PDA

View Full Version : Philips VOIP 855, no connection to the Skype service.



SteveDown
12-18-2012, 11:45 PM
Good Day,

I've had my Philips VOIP 855 for about 18 months and it's been working perfectly until this evening.
The red light on top of the device inidicating the Skype service is connected no longer illuminates, thus I have no service.

There seems to be no apparent reason I can find, despite the standard process of resetting my modem connectivity fails to materialise.

The handset is able to communicate with the 855 unit so no issues there, there's simply no Skype service available.
Any suggestions please?

Thanks and Regards,
Steve

Oscar
12-19-2012, 02:56 PM
Hi Steve,

Have you tried this: Go to Menu -> Settings -> Advanced -> Reset Settings. When you select Reset Settings the phone will reboot.

As far as I have seen you will not loose any contacts :)

SteveDown
12-19-2012, 05:19 PM
Hi Oscar,

I'll give that a try, though I think the problem is with the 855 unit rather than the handset because the indicator lights are not coming on. For example, the Line light is dead and if I press the Skype button on top of the unit it does nothing.
The button situated to the left which makes the handset ring does work, though it appears to serve no real purpose.

Thanks,
Steve

MidnightManiac
10-22-2013, 09:42 AM
Hi Oscar,

I'll give that a try, though I think the problem is with the 855 unit rather than the handset because the indicator lights are not coming on. For example, the Line light is dead and if I press the Skype button on top of the unit it does nothing.
The button situated to the left which makes the handset ring does work, though it appears to serve no real purpose.

Thanks,
Steve

Steve, I can confirm that the reset settings, as mentioned by Oscar, is the way to go.

Last week I had the same issue as described above and in other posts (phone working, no Skype service, no Skype icon, no red light on base unit, rebooting not solving the issue).

The phone/network reset didn't fix my system alone, I still had to reconfigure the network settings back and forth before I got the Skype service back. The reset makes the "no connection to base" icon appear on the display though, which allows the system to be reconfigured properly.