Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 135
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #46
    New Member
    Points: 1,239, Level: 9
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,239
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    well, downgrading to 1.31 worked (thanks to whoever posted it!) but MKV still doesn't work (unsupported).
    I also notice that with these updated firmwares accessing to the hard drive is "louder", very noticeable (meaning annoying).

    update: editing the profile information in the videos also doesn't fix it don't want to reconvert everything... this is ridiculous, the videos were working fine before.
    Last edited by lfcapelo; 04-28-2011 at 07:08 PM.

  2. #47
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,343, Level: 9
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,343
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lfcapelo View Post
    well, downgrading to 1.31 worked (thanks to whoever posted it!) but MKV still doesn't work (unsupported).
    I also notice that with these updated firmwares accessing to the hard drive is "louder", very noticeable (meaning annoying).

    update: editing the profile information in the videos also doesn't fix it don't want to reconvert everything... this is ridiculous, the videos were working fine before.

    For MKV-playback make sure that:

    A) You don't use header compression when muxing the MKV.
    B) Your MKV is Level High@4.1. The level of an MKV File can be changed by demuxing and using a programm called H.264 Leveleditior
    The important thing here is, that not only the H.264 file says it's Level High@4.1, it also need to fulfill the criteria of a Level High@4.1 file.
    C) If you muxed vobsubs in the mkv, make sure you don't use zlib compression.

    Since I follow these easy rules I haven't had any problems playing MKVs with my BDP5180. Before I had to deal with "unsupported format" messages or complete freezes of the BPD.

  3. #48
    New Member
    Points: 1,275, Level: 9
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,275
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi again ok its now clear the upgrade still have mega Bugs.
    New Firmware 1.53 bugs do froze player without any reason, it can too froze if you turn on( it hang on blue Screen)
    After a froze of any kind of this, you can only cancel main power to reset player. i got this error many times now.

    I HOPE PHILLIPS WILL FIX 1.53 SOON and replace it with a work upgrade!!!
    ITS NO FUN TO USE THIS PLAYER!!!! iam realy sad about this

  4. #49
    Moderator
    Points: 79,702, Level: 87
    Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 448
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    819
    Points
    79,702
    Level
    87
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Dear users. Philips has acknowledged the problems and is now looking into it. We are currently investigating the issue and will come back to you as soon as possible.

  5. #50
    New Member
    Points: 1,275, Level: 9
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    7
    Points
    1,275
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Dear users. Philips has acknowledged the problems and is now looking into it. We are currently investigating the issue and will come back to you as soon as possible.
    Ty i still hope....

  6. #51
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,406, Level: 10
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,406
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Dear Philips and fellow users,

    I have been having the problem with video files (.avi, .mpg, .mkv,...) longer than 10 minutes and not being able to stop or pause them after a while because the player would just keep playing the video without responding.

    No extensive testing but found an improvement...

    While watching a blu-ray three days ago, I noticed the blu-ray was displayed as 1020p / 24 Hz through HDMI.
    I changed the following setting:
    Home > Setup > Video > HDMI Video: changed from Auto to 1080p.

    Tried three files. I am getting the following improvements:
    - Videos load faster
    - same quality or better (Blu-Ray improved)
    - can now pause and stop the three videos I tested (was not working before changing the setting)
    Will require more testing to confirm this can be a workaround.

    However, when playing mp3's. The following defect came: the sound starts playing and I have to wait 5 seconds for the screen to show up. Not the end of the world but worth sharing.

    Just for the record, my settings are:
    Home > Setup > Video >
    HDMI Video: 1080p
    Component Video: 1080i
    Picture settings: standard

    Hope it can be of some help.

    No downgrade of the firmware done so far, and I don't know where to get an older version anyway.

    Regards,

    Bertrand
    Last edited by bertrandh; 05-04-2011 at 06:42 AM.

  7. #52
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,446, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,446
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    bertrandh, this works for me:
    play movie - after a 2-4 min. press pause and resume movie, then control/responding works fine

  8. #53
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,406, Level: 10
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,406
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I read all my video files from a usb device.
    Yesterday evening, I tried to play a movie (2-hour video). The file worked before the upgrade.
    After 30 minutes of playing, when I wanted to pause it, the player wouldn't respond.
    There is stil an improvement: disconnecting the usb cable would keep the player frozen (not responding) in the past. Now, it brings me back to the home screen in 1 or 2 seconds and the player responds to the remote control again.

    As a conclusion:
    - the setting doesn't solve the problem,
    - however, it improves the situation. No need to use a barbarian method by removing electrity and turning the player back on later.
    -> much better
    With this new setting: if the player is not responding while playing a video file, simply disconnect the usb cable from the player and it will take you back to the home screen.

    You normally have to wait 10 minutes (if not more) before testing. Pausing and stopping has always worked for me during the first 5 minutes of playing a long file.
    Never had any problem with files shorter than 10 minutes.

  9. #54
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,446, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,446
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bertrandh View Post
    No need to use a barbarian method by removing electricity and turning the player back on later..
    hdd connected via usb - removing electrity or disconnecting the usb cable during playing - it's the same "barbarian method"

  10. #55
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,406, Level: 10
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,406
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by quapor View Post
    hdd connected via usb - removing electrity or disconnecting the usb cable during playing - it's the same "barbarian method"
    Also true.
    My point was: only having to unplug the USB cable should be better for the Blu-Ray player. (rather than stopping electricity while playing and putting it back on)
    But, yes, we still have to disconnect a cable...

    Please Philips, make a new descent firmware available to us.

  11. #56
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,401, Level: 13
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    Points
    2,401
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!

    Can someone please write step-by-step walktrough how to change Profile level from 5.1 to 4.1. I dont know how to do it with H.264 Leveleditior ? That would be very helpful.

    P.S. Very dissapointing with this player.

  12. #57
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,335, Level: 9
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bilbao
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,335
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Solution Now!
    Gretchen thanks for uploading the PREVIOUS version

  13. #58
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi Karun,
    if you want to watch L5.1 files, would you like to downgrade your player?
    v.1.31 works fine with the L5.1 profile playback.

    for a downgrade, the "walkthrough" is mentioned in the previous posts. guess this at least makes your life easier as you dont have to convert every single L5.1 file you have.
    Last edited by Carin; 05-06-2011 at 06:06 AM.

  14. #59
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,343, Level: 9
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,343
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by karun View Post
    Hi!

    Can someone please write step-by-step walktrough how to change Profile level from 5.1 to 4.1. I dont know how to do it with H.264 Leveleditior ? That would be very helpful.

    P.S. Very dissapointing with this player.

    Either use the downgrade of the firmware mentioned above or if you want to change the Level of the videofile do the following:

    Download and install the programs: MKVtoolnix (free) and the GUI for MKVextract mentioned during the installation of MKVtoolnix and H264 Leveleditor (also free). The GUI will make things easier if you don't like to deal with commandlines.

    Demux your MKV-file using MKV-Extract from the MKVtoolnix package (or the GUI) into it's different streams (video, audio, subtitels, chapters).
    Run the H264 Leveleditior and open the demuxed video stream in it, chose Level 4.1 and apply the change.
    Remux all the different streams back ito the MKV-container using MKVmerge from the MKVtoolnix package.
    Befor remuxing, make sure that you disable header-compression in the options of MKVmerge. You will also have to open the "old" MKV in the header data editor in MKVmerge in order to copy relevant informations like display aspect ratio or diplay height and display width to the new MKV, as these informations are lost when you demux.
    Sound complicated, but it's really damn easy. Just try it out.

  15. #60
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,401, Level: 13
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 49
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    11
    Points
    2,401
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have tried downgrading the player but i still cannot play .mkv files (unsupported).

    Tnx for turtorial Shurakai.

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •