Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 53
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Moderator
    Points: 76,044, Level: 85
    Level completed: 71%, Points required for next Level: 506
    Overall activity: 47.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation First ClassTagger First Class50000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Veteran
    Philips's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    810
    Points
    76,044
    Level
    85
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Thumbs up Supported CODEC overview for ALL models (TV, HTS, and Blu-ray)

    Please find attached an overview of all supported CODEC's in our model numbers. Now not only for TV but also for HTS (HTSxxxx) and Blu-ray (BDPxxxx) players.

    Codec_table_all.xls
    Codec_table_all.pdf

    You can consult this file to see if your movie file is playable on your product.
    1. Analyse with e.g. Mediainfo or G-spot your movie file (both are freeware programs).
    2. With this info (audio and video codec), check in the XLS overview if this format is supported.
    3. If, according to the XLS overview, this format is supported but it still does not play on your model (*), contact your local help desk.

    (*) If the format is NOT supported, you might consider converting it to a format that IS supported. There are several freeware programs for doing this. Consider www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html or www.pcfreetime.com.
    Last edited by Philips admin; 03-13-2012 at 08:54 AM. Reason: Added PDF file.
    Forum Mod

  2. #2
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,766, Level: 11
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,766
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    This means it is impossible to watch _any_ video from an "Open Internet" address via NetTV -> Internet with 2010 TV devices??

    Are all the other NetTV sources filtered/transformed through a specific NetTV-proxy like

    itv.mit-xperts.com/zdfmediathek/
    nettv.cinetrailer.it/philips/
    nettv.tomtom.com

    ?

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    Please find attached an overview of all supported CODEC's in our model numbers. Now not only for TV but also for HTS (HTSxxxx) and Blu-ray (BDPxxxx) players.

    Attachment 164

    This file is an MS Excel file that you can consult to see if your movie file is playable on your product.
    1. Analyse with e.g. Mediainfo or G-spot your movie file (both are freeware programs).
    2. With this info (audio and video codec), check in the XLS overview if this format is supported.
    3. If, according to the XLS overview, this format is supported but it still does not play on your model (*), contact your local help desk.

    (*) If the format is NOT supported, you might consider converting it to a format that IS supported. There are several freeware programs for doing this. Consider www.erightsoft.com/SUPER.html or www.pcfreetime.com.
    Thanks Philips for accurate information

    Not listed in the table row TV2010-models for "avi" in "File Extension". I guess it is a mistake, right?. In my TV 40PFL8605 I can play without problems the "avi" and see "avi" in the table of TV2009.

    Moreover, by DLNA, I could not play any of the six or seven "mkv" with "H.264" and "MP3" I've tried. I guess it would not meet any of the other parameters (container, resolution, frame rate, bit rate). Is the resolution has to be exactly 1920x1080p to 1920x1080 or is it?.

    In the first two rows of the table models TV2010, are empty values "File Extension" and "Container". I suppose in both rows, they mean mkv (File Extension) and "MKV" (Container), right?.

    I would appreciate clarification of the issues.

    Best regards
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,538, Level: 69
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,981
    Points
    50,538
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you could use mediainfo.sourceforge.net to take a look at the used codecs in the media files (switch to text mode in mediainfo).

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    you could use mediainfo.sourceforge.net to take a look at the used codecs in the media files (switch to text mode in mediainfo).

    Toengel@Alex
    Thanks Toengel,

    In future I will do as you say sometimes.

    However, they also appreciate it if Philips, or yourself, I clarify the other issues I asked ..

    Greetings

  6. #6
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,582, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 268
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    25
    Points
    1,582
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I found that my BDP5100 also recoginzes and plays files with extension .mov and .vob, in addition to what is explained in codec table.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 1,308, Level: 9
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1,308
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I got 40PFL7605H/12 and I am having problem with .mkv I have tryed about 7 files and just one was possible to read. I don't know if it's something I am doing wrong or it's codec problems.

    The file I could read with the program MediaInfo say:
    1 video stream: AVC - Writing application: mkvmerge v4.0.0
    1 audio stream: AC-3 - Writing library: libebml v1.0.0 + libmatroska v1.0.0

    The files I could not read
    1 video stream: AVC - Writing application: mkvmerge v3.2.0
    1 audio stream: DTS - Writing library: libebml v0.7.9 + libmatroska v0.8.1

    1 video stream: AVC - Writing application: mkvmerge v3.1.0
    1 audio stream: DTS - Writing library: libebml v0.7.9 + libmatroska v0.8.1

    Any help please.

  8. #8
    Platinum Member
    Points: 4,691, Level: 20
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Posts
    640
    Points
    4,691
    Level
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Philips' TVs do not handle files with DTS at all. This of course makes the internal :media player" useless, so its better to use an external one. Also, subtitles are not supported.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 1,439, Level: 10
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registeredTagger Second Class1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,439
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I use TVersity MediaServer to stream pictures, music and movies (.avi) via LAN from my server.
    For some reason, I seem to be unable to play .mkv and .m4v files both via DLNA and USB on my BDP5100.
    Any attempt to play .mkv will result in error message complaining about the file format.
    Upon purchase, my BDP5100 had firmware version 1.27 installed.
    I then upgraded to 1.31, then 1.53 (latest one?), but still no luck with my matroska-videos.
    Found a tip in another thread suggesting renaming .mkv's to -avi would bypass this problem, but it did not provide any solution to me.
    Please advise.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 2,288, Level: 13
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 162
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30
    Points
    2,288
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by petasis View Post
    Also, subtitles are not supported.
    That's something I really want them to add. They should support these to 100%.
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...itles/ssa.html
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...itles/srt.html
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...es/images.html

    And of course, it should also support as many codecs as possible from here, especially DTS and Vorbis audio would be nice.
    http://www.matroska.org/technical/sp...cid/index.html
    Last edited by Freddo; 03-23-2011 at 08:13 AM.

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,014, Level: 12
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 136
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    158
    Points
    2,014
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    I have Foobar2000 set up as UPnP server for music files - it works very well.
    It is transcoding Flac to Wav for my Philips 37PFL7605H/12 TV.

    Why doesn't Philips include the Flac codec on their products?
    It's a Free Lossless Audio Codec...

  12. #12
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,766, Level: 11
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 84
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    23
    Points
    1,766
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Philips View Post
    If the format is NOT supported, you might consider converting it to a format that IS supported. There are several freeware programs for doing this.
    This is also a nice transcoder:
    http://www.mediacoderhq.com/

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello,

    The TV (32pfl7605 fr me) have a base software running it that is called LINUX.

    LINUX is a totally free (in term of license).

    ALL the free (money this time) codec are available first under the free linux system. ALL.
    They are debugged, tuned, discussed, tested first on linux platforms.

    PHILIPS have absolutly NO GOOD REASON to remove the support already existing for theses codecs. They are OPEN STANDART, they are available, they are free to use, they are tested, they are KNOWN.

    CONVERTING openformat to closed format IS NO A VALID RESPONSE.

    Franck

  14. #14
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,538, Level: 69
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,981
    Points
    50,538
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 171 Times in 153 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    however, the Philips TV CPU and hardware are limited. You can't easily add codecs and hope anything is alright... On my PC I can't play HD-MKVs without problems (my hardware isn't powerful enough) - even when I installed the right codecs... Think about that...

    Toengel@Alex

  15. #15
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,583, Level: 11
    Level completed: 11%, Points required for next Level: 267
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    40
    Points
    1,583
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    however, the Philips TV CPU and hardware are limited.

    Toengel@Alex
    ah, then I suggest removal of useless DEMO video. Or useless scenea program.
    That's for room.

    AVI, MKV, MP4 etc etc are containers only. No cpu hog here. Just some kbytes of code (not even one meg) to extract sound tracks, video track, subtitle tracks or lyrics ;-)

    Video codec, ok I didn't open the tv to see if it uses hardware decoders.

    Sound codec, no excuse here, it decodes mp3, it can decode flac and ogg and every other phone codecs.

    There is no technically valid reason. Philips just thinks that 98% customers think microsoft/mac are the only systems. Why bother for 2% knowing reality. Of course, it is hard to say it while using the alternative system !

    Invest some money in real project/program like VLC to have real video system in your tv. Philips (as others TV manufacturers) is not able to write good code. Writing code is not the same job as making electronics devices. It is not your job. You just start discovering this with the JOINTSPACE project released to public; with every encryption system you wrote has been cracked; with HDCP now cracked also.

    One more tip : remove HDCP from HDMI, it will free more room for good code and eliminate thousands of compatibility supports problems with others products.

    Think that making a TV becomes only a matter of assembling common subsystems. An LCD, not made by you, a microprocessor board or good pc board, not made by you, a standart tnt tuner, not made by you. And glueing software made by you.
    Anybody can make TV. No more complicated analog video circuit, secam/pal/ntsc decoders or nicam sound knowledge. No more complicated cathode ray tube with deviations circuits and HT pump.

    The software is the only component where Philips can be better than others. And no one will says you started race in the pole position ;-)


    Franck

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •