Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 271, Level: 3
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registeredNew Achievement!250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    9
    Points
    271
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    My "socalled" smart tv cant see/read subtitles

    Hi! A week ago I bought this, Philips 4000 series Smart LED-TV 32PFL4047T 81 cm (32'') Full HD 1080p DVB-T2/C med Pixel Plus HD, and I was told it should be able to play movies and subtitles from my usb drive. So far Ive found out that it can play movies (avi, mkv) but not subs (srt). And now it really bothers me, because that was one of the key reasons why I bought this tv. And from what Ive read it should be able to play subs, so I dont get it.
    When I plug my usb drive to the tv, only the movie titles appear on the screen, and not the subs (they are like invisible).

    Anyone have a solution to this?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,026, Level: 69
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,022
    Points
    51,026
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    you need to activate the subtitle manually - press option key and chose subtitle...

    Also the SRT need to have the same name as the video file:

    - movie.avi
    - movie.srt

    Toengel@Alex

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Toengel For This Useful Post:

    baracudaz (03-03-2014)

  4. #3
    New Member
    Points: 271, Level: 3
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    31 days registeredNew Achievement!250 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    9
    Points
    271
    Level
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi!
    Thanks a lot for your answer and solution, now it works:-)

  5. #4
    New Member
    Points: 87, Level: 1
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3
    Points
    87
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, I have more or less the same problem with DVD's that I put on my 'server' PC (copy/paste of the DVD content). I can find them and play them on my tv (40PFL5507H/12) AND I cannot activate the subtitles as have been indicated by Toengel in this topic. How come?
    More problems: I can't navigate on the DVD menu, which is also very user unfriendly. Why is that?
    In other words: it's not usable at all!
    Last edited by ib130258; 11-27-2012 at 12:40 PM.

  6. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by ib130258 View Post
    Hi, I have more or less the same problem with DVD's that I put on my 'server' PC (copy/paste of the DVD content). I can find them and play them on my tv (40PFL5507H/12) AND I cannot activate the subtitles as have been indicated by Toengel in this topic. How come?
    More problems: I can't navigate on the DVD menu, which is also very user unfriendly. Why is that?
    In other words: it's not usable at all!
    How do you dump DVDs ?
    If you create ISO files (such as me), it looks like they are not supported (I don't know officialy, I just noticed myself).
    If you just copy/paste the directories, then you won't have much success either.
    But trnasforming into mpg file (well, you just do the main film, you can't keep menus for instance), then that should/will work.

  7. #6
    New Member
    Points: 87, Level: 1
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3
    Points
    87
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    You can play the film when copy/paste the content of the dvd to the pc. What's the point in converting the dvd into mpg? Losing quality, losing time? For amusement? What's the point? Why having a network connection on a tv anyway?
    I don't get it!
    Same problem with blu-ray ...

  8. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by ib130258 View Post
    You can play the film when copy/paste the content of the dvd to the pc. What's the point in converting the dvd into mpg? Losing quality, losing time? For amusement? What's the point? Why having a network connection on a tv anyway?
    I don't get it!
    Same problem with blu-ray ...
    Well DVDs are already in mpg.
    This is simpler than converting again, and there is no loss of quality.
    Audio may have to be converted again, but not video.
    I'm sure there are tools for that... but don't get me wrong, I would love that the TV could open directories as well. Or ISO files at least. I was just trying to propose a bypass solution and trying to help.

    The TV does many things, but not completely. For sure you are right about that.
    My estimation is that the player opens 80% of the files I have on my NAS. This is not perfect, but not that bad. But I'm happy I don't have so many DVDs I dumped in ISO files (Most are compressed into good quality Divx because of disk size).
    And well, ... I'm happy I have an external media player (XBMC).

  9. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,026, Level: 69
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,022
    Points
    51,026
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    you can only copy DVD content, if the content is not encrypted... Of course, you can use a "copy" tool... but in some countries it's not "allowed"...

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Well, for sure encryption is a topic by itself. In quite a few countries you can copy for personal use (using dvdshrink for instance).

    And I made quite a few DVDs myself with personal stuff (family, friends, or even for professional purpose). Keeping the DVD format makes it easier to burn and give a DVD to someone else.

    @Toengel : do you know for sure if the "VIDEO_TS" directory can be read by TV's embedded player ?
    I doubt this is so but I have never tested myself.

  11. #10
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    On this site there is a list of VOB to MPG converters

    I use DVDlab for authoring (building the DVD from .mpg files). I'm not used to those tools.

    Again, I understand the benefit of being able to read (uncrypted) VIDEO_TS directory dumps.

    Philips ? what can you say about it.

  12. #11
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,026, Level: 69
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,022
    Points
    51,026
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    I don't know, if the TV can read the VIDEO_TS stuff... I have a BDP, which can play DVDs and BDs :-))

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #12
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,388, Level: 10
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1000 Experience Points1 year registered

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    176
    Points
    1,388
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Rep Power
    2
    Sometimes you know more than what you own
    this could be within specs, or not.

  14. #13
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,026, Level: 69
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,022
    Points
    51,026
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    for such things, I would suggest to take a look at the HMP7001 media player... I think it can read ISO files...

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #14
    New Member
    Points: 87, Level: 1
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 63
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    7 days registeredNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3
    Points
    87
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Guys and girls, it's so easy: copy/paste the content of a DVD to an networkshare (trought a mediaserver of course) and the TV (at least mine) can play the DVD. The problem is that you can't get away with the menu's, you can't get control of them.
    I have no idea what's causing it - I have the same problem with my brand new DB player (inclusive the last software updates) from LG. LG at least recognize the problem and they are looking for a solution.
    Why converting DVD anyway?
    ISO-images is another matter, this is complicating the problem and you don't save much?
    Converting to divx makes sense looking at space, but you loose the rest of the DVD ... not a solution for mu issue.

  16. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,026, Level: 69
    Level completed: 92%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,022
    Points
    51,026
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 174 Times in 155 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    just copy/paste the content of a DVD does not decrypt the encrypted commercial DVDs...


    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. New "Smart TV" user interface
    By Philips - Mark in forum Smart TV: User Interface
    Replies: 244
    Last Post: 06-29-2013, 03:30 AM
  2. 400 Smart LED 37" Philips TV
    By daphnewarburton in forum Sound: Other Models
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-29-2012, 01:00 PM
  3. "Favourites" list of channels resetting back to "All"
    By mikensen in forum TV: Software 2012 models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-29-2012, 08:59 AM
  4. No "My Youtube"? No "My Twonky"?
    By MCCM in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-21-2012, 07:36 AM
  5. [Wish] Add the subtitles "Character set" also in the global settings
    By stoyan89 in forum Blu-ray: Share Your Wish List and Insights
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 04:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •