Results 1 to 8 of 8
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 70, Level: 1
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    70
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Media Connect not working

    I've just bought a 22" TV (22PFL3517T/12) and bought the pta101 USB for Media Connect. It installed and offers access to Youtube, but will not recognise my PC (Windows 7). I have read that for the TV to be visible within the network, the “Show PC media files” setting which is located in the “Network settings” menu should be set to “ON”. I have tried but this option is not in the Settings. Have tried all other advice including firewalls etc.

    Initial joy of a great product is fast evaporating....

    Any help appreciated.

    Geoff

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,587, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 763
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,697
    Points
    47,587
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    the Wifi-MediaConnect software does not work with your TV. However, if you register your TV at MyPhilips/Club Philips, you can download Twonky Media Server + Key.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 70, Level: 1
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    70
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks. Will this work for my Mac as well? And do I need the USB pta01 still?

    Geoff

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,587, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 763
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,697
    Points
    47,587
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    on the support webpage of your TV you will also find an installer for Mac - the software also works for 4 weeks in trial mode - just try it.

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 70, Level: 1
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    70
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Software is described as 'MediaManager + Server' but I only seem to have MediaManager. Am I missing something - I cannot see how to stream to TV with this?
    Geoff

  6. #6
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,587, Level: 67
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 763
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,697
    Points
    47,587
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    you can share media files with the software. Then you start your TV and chose something like "browse PC"... then you can see the content of your PC (you can only pull FROM your TV model - but not push to TV).

    Toengel@Alex

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 70, Level: 1
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    70
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for help. Still having problems. On the Mac, the 2 software items installed seem to do the same thing - in that they allow you to view your photos and videos stored on your Mac on your TV, but nothing more.

    I did try with the 'big' software called Media Manager and streaming of just a 28 second video stalls after one second and starts again for one second 15 seconds later etc. Message makes it clear there is no audio however. No good for films.

    Number 2 software. TwontyStarter, not much help. It seems to be a taster of a package. All the 'open file' options are greyed out. Followed a link to MyTwonky and it explains if you download it can stream your videos (no mention if audio will work) to apple tv or your own tv.

    No way to watch iplayer (which is primary need).

    Any further advice welcomed.

    Geoff

  8. #8
    New Member
    Points: 70, Level: 1
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 80
    Overall activity: 23.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    70
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks for help. Still having problems. On the Mac, the 2 software items installed seem to do the same thing - in that they allow you to view your photos and videos stored on your Mac on your TV, but nothing more.

    I did try with the 'big' software called Media Manager and streaming of just a 28 second video stalls after one second and starts again for one second 15 seconds later etc. Message makes it clear there is no audio however. No good for films.

    Number 2 software. TwontyStarter, not much help. It seems to be a taster of a package. All the 'open file' options are greyed out. Followed a link to MyTwonky and it explains if you download it can stream your videos (no mention if audio will work) to apple tv or your own tv.

    No way to watch iplayer (which is primary need).

    Any further advice welcomed.

    Geoff

Similar Topics

  1. Wifi Media Connect stopped working!! HELP!!
    By ddelprado in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-23-2013, 04:30 PM
  2. WiFi media connect not working
    By boa in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2013, 07:51 PM
  3. Unable to connect Wifi Media Connect onto PC
    By springchua in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-13-2012, 06:51 PM
  4. Wi-Fi Media Connect asks me to cose down 'other media players'
    By bvddobb in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-27-2012, 03:55 PM
  5. WiFi Media Connect : Does not Connect Wirelessly
    By ppetkov in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2011, 11:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •