PDA

View Full Version : Cannot install Wi-Fi Media Connector



luissa01
12-09-2012, 02:26 PM
I have a 32PFL7606H led TV for over a year and had connectivity between PC and TV over LAN with the help of of 2 Powerline connectors. I had WMC installed on my computer which was running Windows 7 Ultimate and working like a charm.
Last month, and all of a sudden, whenever I started my PC (WMC was set as a startup programme) WMC would crash, and I cannot start it since then. Meanwhile I have done a fresh install of Windows 8 Pro, hoping that it would solve the problem, I have tried to disable the Firewall, I have checked the WMC service ports, and still it WMC does not start.
Screenshot of crash message is below.
I can see the TV in my home network, the TV does connect to the internet, I have reinstalled the Powerline connectors and nothing worked.
I believe that I might have something installed that is not compatible with WMC... that makes it crash.
Any suggestion? Does anybody have the same problem?
Would appreciate some help, this is driving me crazy
1578

luissa01
12-09-2012, 02:38 PM
I forgot to mention that WMC is starting with Administrator rights.
Thanks to all Luis

luissa01
12-11-2012, 11:07 AM
Is there anyone who can provide me some help????

Philips - Marco
12-11-2012, 11:16 AM
I have a 32PFL7606H led TV for over a year and had connectivity between PC and TV over LAN with the help of of 2 Powerline connectors. I had WMC installed on my computer which was running Windows 7 Ultimate and working like a charm.
Last month, and all of a sudden, whenever I started my PC (WMC was set as a startup programme) WMC would crash, and I cannot start it since then. Meanwhile I have done a fresh install of Windows 8 Pro, hoping that it would solve the problem, I have tried to disable the Firewall, I have checked the WMC service ports, and still it WMC does not start.
Screenshot of crash message is below.
I can see the TV in my home network, the TV does connect to the internet, I have reinstalled the Powerline connectors and nothing worked.
I believe that I might have something installed that is not compatible with WMC... that makes it crash.
Any suggestion? Does anybody have the same problem?
Would appreciate some help, this is driving me crazy
1578


Hi Luissa01,

Have you already tried to run WifiMediaConnect in compatibility mode for Windows 7?

Regards,
Marco

luissa01
12-11-2012, 11:29 AM
Hi Marco,

Yes, by default and while Windows 8 is not more common, I always install any new programe in compatibility mode with Windows 7, and did not work as well.
In fact the problem started when I was still using Windows 7 and by making a fresh Windows 8 install I thought I could I could solve this problem...

R/
Luis

Philips - Marco
12-11-2012, 03:45 PM
Hi Marco,

Yes, by default and while Windows 8 is not more common, I always install any new programe in compatibility mode with Windows 7, and did not work as well.
In fact the problem started when I was still using Windows 7 and by making a fresh Windows 8 install I thought I could I could solve this problem...

R/
Luis

Hi Luis,

Since WifiMediaConnect is no longer supported on Windows 8, I would recommend you to try a different media server, there are several free software available and you can also use Windows Media Player as Media Server.

Regards,
Marco

luissa01
12-11-2012, 04:03 PM
Hi Marco,

Thanks for the tip but although I do not think it my problem should be related to the OS (the problem began with Windows 7 Ultimate) I would ask you if using WMP as a media server does also allow me to project my PC screen on another TV, as WMC could do?

R/
Luís

AleH
12-14-2012, 12:09 AM
Hi, i have the same problem, the program worked when i instaled but after that never work again, when i execute the wi fi Mediaconnet.exe it crash, i have Windows XP, and my pc have more than the Recommended requirements, so please help!=)

luissa01
12-14-2012, 12:26 AM
Hi, i have the same problem, the program worked when i instaled but after that never work again, when i execute the wi fi Mediaconnet.exe it crash, i have Windows XP, and my pc have more than the Recommended requirements, so please help!=)

Apparently nobody cares for us...
I am trying to work around and not trust anymore on this Phillips Media Connect software... very unhappy with it.