Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4

    ZDF Mediathek fast forward and fast backward bug

    Hello,

    when using the fast farward or fast backward functions of the virtual remote. I see for fast forward, that the progress bar jumps forward then backward again. The same vice versa. So if I use fast backward, the progress bar jumps first backwards and then forward again.

    I created a video explaining, what I mean: http://www.vidup.de/v/TbkmC/

    This makes using the fast forward and fast backward difficult in ZDF Mediathek, because you have to puch the OK button so often to get forward/backward. From a user perspective, I would wish to not jump back again.

    This happens on 42PFL7695K/02 with firmware 0.140.27.0.

    Thanks for looking into. I'm not sure if this is a ZDF bug or TV software bug. Please help to understand that.

    Greets


    Stefan

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I think it is a "bug", where ZDF has to look into. The question is, if they support fast forwared/backward at all... and the virtual remote shows always that bar...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    What do you mean with
    and the virtual remote shows always that bar

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I mean, that if you activat the virtual remote in an APP, where no video is shown, also the Fast Forward button is shown... (as far as I remember)

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Yes, I know that. In this specific case, a video is shown. That's why I thought fast forward and fast backward may work.

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    yeah - I understand you - I'd like to have this feature, too. I think, it is ZDF related. And if they don't use it, they should deactivate the buttons...

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I contacted local Philips technical support. They say, that this behaviour is normal and not a bug. They say, that a solution is: Play the whole video nearly to the end without fast forward, then one is able to use fast forward and backward.

    I think answering this is really stupid. If there is a video with length of 1h and I want to look at an interesting scene at 22min, I have to play to 22min normally without fast forward. This makes fast forward unusable. So fast forward and backward only makes sense, if you want to repeat a shorter scene, when you are looking normally.

    For me, it is hard to understand, a normal audiocassette can be fast forwarded and this technique was introduced in 1963 by Philips. Fast forward also works in many other applications: mobile phones, set-top-boxes, hard disk video recorders and so on ...
    But Philips technical support germany thinks, that this is works as designed.

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    Of course, it is better to have this in a worse state as removing it completely, but this can be improved.

  9. #9
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I have an update on this.

    ZDF answered, that this is due to a definition problem in HbbTV. Fast forward and backward is not fully clear defined in the standard specification. This causes errors on some devices. ZDF did several suggestion on how to improve that situation and how to handle that. But it depends on the manufacturer if they follow that suggestions.
    But they mean, one can assume that a manufacturer like Philips will fix that problem soon, that the ZDF Mediathek gets more comfortable.

    I think it is a nice answer. Hopefully Philips will follow that. So, Philips, if you read that, please open a bug report to get here an improvement.

  10. #10
    Platinum Member
    Points: 8,349, Level: 27
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 401
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    591
    Points
    8,349
    Level
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    4
    I updated the Philips technical support germany with the answer from ZDF. They are still thinking that this is the way how fast forward and fast backward should work. They do not expect another bahaviour. This is so silly. Everybody can see that it nearly does not work.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •