Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 135
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #61
    New Member
    Points: 1,239, Level: 9
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,239
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Carin View Post
    hi Karun,
    if you want to watch L5.1 files, would you like to downgrade your player?
    v.1.31 works fine with the L5.1 profile playback.
    actually, no. I've downgraded to 1.31 and it doesn't play the files either.

  2. #62
    New Member
    Points: 1,264, Level: 9
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,264
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I can not believe that there is still no firmware update for the BDP5100. So many people tell you, that the player stops reacting to the remote when connecting an USB Device. It's soooo annoying, and it happens only sometimes I want to watch any movie from my 1tb USB Harddisk. But when it does, it's very annoying.. It seems, that it doesn't happen with version 1.31, but this version has some other problems with some MKV's (incompatible).

    So the Version 1.53 would be perfect, there just seems to be one bug somewhere in the code ? I know that you tested it and couldn't prove the issue. But it's almost impossible to prove it by testing only a few times. It also happens not immediately, always after 10 minutes i guess, after the movie starts...

    So please Philips-Team, do check it again and give us an update as soon as possible!

    Kind Regards
    Last edited by gp2; 05-11-2011 at 09:50 AM.

  3. #63
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 9
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,344
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    hi gp2,

    Agree. it s almost impossible to reproduce the prob if you test it a few times.
    but i m wondering what problem it is actually. I personally dont have this problem with my unit.
    can you play the file if it is burnt to a disc/ via DLNA? so that we can conclude that's not the problem of the file itself. it may be the compatibility of the USB used? if that's so, what USB you are using?

  4. #64
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,344, Level: 9
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,344
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by lfcapelo View Post
    actually, no. I've downgraded to 1.31 and it doesn't play the files either.
    hi Ifcapelo,

    are you referring to L5.1 profile files?

  5. #65
    New Member
    Points: 1,264, Level: 9
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,264
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I don't know if it' really necessary to reproduce, because almost every user has got ths problem, and seemes that iit doesn't happen with older firmewares than 1.53!
    It can happen on every Movie file wich is on the Harddisk, and doesn't happen with files on DVD's or Bluray. To repeat: It's only a problem with connected USB-Devices.
    I Use a 1TB Western Digital Harddisk, in an external case - works fine, but than sometimes...

  6. #66
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,406, Level: 10
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,406
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Philips contacted me this morning in private asking for files to test and reproduce the issue. Unfortunately, I still have no internet in my property...

  7. #67
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,446, Level: 10
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 104
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    22
    Points
    1,446
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    What kind of test do you mean ?
    When I watch big size video from USB port device, my player stops respond to commands sent by remote control, not only remote control, same behavior when I press buttons on front panel. So I looks that player is frozen.

  8. #68
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,439, Level: 70
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 1,111
    Overall activity: 67.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,036
    Points
    51,439
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    but the video is still playing... and if the video ends (and if the video was the last file in the usb folder) the player works perfectly again... these are my observations with my BDP9600

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #69
    New Member
    Points: 1,264, Level: 9
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 86
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    8
    Points
    1,264
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Philips contacted me this morning in private asking for files to test and reproduce the issue. Unfortunately, I still have no internet in my property...
    The issue can appear on any *.avi or *.mkv file which is larger than 700mb (that's my experience - probably every movie file). So I think they don't need a specific file!

    So what philips need to do for debugging is:

    1. Connect a harddisk with Movie-files on it (don'tknow if the size of the harddisk does matter, I use 1tb)
    2. Start a movie, and wait about 15-20 minutes (without doing anything on the remote after the movie is started)
    3. Try if the remote still reacts (repeat the process if yes)

    greetz
    Last edited by gp2; 05-13-2011 at 07:30 PM.

  10. #70
    New Member
    Points: 1,239, Level: 9
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5
    Points
    1,239
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lorraine View Post
    hi Ifcapelo,

    are you referring to L5.1 profile files?
    yes. pretty much all the files in my hard drive were playable when I had 1.18 firmware.
    upgrading to 1.53 made a lot of them stop working (5.1).
    downgrading to 1.31 still doesn't play the same files.

  11. #71
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,335, Level: 9
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bilbao
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,335
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Philips, solution now, i'm bored of waiting!!!!

  12. #72
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,335, Level: 9
    Level completed: 93%, Points required for next Level: 15
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bilbao
    Posts
    12
    Points
    1,335
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    It's been three months since we opened the thread and Philips does not offer a solution. I thought it was a serious manufacturer.

  13. #73
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,423, Level: 10
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 127
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    36
    Points
    1,423
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Think it is a serious manufacturer producing great BDP units. Just the software is too crappy sometimes

  14. #74
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,406, Level: 10
    Level completed: 28%, Points required for next Level: 144
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    28
    Points
    1,406
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    To answer the question:
    Philps asked me for a file to test and reproduce the bug.
    They want to analyze the files.

    Unfortunately, it is not a problem with specific files, it does it with all files longer than a certain length or bigger than a certain size.
    Other than that, I assume they have different ways to look into the process which causes the player to freeze.
    I suppose they are having problems to locate the cause of the error (reasonfor contacting users individually for files).

    Would be nice if Philips could provide us with an official link for an alternative while working on a solution.

  15. #75
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,528, Level: 10
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    47
    Points
    1,528
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    So, if that happens to all files that are long/ big enough, it will not be hard to reproduce the problem and address the cause I can imagine. Apparently, philips guys couldn't reproduce. That's why they are still asking.May be good just to assist like give them the name of the file or give mediainfo analysis instead of sending the whole file over. After all, it's not that difficult to help...

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •