Results 1 to 4 of 4
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Philips MediaConnect - Transcoding?... Advantages and Disadvantages non-USB-Wifi?

    Hello,

    Philips MediaConnect projects the computer screen on TV.

    Philips MediaConnect not perform transcoding in flight (real time) for the projection, while other applications such as TVersity or WMP-Play-To, perform transcoding when the TV does not have the format being played.

    For this reason, an advantage of Philips MediaConnect is projected on the TV any format that plays on the PC screen by any player or browser.

    Is my interpretation correct?. Anybody can confirm that Philips Media Connect works without Transconding?.

    What are the advantages and disadvantages is to use Philips Media Connect non-USB-Wifi, instead of using TVersity or WMP-Play-To?.

    I look forward to your comments.

    Regards
    Last edited by Jomsp; 02-25-2011 at 09:56 AM.

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,501, Level: 67
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 849
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,695
    Points
    47,501
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 117 Times in 104 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    Philips MediaConnect only projects your desktop to your TV (with stereo 2.0 sound only)... so you can play anything on your PC and it is projected on your TV. Your TV is not recognized as a new monitor! It is a clone application.

    However, you need a powerful PC and a good LAN/WLAN connection to handle larger resolutions...

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 1,879, Level: 12
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 271
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    66
    Points
    1,879
    Level
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    Philips MediaConnect only projects your desktop to your TV (with stereo 2.0 sound only)... so you can play anything on your PC and it is projected on your TV. Your TV is not recognized as a new monitor! It is a clone application.

    However, you need a powerful PC and a good LAN/WLAN connection to handle larger resolutions...

    Toengel@Alex
    Thanks Toengel,

    TVersity also you need a Powerful PC for transcoding.
    However, I understand that you need to Philips MediaConnect Better LAN / WAN Than TVersity.

    I note.

    New contributions would be welcome to pros and cons.

    Greetings

  4. #4
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,726, Level: 11
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 124
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    l00pu5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    49
    Points
    1,726
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    A point that is annoying would be that WFMC is not available for MacOS, nor does any solution for Linux users (like myself) exist. Okay, one can use Pluggit or stuff like that, but a predefined all-in-one solution sure would be fine...

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •