Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 53
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #16
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you don't understood what I said. Memory space (as you suggested by removing the demo video) has nothing to do with CPU/hardware limitation. If the hardware isn't powerful enough to decode a movie (with a special codec), I fully understand why the codec isn't implemented...

    BTW - you can't sell TVs or any other HDMI device without HDCP... licensing/content owner rights... think about that. If you don't get that you live in a dream world...

    Toengel@Alex

  2. #17
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello Philips, Toengel,

    Funny to constat only proprietary format are playable on cheap cpu and none of the free format have powerfull enought cpu.
    Funny to constat a 'container' format is hard to understand.
    The response to this is easy
    -fully describe the build process to get the autorun.upg
    -or release an alternative unsupported version that you may use for feedback testing.

    HDCP is dead. It's a matter of some years before a chineese manufacturer produce a chip with the master key, always saying "ok, send me your valuable data on the secure link" ;-)

    For people reading this, HDCP is the main source of problem when connecting HDMI devices. Every device in the world have a bug free implementation of mpeg, of mp3, of h264. And HDCP comes on top of that to break simple things. Manufacturers decide by default that their customers are robbers. Yes no more. (http://www.abccables.com/info-hdmi-problems.html)

    Software is the only component you can rely on to differentiate. Remember that. It will take ~five years to sort out wich one is good. Remember also that with the poor hardware design, a product is 4/5 years life before going to trash (ah green bashing marketing). Moving to another manufacturer is very fast.


    Franck

  3. #18
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    On my PC I can't play HD-MKVs without problems (my hardware isn't powerful enough) - even when I installed the right codecs... Think about that...

    Toengel@Alex
    Hello To Engel,

    You run a windows os probably. The problem with this system is that most of cpu power is used against you (native drm). Second you probably added a ton of antivirus antispam antianything programs. You don't have a lot of your cpu power working for you..

    Luckily, a linux tv (or linux pc) have much less problem ;-)
    Franck

  4. #19
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by Franck78 View Post
    You run a windows os probably.
    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Franck78 View Post
    The problem with this system is that most of cpu power is used against you (native drm).
    No. What DRM? Context is missing...

    Quote Originally Posted by Franck78 View Post
    Second you probably added a ton of antivirus antispam antianything programs.
    No.

    Quote Originally Posted by Franck78 View Post
    You don't have a lot of your cpu power working for you..
    All my CPU power is working for me. No power consuming program runs in the background.

    Quote Originally Posted by Franck78 View Post
    Luckily, a linux tv (or linux pc) have much less problem ;-)
    90% of failure are sitting in front of the computer. So each computer is only as good as the user who uses the computer...

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #20
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    ... cpu is working for me ...
    oh oh not at all :
    Read beginning of this.
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx or
    http://blogs.msdn.com/b/silverlight_...rotection.aspx

    Just the visible part of the iceberg. The full OS is designed in the unique goal of preventing you from bypassing the drm and take possession of premuim data. This code assume you are a robber and builds barriers working against you.

    Maxim DS3655 : hardware is designed just for this purpose. Be sure that if anyday, mobo manufacturers add some tampering detection circuitry on buses, windows will monitor it, without asking you.

  6. #21
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    if you want to complain about Microsoft OS go to some freaking linux nerds forum...

    This forum is intended to help each other regarding Philips releated products. Not complaining about what is not supported.

    If you want a all-in-one device / swiss army knife, just build up your own HTPC or buy a dreambox.

    All other discussions are not in the scope of this forum...

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #22
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Recentrate the topic

    It is about codec (and container)

    The hardware is power enougth to decode mp3 (320kbs,vbr??) but not similar free codec (flac/ogg).
    Same for video.

    Well, why not after all. The heart of the system is the NXP85500 circuit (or TV550).
    http://www.tridentmicro.com/productt...v550-pnx8550x/
    Difficult to find what is hardware vs what is software in this chip.
    Multi-standard digitial video decoder (MPEG-2, H.264, MPEG-4) and difficult to imagine engineers limited such a chipset to proprietary codecs only.

    Fixing container format is only a matter a political decision, not hardware. Manufacturers are afraid of loosing their market share over controled captive users.

    Franck
    Last edited by Franck78; 04-17-2011 at 09:15 PM. Reason: nxp85500 found in service manual

  8. #23
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Franck78, contributed nothing to this forum, do not say anything of interest for this thread, and, worst of all, you do not know what you're talking about.

    Why do not you just shut up?.

    You're a blablabla.

  9. #24
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    And today's new is Philips giving up with the flat panel tv.
    Just ask yourself Jomsp why it was not a plebicist in 10 years ?
    http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php...824&newsletter

    Bye

  10. #25
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    If you have problems with codecs comment on it.
    Otherwise, refrain from blablabla.

  11. #26
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    "with codecs comment on it. "
    oh, yes, with containers first then

    Quote Originally Posted by wikipedia
    M4V is a file container format used by Apple's iTunes application. The M4V file format is a video file format developed by Apple and is very close to MP4 format. The differences are the optional Apple's DRM copyright protection, and the treatment of AC3 (Dolby Digital) audio which is not standardized for MP4 container.
    I have riped some dvd with handbrake and used the m4v container. Files with m4v extension are not listed (nor read of course). Rename it with mp4 extension and it becomes readeable.

    ->identifying file formats with extension only is more than a joke in 2011.
    m4v container is fully readable. Sending the track to the correct codec is next step.

    F.

  12. #27
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    An AVI container not readeable this time.

    Two tracks inside (normal for avi hein)

    Video codec: MS MPEG-4 Video v3 (DIV3) res=576x304
    Audio codec: MPEG Audio layer 1/2/3 48khz 128kb/s


    What is the problem ?

  13. #28
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    another similar non working AVI

    MS MPEG-4Video v2 (MP42)
    MPEG Audio layer 1/2/3 (mpga) 44100hz 128kbs

    Want funny behavior ?
    Rename something with mp3 extension and the tv displays a beautiful music reader unable to do anything.

    So yes, there is lot to do to produce a good software. Philips said it can't make money with TV ? Laughting. People can put money when the product is high level finish. Sadly it is not the case. No more european manufacturer since today. Korean/Japan will decide for us now.


    Franck

  14. #29
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    @Philips

    your Excel sheet does not include the AVI file format for 2010 TV series...

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #30
    New Member
    Points: 1,197, Level: 9
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 153
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Praha/Czech Republic
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,197
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello, I'm having the same problem playing mkv files on my BDP5100. I downloaded the MediaInfo program and checked out one of my mkv files, now what? The results don't say much to me. I also took a look at the list of valid codecs for Philips products and am not sure what to make of it. Does the Philips BDP5100 play mkv files? If so, could explain in simple directions how to play them. Should I just try every mkv file and when it works it works and when it doesn't it doesn't? Should I modify the mkv file somehow, eg change the mkv ending to avi? Please help. I love the product; I just would like to understand it better and have it play mkvs. Thank you.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •