Results 1 to 10 of 10
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    New Member
    Points: 104, Level: 1
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    7
    Points
    104
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Upgrade does not occur

    I have a 32PFL2807H/12 (Series 2800) on which I'm trying to upgrade the software. Current version is V.0.2.9a.

    Followed the instructions to install VES11E_0.8.9b. All the flashing and delays occur as expected and folders are created on USB stick. However, version number is still the same.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    try to install again.

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    New Member
    Points: 104, Level: 1
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    7
    Points
    104
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Yeah, well that was the first thing I tried...several times. Got to the point that it qualified for insanity under the heading "Doing the same thing expecting a different result ;-) " Tried a different USB stick type. Same result. All the blinking lights seem consistent with an upgrade, but version number remains the same. Tried unzipping with different software etc.

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    first format a USB stick with FAT (maybe FAT16 - not FAT32). Copy the *.bin and *.txt to the root of the usb stick. Then:

    1. Switch the TV to standby.
    2. Connect the USB flash drive (containing the software update) to the USB connector on the TV.
    3. Press and hold the OK button on the remote control. Do not release the OK button.
    4. Switch on the TV using the power switch on the TV.
    5. Hold the OK button for 5 more seconds.
    6. Release the OK button once the LED starts blinking. LED blinking indicates that the software
    upgrade is in process.
    7. TV start-up by itself upon successful software upgrade.
    8. To confirm the latest software is properly installed, check the software version displayed in the
    [Settings]. Refer Step 1 on how to check the software version.

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    New Member
    Points: 104, Level: 1
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    7
    Points
    104
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Ok. Got a USB stick formatted FAT16. Followed the above procedure. All the blinking and expected delays and start-up occur - as before. Installed unzipped 32pfl2807h_12_fus_aen.zip with bin and txt file in the root directory. Version on TV still V.0.2.9a.

    Assuming that means it's not updating since the version on the website is called VES11E_0.8.9b.

    Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Points: 9,766, Level: 29
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 184
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Tagger Second Class5000 Experience Points1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!Overdrive
    Philips - Benedickte's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,015
    Points
    9,766
    Level
    29
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by mqbenedict View Post
    Ok. Got a USB stick formatted FAT16. Followed the above procedure. All the blinking and expected delays and start-up occur - as before. Installed unzipped 32pfl2807h_12_fus_aen.zip with bin and txt file in the root directory. Version on TV still V.0.2.9a.

    Assuming that means it's not updating since the version on the website is called VES11E_0.8.9b.

    Any other ideas?
    Hi Mqbenedict.


    Could you please press 123654 on your remote control, while your TV is in normal viewing mode ( not menu). ou then get a CSM menu up of a total of 3 pages. Then doucle check the model number and current software version installed.

    The only file you should have on your USB stick is the autorun.upg - file.

    Best regards,
    Benedickte
    Forum Mod

  7. #7
    New Member
    Points: 104, Level: 1
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    7
    Points
    104
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks Benedickte. I am using this as a monitor and not a TV, so when I go to TV mode and enter 1236545, I just get a message that I have not selected any channels. Don't have any antenna etc. so...

    At any rate, I am not seeing autorun.upg on my stick at all. Attached is what I see.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	shot.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	36.3 KB 
ID:	1807

  8. #8
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Philips - Benedickte View Post
    The only file you should have on your USB stick is the autorun.upg - file.
    Hi,

    it seems to be different on the TV/platform - you Need both files: http://download.p4c.philips.com/file...12_fin_eng.pdf

    Toengel@Alex

  9. #9
    Diamond Member
    Points: 47,673, Level: 67
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 677
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience Points25000 Experience Points
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,706
    Points
    47,673
    Level
    67
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 118 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    @benedict

    please remove all other files. Only Keep the bin and the txt.

    Toengel@Alex

  10. #10
    New Member
    Points: 104, Level: 1
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 45.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!7 days registered100 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    7
    Points
    104
    Level
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks. That worked...once. I did that and when I checked, the menus were different and I indeed saw on the "other settings" page additional information (relative to pre-upgrade) including the version number of the upgrade. However, after trying to get the video to work properly (which is the overarching problem), when I checked again, the original screen with the original software version showed. Tried a couple of times more and cannot get the upgrade to occur.

    It's as if it automatically reverted to the first software version. Yes, I had removed the USB drive.

    Really really upredictable. Any help would be appreciated.

Similar Topics

  1. 47PFL9703 SW upgrade failed- TV stuck in upgrade mode.
    By Tracyd in forum TV: Software 2009 models (and older)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-04-2013, 03:23 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 06:42 AM

Tags for this Topic

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •