Results 1 to 11 of 11
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 1,468, Level: 10
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,468
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Subtitles in .avi file (solution)

    Manage to "add" the subtitles in .avi file. Here is how to do it.

    In english...
    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/arch...ubs_to_avi.cfm

    In finnish...
    http://fin.afterdawn.com/oppaat/arki...edostoihin.cfm

    It takes little work at the first time but its worth it. I encounter couple of broblems in the way but solved them with little thinking.

    I`l be happy to help with the problems with the information i gathered during the process.

    Not so hard after all. Hope this helps someone.
    It is worth a try!

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 51,912, Level: 70
    Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 638
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    6,059
    Points
    51,912
    Level
    70
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 176 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi,

    your links aren't working...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 1,843, Level: 11
    Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second Class1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    Points
    1,843
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 1,468, Level: 10
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 82
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    3
    Points
    1,468
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Oh, sorry about the links.

    Here is the other one.

    Suomeksi. http://fin.afterdawn.com/oppaat/arki...edostoihin.cfm

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 1,430, Level: 10
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 120
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Points
    1,430
    Level
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hello, this is very useful and "funny", because.
    Useful, because, it is a solution to see movies with subtitles on Philips tv, on the other side,
    it is "funny", i´m being sarcastic, because, see a .avi movie in a Full HD TV is the worst thing since movies recorded on cinemas.
    In a Philips Full HD tv, we want to see mkv at minimum, because there is quality in the file, we have motion plus and the use of all characteristics from the TV, not in a .avi file.
    So, the problem is to add on subtitles, there is some programs, but it takes several hours to get it.
    I think that the big solution for my and your TV, is to get a multimedia disk that makes FULL HD with an output of 1080P and start to see big quality.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 1,280, Level: 9
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Murcia / Spain
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,280
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    PS3 Media Server (a DLNA/UPNP media server) with Philips profile works like a charm for my 40PFL7605H (no PS3 required). It adds subtitles on the fly: No codecs installation, no additional soft, no wait at all.

    I hope it helps.

  7. #7
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,623, Level: 11
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 227
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Málaga/España
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,623
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NetDancer View Post
    PS3 Media Server (a DLNA/UPNP media server) with Philips profile works like a charm for my 40PFL7605H (no PS3 required). It adds subtitles on the fly: No codecs installation, no additional soft, no wait at all.

    I hope it helps.
    Ummm... interesting.
    Do you know if the media server make transcoding?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 1,280, Level: 9
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Murcia / Spain
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,280
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kralizeck View Post
    Ummm... interesting.
    Do you know if the media server make transcoding?
    Yes, if necessary. You can configure the transcoding conditions in the server, or activate transcoding at anytime from the tv itself (the server shows "virtual" subfolders on the tv with the transcoded version of the media files). Sorry about my english level.

  9. #9
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,951, Level: 12
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy / FVG
    Posts
    101
    Points
    1,951
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by NetDancer View Post
    PS3 Media Server (a DLNA/UPNP media server) with Philips profile works like a charm for my 40PFL7605H
    I installed PS3 Media Server on my laptop, but what do you mean with "Philips profile"? Did you create a new profile (if so, how?) or did you already find a Philips profile on PS3 Media Server (if so, which version are you using?)

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 1,280, Level: 9
    Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Murcia / Spain
    Posts
    6
    Points
    1,280
    Level
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by pistoiaa View Post
    I installed PS3 Media Server on my laptop, but what do you mean with "Philips profile"? Did you create a new profile (if so, how?) or did you already find a Philips profile on PS3 Media Server (if so, which version are you using?)
    v1.20.412 - Includes a generic Philips profile that will autodetect your TV. Also you can tweak it to improve compatibility editing the Philips.conf file. Check PS3 Media Server forum for user examples & custom configurations from other users with Philips TVs.

    I will post here my config if required, but it's nothing special.

  11. #11
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,951, Level: 12
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 199
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Italy / FVG
    Posts
    101
    Points
    1,951
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    5
    Thank you NetDancer, I will try to download that Version, mine is currently 1.10.51

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •