Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 135
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 2,121, Level: 12
    Level completed: 91%, Points required for next Level: 29
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    2,121
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Question BDP 5100 - where can I get the OLDER, non-1.53 version of firmware? 1.53=bad.

    I have the Bluray player BDP5100/12, an excellent one - or, should I say, one that used to be excellent with older firmware.

    I made the mistake of thinking that the new revision, 1.53, would be better... wrong! It did add the NetTV service for which I have no use, but it also made the player pretty much useless. Whenever I use the player to connect an external drive and play Divx HD files, it's now a given that the player will freeze. It happens with about half of files now. The playing continues, but the player stops reacting to the remote or the buttons on the unit. All I can do then is:
    - keep watching
    - physically unplug the power

    Additionally, the player seems to list video files randomly when browsing USB units plugged in, rather than alphabetically. It used to happen with older firmwares, too, but with 1.53 it seems even more common.

    Anyway, I want to roll back to the great firmware (it was 1.31, I think) which came before the awful 1.53. I hope with the older version, it will once again be the good player I enjoyed. Unfortunately, the site only lists v1.53 now. Where can I get the older revision?

    I guess the coders were so concentrated on this NetTV service in the new firmware that they broke a ton of things that used to work well in the older firmwares, and paid no attention to it. Shame...

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    the freezing is also present with BDP7500S/B2 and BDP9600 - I talked more than one times with the local support in Germany and always "you are the first who has this problem"...

    The ordering is also present with BDP7500S/B2 and BDP9600 - it is sorted by "last modified". I also suggested at the local support to add a feature to choose the sorting ordering... Don't ask what they answered...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,351, Level: 10
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,351
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Exclamation big bug on 1.53, what's about philips quality?

    Hi guy,

    1.53 new firmaware is bad coded-ware!

    unable to access to my buffalo 2Go Mkv File via usb plug, Result when usb is pluged => Freez the player

    please, philips' engineers buy an external hdd and try it....
    have you made some test before supply a stuff like that... i'm afraid....


    Thank you to provide ASAP a new firmware!

    Br
    /oliviez

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,444, Level: 69
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 706
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,974
    Points
    50,444
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    please use mediainfo.sourceforge.net (display the "text" mode) and paste the content of your MKVfile which does not work.

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,351, Level: 10
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,351
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    Thank you for your reply.

    There is a misunderstanding about my bug report:


    -On firmware 1.30:
    Very long time to access to my USB external hdd :Buffalo HD-HXU3 (usb3.0)
    Some MKV file cannot start (video error, audio ok...), in future i have to investigate on MKV video file format...


    -On last firmware 1.53:
    When i connect my Buffalo HD-HXU3 (usb3.0), BDP5100 freeze up to i unplug usb from BDP5100, then it is write ERROR on LCD display.


    What's about USB 3.0 compatibilities of BDP5100?

    note:
    Buffalo HD-HXU3 (usb3.0) well working on my dell laptop. (usb 2)
    Buffalo HD-HXU3 (usb3.0) Well working on my Samsung LCD TV (USB 2)

    Thanks for your great help
    Br
    /olivier

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,401, Level: 13
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    Points
    2,401
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi,
    I have the same issues with BDP-5100/12. On firmware 1.30 all movies .mkv were working. On last firmware 1.53 some of the movies work and some not. The system pops up unsupported video format, but the sound works.

    Please came up with the solution.

    P.S. Can an official Service Philips install the previous firmware?

    Thanx

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,582, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 268
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25
    Points
    1,582
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    HI

    I can confirm these problems. I have FW 1.53.
    1. When I was watching a video from USB disk, there was no way of stopping it, but power off.
    2. When there is a DVD loaded, then I have to wait some time (up to 30 seconds) before I can stop it.
    3. In general the response to remote is sluggish.
    4. My registration in this forum didn't finish completely. However after contacting the administrator this problem was solved.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,334, Level: 9
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,334
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi

    Also a confirmation on problems from here. Update to V1.53 makes unit freeze very frequent.
    Updated from a brandnew unit with original "old" firmware directly to 1.53 , and probs started.

    No "red thread" in what it is doing when freezing. Only cure : physically unplug the power!

    Philips Customer Care response :
    Older firmware will NOT be made avaible....Never heard of this before and talk to your local
    dealer..... anyone heard this song before ?

    In general I´m feed up with Philips hardware... I have a Philips 42" flatscreen TV to, which was faulty
    for over a year until it was fixed. Read a lot god stuff on the BDP5100 before buying, so gave
    Philips another go, and now im just frustrated !

    Please ! Somebody MUST have a older firmware lying around somewere to share, since we obviously
    not getting help from Philips what so ever !
    /Claus

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Points: 75,774, Level: 85
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 776
    Overall activity: 43.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    75,774
    Level
    85
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Topic moved to 'Blu-ray Product Support'.
    Forum Mod

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Points: 75,774, Level: 85
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 776
    Overall activity: 43.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    75,774
    Level
    85
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Thanks for your post. Philips has acknowledged your problem and is now looking into it. We will come back to you as soon as possible once we have more concrete information/ solution.

    For above users, please kindly check your private mail box for more information on this issue.
    Forum Mod

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 1,311, Level: 9
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,311
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    well, by some kind of chance I have the backup of the last version in my usb. thanks for my laziness for not deleting the file!!!
    have uploaded to this directory for you all: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KN78HR4U

    in case your usb not working well, try to burn it into a disc and do the upgrade.
    wish you luck, bro.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Gretchen For This Useful Post:

    chipie (06-17-2013)

  13. #12
    New Member
    Points: 1,323, Level: 9
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,323
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for the link - how am I able to do a software update via CD?
    Because I also have the problem that if I plugin a USB stick, my Remote Control isnt working any more...

  14. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lohr View Post
    Thanks for the link - how am I able to do a software update via CD?
    Because I also have the problem that if I plugin a USB stick, my Remote Control isnt working any more...
    Hi lohr,
    but if your usb loader can still detect files from a flash usb drive, you only have to dl the file to a usb and do the software upgrade again.don't hv to burn it into a disc...

  15. #14
    New Member
    Points: 1,323, Level: 9
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 27
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,323
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Carin View Post
    Hi lohr,
    but if your usb loader can still detect files from a flash usb drive, you only have to dl the file to a usb and do the software upgrade again.don't hv to burn it into a disc...
    So how I am gonna do that?
    Plugin the USB in powered-off mode and then turn on the device?
    Because like I said, if I plugin my USB stick I cant navigate any more with the remote control.

  16. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    sorry i dont know that. cos from other users, they can at least select the file they want to watch, just during the play the remote control doesnt work.
    for your player, not even able to press the home button and navigation button?

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •