Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 37, Level: 1
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 60.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2
    Points
    37
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    PC and Philips Flat TV

    hey, im new here. but i have an philips flat tv 26PF5321. its an old one, but it has 2 HDMI ports.

    Now I want to connect the tv to my pc, but im only getting video, no audio.

    If i connect my pc to another hdmi monitor with speakers, it works.

    so my question is, is it not compatible? or am i doing something wrong?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,383, Level: 69
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 767
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,968
    Points
    50,383
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    if you have a Geforce graphics card, you need to activate HDMI-Sound in the graphics card settings.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 37, Level: 1
    Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13
    Overall activity: 60.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    2
    Points
    37
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Where exactly? there are no options in the side menu from the Nvidia control panel. btw, its a gf 7100.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Points: 540, Level: 5
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Nederland
    Posts
    6
    Points
    540
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have a problem that looks the same.
    My pc is connected with dvi to hdmi cable to my 42pfl9664H/12, perfect image but no sound.
    I connected the sound like it says in the manual but still no sound from the tv.
    I really don't understand why it is not working, tried every source on the tv but hear no sound.
    The problem is not the pc because when i try it on my amplifier is sounds great.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hdmi.jpg 
Views:	77 
Size:	119.7 KB 
ID:	1664

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 86, Level: 1
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stoke-on-Trent UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    86
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have a very similar problem. My PC is not capable of outputing sound via HDMI, only video. So I connect sound via analogue out on PC to VGA/DVI audio in on TV, as per Philips instructions. This produces no sound on TV. I an sure that the reason is because the TV expects the sound on the HDMI and so it disconects the VGA/DVI audio input. This is not very helpful and Philips should enable this audio input when HDMI is in use.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Points: 540, Level: 5
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Nederland
    Posts
    6
    Points
    540
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    As you see on the image witch i copied from the manual it is the way to connect the pc to the tv but it doesn't work. The input is also not working wen i try the sound without connecting the HDMI.

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 86, Level: 1
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stoke-on-Trent UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    86
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    I have now found that on my 4007T/12 the DVI/VGA audio input on the TV only works when there is a PC connected to the VGA socket on the PC. I can now use my old PC with picture and sound, but not with HDMI. This is a backward step as most new PC's do not have a VGA connector.

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,383, Level: 69
    Level completed: 46%, Points required for next Level: 767
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,968
    Points
    50,383
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 169 Times in 151 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    when you connect your PC with HDMI, you can also transmit audio via HDMI...

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    New Member
    Points: 50, Level: 1
    Level completed: 33%, Points required for next Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1
    Points
    50
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: PC and Philips Flat TV

    I suggest ,Try another TV or PC to test which of them are still working and to determine wherein the ruined.

    tv art

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 540, Level: 5
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 10
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    3 months registeredNew Achievement!500 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Nederland
    Posts
    6
    Points
    540
    Level
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    when you connect your PC with HDMI, you can also transmit audio via HDMI...

    Toengel@Alex
    Only with HDMI to HDMI, i am (we are) using DVI to HDMI and thats not working because DVI doesn't send audio.
    That is why you use analoge audio input on tv and that is only working when you use vga, when you use HDMI the audio-in does not work.
    It looks like the only way to connect your PC with HDMI is to buy a new PC or replace your DVI-videocard for a newer videocard with HDMI.

  11. #11
    New Member
    Points: 86, Level: 1
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 64
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Stoke-on-Trent UK
    Posts
    5
    Points
    86
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    PC sound

    Quote Originally Posted by jaro View Post
    Only with HDMI to HDMI, i am (we are) using DVI to HDMI and thats not working because DVI doesn't send audio.
    That is why you use analoge audio input on tv and that is only working when you use vga, when you use HDMI the audio-in does not work.
    It looks like the only way to connect your PC with HDMI is to buy a new PC or replace your DVI-videocard for a newer videocard with HDMI.
    I agree with that.

  12. #12
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Hi @All.

    The reson why you're not getting audio through HDMI-HDMI is because it's a limitation in most of the NVidia graphics card. This is stated in some manuals from NVidia. To get sound from the PC with a NVidia graphics card you will need an extra sound cable.

    At certain graphics cards you need to enable the digital audio on the graphics card audio settings, please try this.


    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

Similar Topics

  1. flat tv filmformat doesnt save??
    By flattv in forum TV: User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2013, 03:25 PM
  2. No sound in hd mode on flat tv
    By Arnoldo88 in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2012, 09:19 PM
  3. no sound in hd mode on flat tv
    By Arnoldo88 in forum TV: Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-22-2012, 10:19 PM
  4. waC700 flat cable needed
    By tony1040 in forum Sound: Other Wireless Audio Models
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2012, 04:27 PM
  5. Full HbbTV in latest Flat-TVs ? or when ?
    By rainh in forum Smart TV: HbbTV
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-13-2011, 04:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •