PDA

View Full Version : Blu-Ray Does Not Work on HDMI



SRT
12-05-2012, 02:38 AM
Over the years I have had various components connected via HDMI (Computer, XBOX, etc) - they all worked fine, but I recently bought a Blu-Ray player (Sony BDP-S480) and I have a blank screen. The TV shows the input at 1080i, but there is no picture or sound. Could it be an HDCP issue? The TV is supposed to be compliant, right?

Philips - Rohan
12-13-2012, 07:36 PM
What is the model number of your TV and what firmware version is currently on it?

SRT
12-14-2012, 03:51 AM
It is model 50PF7321D/37 and has firmware Version: EX11U-1.5.0.0_09; Release for 2nd Spin: EX11U-1.5.0.0_09571. Thanks for your help on this!

Philips - Rohan
12-14-2012, 02:04 PM
@SRT - Your TV already has the latest firmware and the fact that all you other devices are working indicates that the HDCP in your TV is working correctly.

Here is what I would suggest:
1. Log on to Sony's website & see if the firmware on the Blu-Ray player is the latest (M07.R.0624).
2. Try other output formats/resolutions on the BDP such as 720p etc. Sometimes a combination of the resolution and refresh rate i.e. 24Hz, 30Hz, 60Hz can affect playback as well.
3. Try using other connection methods to the TV such as Composite (Yellow = Video) or Component (Red Green Blue = Video) to access the menu screens on the BDP to access the settings on the BDP.

SRT
12-15-2012, 01:38 AM
The firmware on both devices is up to date. I am already using the Component connection for the Blu-Ray since the HDMI does not work, but when a blu-ray disk is played, it lowers the resolution when not using HDMI (therefore no HD). I tried every resolution/combination on the output settings, tried different HDMI cables and still only have a blank screen. I checked the Nvidia settings on the computer that is hooked up to the television and under HDCP status it says "Your system is not HDCP compatible." Thanks again.

Philips - Rohan
12-17-2012, 01:35 PM
SRT, really sorry to hear that. It looks like the EDID in the two devices are not syncing up the right way.

PS: I have personally owned about three laptops where different versions of the drivers reported HDCP incompliance with the TVs I had but everything worked fine.
Are you using these drivers to test HDCP in NVCP? http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro-notebook-win8-win7-winvista-64bit-310.70-whql-driver.html