refresh the album covers.
3) The album covers are too small (right size in bubble upnp)
4) Note: I use an external server (Twonky) running on a PC (hence the tablet is not running any server).
5) When you build the play list (dynamic playlist), if you remove and add tracks, I noticed it does no longer go from one track to the other. It just stops after the first track. That's very annoying (working fine with Bubble and Skifta). This defeats the purpose of playlist as it does not go from one track to the other.
6) If you delete a track in the playlist whilst being played, it does not move to the next one.
7) Impossible to save or load a dynamic play list (a playlist created with AirStudio)....that's really a missing feature!
8) Because it is very slow, it is relatively easy to make it fail.
9) Not possible to play a genre out of your entire collection of tracks / album, you need to select each album and add the tracks in the play list
10) Album cover in the 'now playing' is really too small and not dynamically adapted to the screen size (hence they probably decided to display the smallest possible picture to accomodate all phones, but on a tablet it is just ridiculous.
11) I stop here, there are many more points but I don't have the time and AirStudio just crashed whilst playing a play list, I don't know why (was not doing anything).



Main issues:
- Discovery process
- Performance of the application, really slow and not responsive
- Unstable (just crashed)

Way behind what I was using on my tablet to control my DLNA devices.
The 'plus' point, does control all with one single app (radios, music services and music library streaming).

k1200rs
12-11-2012, 08:39 AM
This morning,

1) I started my AW manually selecting a Preset station. No problem, it plays the radio.
2) I then later started AirStudio. Unfortunately, Air Studio can not find the AW (whilst AirStudio is playing a radio)
3) I removed the AirStudio app and downloaded and resinstalled it, still does not find the AW.
4) I powered off and on the AW, still the AirStudio app cannot find the AW.
5) I manually selected a Preset radio on the AW, the AW plays the radio but is still not detected by the AirStudio
6) I reset the AW, still the AirStudio does not find it (please note my AW is wired and my tablet can access Internet)


Now, I strongly suspect the problem to be with the AW1000 as even Bubble UPNP running on same tablet could not find it. All this is strange as the AW1000 is wired to the LAN and seen by my PC on the LAN.
I will do another reset and a factory reset of the AW1000 later.

Toengel
12-11-2012, 08:45 AM
Hi,

try the following: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/en/showthread.php?9439-Control-you-AW-device-without-using-the-AirStudio-app-via-your-PC

Toengel@Alex

k1200rs
12-11-2012, 09:35 AM
Toengel,
About your procedure.
You don't need to look at the IP address to control the AW from a PC.
In a Windows PC, you just go in the 'My Network' or 'Network', identify the UPNP icon related to the AW and click twice on it to start the AW browsing (note that was already existing for the NP series).
In the state in which my AW is today, the led is steady white (means connected), I can access it from the PC but still I cannot control it from the Tablet.
Regards

k1200rs
12-12-2012, 07:44 AM
A reboot of my Orange router resolved the issue. Quite strange. So, in this case, it seems the issue was not coming from the AW or AirStudio. Next time it happens I will follow a logical procedure.

k1200rs
12-18-2012, 12:45 PM
Despite the issues I faced, mostly when playing a music library, I have to say I just like the capability to remotely control Spotify or the radios (airstudio/tablet). I don't know how I could do without this.

k1200rs
12-19-2012, 06:32 PM
This evening, it automatically uploaded a new AW1000 firmware through my tablet. The update process went fine, it's kind of nice it happens through the tablet (I first thought it was updating the app). Smooth process.
The new firmware brings left and right improvements. Quite a number.
Playing a music library (the traditional upnp) is still slow though. I did not see much improvement on that side (compared to Bubble).
I have been playing with the tablet for one hour and could not crash the application. Feel frustrated :)
If Philips address the speed / peformance of the music library side, it I would put a 4-5 stars.


Still to be improved:
-Need also to adapt the Album, Radio picture, Spotify album art to the size of the screen (medium)
-Speed / performance of the music library player / control point (critical)
-Ability to move forward in track (minor)
-Display the song the radio plays (a very basic request nowadays)

epimetheus
12-22-2012, 03:28 PM
I have some extra input for Philips.
First of all I agree with everything k1200rs said and the latest software update has been a great improvement.
Second, I would advise Philips to compare the AW1000/10 with a WDTV live (it costs about 100 euros). The Philips apps and Mediamanager support the WDTV live straight out-of-the-box and I have noticed that the combination of Airstudio and the WDTV is a lot better than with Philips own AW1000/10. So the problem is basically the AW1000/10 firmware and not the apps.

Functions I would really appreciate are:
1. App, playinf folders from a Twonky server. The order of numbers is by default alphabetical. In Mediamanager you can set this to the order in which they are in the real album. An esential function in my opinion.
2. Hardware. I want to use a fixed ip-address and Not a DHCP one!
3. The manual contains virtually no detailed technical information at all. I still do not know what FLAC files the AW1000/10 supports. The WDTV will play any Flac file at nay audio resolution with up to 5.1 channels, for example.
4. Speed, speed, speed.

I am using the AW1000/10 alongside a WDTV Live and a Logitec Squeezebox Touch in combination with an Onkyo 7.1 surround amplifier and a QNAP serevr with Twonky and a FLAC music library of over 64000 tracks, (which is why I can't use the Sonos range that still has the antiquated 64K limit).
The AW1000/10 is getting betetr, but it is not yet competitive enough. It could heva been a great replacement for the Sonos range and the Logitech Squeezeboxes.