PDA

View Full Version : Not able to stream avi files from my NAS



jorgefhq
12-22-2012, 09:55 AM
Hi

I'm having a strange problem with one of my Philips TV. Indeed only one of them because my second one does it perfectly. I have both of them connected via LAN-WiFi to a NAS DLNA compatible (Iomega Home Media Cloud Edition).

The initial setup was pretty easy, and I could access media in both cases instantly. I decided to copy all my videos from an old HD drive I used to connect via USB to my tv's, to the new network HD (all the videos I had there were fully supported by both tv's). Since I have them in it I can play all videos in one tv but I can't play any avi files in the other one.

I thought since all files are streamed from a media server in my NAS device, it would be impossible to find such a problem.

I can play any video and everything is OK in my 32PFL4007H/12

I can't play any AVI files in my 40PFL7605H/12, although it could play them via USB.

Both have updated firmware.

Any idea of what is happening?

Thanks in advance

Niels
12-22-2012, 12:02 PM
jorgefhq,

Can you access the directories on the NAS from the 7605H/12 or not?
Do you get an error message? Or do the AVI files just not play?

Niels

Toengel
12-22-2012, 12:06 PM
Hi,

it could be possible, that you need to activate in the TV network configuration that the PC can access the Tv...

Toengel@Alex

jorgefhq
12-22-2012, 12:14 PM
jorgefhq,

Can you access the directories on the NAS from the 7605H/12 or not?
Do you get an error message? Or do the AVI files just not play?

Niels

Hi Niels

Yes I can access all the directories on the NAS from both TV. I always get an error message when I try to play avi files. And the icon changes from a film-like icon to a cross in a box icon.

The exact message I can not tell you because I don't know the exact translation from the message in Spanish I get, but it says that the format is incompatible.

jorgefhq
12-22-2012, 12:20 PM
Hi,

it could be possible, that you need to activate in the TV network configuration that the PC can access the Tv...

Toengel@Alex

Hi Toengel

First, how do you do that?
Second, why would Ii have to enable PC access to the TV? It's not a PC-related problem, at least as far as I know. It's only that whatever avi file I want to play from my NAS device, my 40PFL7605h/12 says it can't. An this doesn't happen with my 32PFL4007H/12.

Maybe it is obvious, but it's the first time I have to deal with a NAS device.

I never had problems with streaming from my PC and also WiFi Media Connect works perfectly.

Thanks.

jorgefhq
12-22-2012, 02:19 PM
Hi,

it could be possible, that you need to activate in the TV network configuration that the PC can access the Tv...

Toengel@Alex

Thank you Toengel for your response.
I've followed your advice but nothing has changed.

Niels
12-22-2012, 02:49 PM
Jorgefhq,

You also stated that the files were playable on the 7605 TV when connected via USB, so it is not a problem with file format or codec. That is strange. Did you upgrade the firmware in the mean time?
Maybe you can check reconnecting the disk via USB if they still can be played by the TV.

I do not play movies very often, but I also sometimes have a problem accessing media on my NAS.
In some cases it helps to reset (power off for some time) both the TV and the router/NAS.

Niels

jorgefhq
12-22-2012, 05:36 PM
Jorgefhq,

You also stated that the files were playable on the 7605 TV when connected via USB, so it is not a problem with file format or codec. That is strange. Did you upgrade the firmware in the mean time?
Maybe you can check reconnecting the disk via USB if they still can be played by the TV.

I do not play movies very often, but I also sometimes have a problem accessing media on my NAS.
In some cases it helps to reset (power off for some time) both the TV and the router/NAS.

Niels

I tried both. No joy. I can still play avi files via USB, and also tried rebooting.:confused:

Niels
12-22-2012, 06:07 PM
Hm, strange.
What else can make a difference?
- firewall or something like that: no, since the other TV has no problem
- speed: is your wireless network connection of good quality? check the TV connection quality/speed

It must be something in the TV, so check your network settings (again...)
- IP configuration OK?
- Access PC files set to 'ON' (I do not know the right menu name of this option, since I use it in dutch)
- connected to the same network name (maybe you run different networks, e.g. a 'guestnet' )

I hope you will manage to find the cause...

Niels

jorgefhq
12-23-2012, 08:23 PM
Thanks for trying to help me Niels.

I keep checking all your suggestions.

I have different network connections, but that is not the problem because it is actually my 7605 which is connected directly to the router, and the smaller TV is linked via WiFi. A problem with the router would affect all the devices I have at home, and I would have noticed it before.

It looks like for some reason it is not an allowed video format but only via dlna. Maybe its simply that.

I've tried a couple things last night and I've found something even weirder. I've configured a Twonky server in my PC, and I have added all my media files to the shared list. After doing so, I've accessed via dlna directly to my PC, witch now is recognized by my 7605 as a new media server, and guess what? I can read all video formats with no problem at all! And of course the're still in my NAS.

This won't be the solution for my problem because I don't want to have my PC on every time I want to access media at home, but maybe someone can find the reason I'm having this strange problem trying different setups.

I first thought that at least I had found that it was my NAS acting as a Media Server my real problem due to some strange incompatibility with avi files. But NO, I had forgotten that I can play avi files in the other TV.

Well I guess I'll have to keep searching. I hope that someone within Philips technical service could read my posts and help me a bit. BTW, I've replied a couple times to Toengel but, again for some strange reason, my posts don't appear published. I got a message I didn't read entirely, but I could see something like moderators had to check them before publishing. I'd first want to say thank you to Toengel, who tried to help me also very fast, and secondly I'd like to know if it is a normal procedure, and where are my replies to his posts.

Thank you all.

jorgefhq
12-30-2012, 12:19 PM
@Philips

Is there any reason why I shouldn't be able to play avi files using dlna while I can play all of them via USB?

My TV 42PFL7605H/12.

Please help! Most of my video files are avi files and I have them stored in an IOMEGA Home Media Network Hard Drive. Will I have to convert all of them to another format?

Wienel
02-17-2013, 07:45 PM
@Philips

Is there any reason why I shouldn't be able to play avi files using dlna while I can play all of them via USB?

My TV 42PFL7605H/12.

Please help! Most of my video files are avi files and I have them stored in an IOMEGA Home Media Network Hard Drive. Will I have to convert all of them to another format?

Ola,
Did you find a solution in the meantime? I'm having the exact same problem with the same television.
Thanks, Lidwien

jorgefhq
02-18-2013, 11:20 PM
Hello, Lidwien

Yes, I have improved things a little bit, just by using a very simple workaround. I managed to get into internal Twonky server that rules the media capabilities inside my Iomega Home media, and I configured it in a different way, changing default settings.

By typing your local adress IP followed by :9000 (i.e. 192.168.1.25:9000 in my case) you get access to the Twonky server. Then click in "media receivers", and look for your Philips TV. Change the Philips Renderer TV and select instead Kenwood Media Player. I actually don't know why it works, but the important thing is that I've had no problems since. It might be something about config files for Philips TVs that we can't access and edit freely.

Don' t forget that everytime you have to restart your NAS drive you have to repeat this procedure.

I hope it helps.

Pabloxer
05-14-2013, 05:22 AM
I think you may try convert avi file to a more common format like mov. As for the solution, I suggest AppGeeker AVI MOV Converter (http://www.ilikemall.com/how-to/convert-avi-to-mov-mac.html). It should get you through what you have. It basically converts anything to anything so you shouldn't have any problem finding something that works