Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 53
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 79,535, Level: 87
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 615
    Overall activity: 99.4%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    818
    Points
    79,535
    Level
    87
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Supported CODEC overview for ALL models (TV, HTS, and Blu-ray)

    Please find attached an overview of all supported CODEC's in our model numbers. Now not only for TV but also for HTS (HTSxxxx) and Blu-ray (BDPxxxx) players.

    Codec_table_all.xls
    Codec_table_all.pdf

    You can consult this file to see if your movie file is playable on your product.
    1. Analyse with e.g. Mediainfo or G-spot your movie file (both are freeware programs).
    2. With this info (audio and video codec), check in the XLS overview if this format is supported.
    3. If, according to the XLS overview, this format is supported but it still does not play on your model (*), contact your local help desk.

    (*) If the format is NOT supported, you might consider converting it to a format that IS supported. There are several freeware programs for doing this. Consider www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html or www.pcfreetime.com.
    Last edited by Philips admin; 03-13-2012 at 08:54 AM. Reason: Added PDF file.
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,766, Level: 11
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,766
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This means it is impossible to watch _any_ video from an "Open Internet" address via NetTV -> Internet with 2010 TV devices??

    Are all the other NetTV sources filtered/transformed through a specific NetTV-proxy like

    itv.mit-xperts.com/zdfmediathek/
    nettv.cinetrailer.it/philips/
    nettv.tomtom.com

    ?

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Please find attached an overview of all supported CODEC's in our model numbers. Now not only for TV but also for HTS (HTSxxxx) and Blu-ray (BDPxxxx) players.

    Attachment 164

    This file is an MS Excel file that you can consult to see if your movie file is playable on your product.
    1. Analyse with e.g. Mediainfo or G-spot your movie file (both are freeware programs).
    2. With this info (audio and video codec), check in the XLS overview if this format is supported.
    3. If, according to the XLS overview, this format is supported but it still does not play on your model (*), contact your local help desk.

    (*) If the format is NOT supported, you might consider converting it to a format that IS supported. There are several freeware programs for doing this. Consider www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html or www.pcfreetime.com.
    Thanks Philips for accurate information

    Not listed in the table row TV2010-models for "avi" in "File Extension". I guess it is a mistake, right?. In my TV 40PFL8605 I can play without problems the "avi" and see "avi" in the table of TV2009.

    Moreover, by DLNA, I could not play any of the six or seven "mkv" with "H.264" and "MP3" I've tried. I guess it would not meet any of the other parameters (container, resolution, frame rate, bit rate). Is the resolution has to be exactly 1920x1080p to 1920x1080 or is it?.

    In the first two rows of the table models TV2010, are empty values "File Extension" and "Container". I suppose in both rows, they mean mkv (File Extension) and "MKV" (Container), right?.

    I would appreciate clarification of the issues.

    Best regards
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    you could use mediainfo.sourceforge.net to take a look at the used codecs in the media files (switch to text mode in mediainfo).

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    you could use mediainfo.sourceforge.net to take a look at the used codecs in the media files (switch to text mode in mediainfo).

    Toengel@Alex
    Thanks Toengel,

    In future I will do as you say sometimes.

    However, they also appreciate it if Philips, or yourself, I clarify the other issues I asked ..

    Greetings

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,582, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 268
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25
    Points
    1,582
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I found that my BDP5100 also recoginzes and plays files with extension .mov and .vob, in addition to what is explained in codec table.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,308, Level: 9
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,308
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I got 40PFL7605H/12 and I am having problem with .mkv I have tryed about 7 files and just one was possible to read. I don't know if it's something I am doing wrong or it's codec problems.

    The file I could read with the program MediaInfo say:
    1 video stream: AVC - Writing application: mkvmerge v4.0.0
    1 audio stream: AC-3 - Writing library: libebml v1.0.0 + libmatroska v1.0.0

    The files I could not read
    1 video stream: AVC - Writing application: mkvmerge v3.2.0
    1 audio stream: DTS - Writing library: libebml v0.7.9 + libmatroska v0.8.1

    1 video stream: AVC - Writing application: mkvmerge v3.1.0
    1 audio stream: DTS - Writing library: libebml v0.7.9 + libmatroska v0.8.1

    Any help please.

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Philips' TVs do not handle files with DTS at all. This of course makes the internal :media player" useless, so its better to use an external one. Also, subtitles are not supported.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,439, Level: 10
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,439
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I use TVersity MediaServer to stream pictures, music and movies (.avi) via LAN from my server.
    For some reason, I seem to be unable to play .mkv and .m4v files both via DLNA and USB on my BDP5100.
    Any attempt to play .mkv will result in error message complaining about the file format.
    Upon purchase, my BDP5100 had firmware version 1.27 installed.
    I then upgraded to 1.31, then 1.53 (latest one?), but still no luck with my matroska-videos.
    Found a tip in another thread suggesting renaming .mkv's to -avi would bypass this problem, but it did not provide any solution to me.
    Please advise.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,288, Level: 13
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30
    Points
    2,288
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    Also, subtitles are not supported.
    That's something I really want them to add. They should support these to 100%.
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...itles/ssa.html
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...itles/srt.html
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...es/images.html

    And of course, it should also support as many codecs as possible from here, especially DTS and Vorbis audio would be nice.
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...cid/index.html
    Last edited by Freddo; 03-23-2011 at 08:13 AM.

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I have Foobar2000 set up as UPnP server for music files - it works very well.
    It is transcoding Flac to Wav for my Philips 37PFL7605H/12 TV.

    Why doesn't Philips include the Flac codec on their products?
    It's a Free Lossless Audio Codec...

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Philips, Toengel,

    Funny to constat only proprietary format are playable on cheap cpu and none of the free format have powerfull enought cpu.
    Funny to constat a 'container' format is hard to understand.
    The response to this is easy
    -fully describe the build process to get the autorun.upg
    -or release an alternative unsupported version that you may use for feedback testing.

    HDCP is dead. It's a matter of some years before a chineese manufacturer produce a chip with the master key, always saying "ok, send me your valuable data on the secure link" ;-)

    For people reading this, HDCP is the main source of problem when connecting HDMI devices. Every device in the world have a bug free implementation of mpeg, of mp3, of h264. And HDCP comes on top of that to break simple things. Manufacturers decide by default that their customers are robbers. Yes no more. (http://www.abccables.com/info-hdmi-problems.html)

    Software is the only component you can rely on to differentiate. Remember that. It will take ~five years to sort out wich one is good. Remember also that with the poor hardware design, a product is 4/5 years life before going to trash (ah green bashing marketing). Moving to another manufacturer is very fast.


    Franck

  13. #13
    New Member
    Points: 1,117, Level: 8
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 33
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,117
    Level
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    +1
    it's elementary to fully support standard formats for HD videos, like MKV.
    Also, every lame no-brand product plays subtitle files, so as someone who goes for a higher-end product, I would expect they'll make an effort and have these features long ago.

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yanayz
    Also, every lame no-brand product plays subtitle files,
    yes yes yes, the small unknown company have to be perfect, full of software (cheaper than hardware). The mastodonte can produce low-low-low-end product and sell it as high-end with it's marketing power.

    Franck

  15. #15
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,073, Level: 12
    Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 77
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Posts
    90
    Points
    2,073
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Pfff, I mean really, subtitles (at LEAST .SRT) must be supported. Anything else is just non-sense.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •