Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 24 of 24
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    New Member
    Points: 921, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wöllstein
    Posts
    5
    Points
    921
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    OK, something I just discovered: in order for ARC to work it seems you need a HDMI 1.4 capable cable (defined in spring 2010), otherwise the audio back channel may not be supported.

    Frank.

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,775, Level: 11
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    Points
    1,775
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fkoehn View Post
    OK, something I just discovered: in order for ARC to work it seems you need a HDMI 1.4 capable cable (defined in spring 2010), otherwise the audio back channel may not be supported.

    Frank.
    Thank you Frank but i've always used HDMI 1.4.

    I've finaly solved the problem, i use a little trick that always works:

    When the TV doesn't recognize the soundbar, i turn off the electrical panel of my entire home for 30 seconds. When i turn on the power the TV and the soundbar works again.

    Don't ask me why, i don't know. Remove the electric plug it isn't enough.
    I've discorvered this trick accidentally.

  3. #18
    New Member
    Points: 921, Level: 7
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered500 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Wöllstein
    Posts
    5
    Points
    921
    Level
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry, but that's really not an option. This needs to work consistently, otherwise I'd rather get something from a different manufacturer that does.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cabbina View Post

    I've finaly solved the problem, i use a little trick that always works:

    When the TV doesn't recognize the soundbar, i turn off the electrical panel of my entire home for 30 seconds. When i turn on the power the TV and the soundbar works again.

  4. #19
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,775, Level: 11
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    Points
    1,775
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fkoehn View Post
    Sorry, but that's really not an option. This needs to work consistently, otherwise I'd rather get something from a different manufacturer that does.
    In effect if i could turn back time i'd change manufacter...

  5. #20
    New Member
    Points: 1,013, Level: 8
    Level completed: 32%, Points required for next Level: 137
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Diepenveen / Nederland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,013
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    similar problem

    Hello,

    My 40PFL9705 and my Yamaha RX V667 AV Receiver have a similar problem. I can't get a sound signal through the HDMI connection. The coaxial digital signal works fine but there's no respons when connected only by HDMI.

    I use HDMI1.4 cable, latest firmware of the TV, all possible settings but never any sound.

    I'll try the Philips helpdesk soon, maybe they can help.

  6. #21
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,584, Level: 14
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Tagger Second Class

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    48
    Points
    2,584
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Double post
    Last edited by B|G1; 02-01-2012 at 07:35 PM.

  7. #22
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by avnoorel View Post
    Hello,

    My 40PFL9705 and my Yamaha RX V667 AV Receiver have a similar problem. I can't get a sound signal through the HDMI connection. The coaxial digital signal works fine but there's no respons when connected only by HDMI.

    I use HDMI1.4 cable, latest firmware of the TV, all possible settings but never any sound.

    I'll try the Philips helpdesk soon, maybe they can help.
    Quote Originally Posted by B|G1 View Post
    I have the same problem with my Philips 55PFL7606 and receiver Onkyo TX-NR709. :-( Optical cable works but not HDMI 1 ARC
    Have you checked if your devices (Yamaha and Onkyo) are HDMI 1.4 or 1.3?
    In the second case iit could be a problem: the 9705 and the 7606 are HDMI 1.4.

    Before the actual HTS7140 (HDMI 1.4) I had a HTS5120 (HDMI 1.3) PHilips soundbar with issues regarding the HDMI ARC recognition.

    regards

  8. #23
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,584, Level: 14
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 166
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Tagger Second Class

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    48
    Points
    2,584
    Level
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fkoehn View Post
    OK, something I just discovered: in order for ARC to work it seems you need a HDMI 1.4 capable cable (defined in spring 2010), otherwise the audio back channel may not be supported.

    Frank.
    HDMI 1.3 and 1.4 cables are the same. As long as you can play 1080p you have a "high-def" cable.

  9. #24
    Platinum Member
    Points: 5,068, Level: 21
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 482
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second ClassNew Achievement!Veteran5000 Experience Points
    Nettle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Padua, Italy
    Posts
    624
    Points
    5,068
    Level
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I was thinking about it too.

    In my case the HTS5120 (1.3 hdmi) soundbar was giving me sound drop issues with my 1.4 hdmi TV.

    regards

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •