Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  • Topic Tools
  • Display
  • Bookmark and Share
  1. #1
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Playing SACDs on a 9700

    Hi,

    I have a problem in playing SACDs. The BDP is connected via two HDMI cables to the outer
    world. One to the TV set (audio disabled) and the second one to the AVR (bitstream).

    Each time I'd like to listen to a SACD I ony have the Stereo channels.
    Any ideas. I only once managed to make it work in multi channel mode.

    Cheers
    Gerhard

  2. #2
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    please check your Firmware Version and MCU Version: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...-been-released

    Is your BDP Setup to use the SACD layer?

    Toengel@Alex

  3. #3
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    [...]
    please check your Firmware Version and MCU Version: http://www.supportforum.philips.com/...-been-released

    Is your BDP Setup to use the SACD layer?
    Update was done correctly, MCU checked okay and setup set to use SACD layer.

    Gerhard

  4. #4
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    which AVR do you have?

    Toengel@Alex

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    I have a Pioneer VSX921 and a 40PFL9705.
    - Gerhard

  6. #6
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Seems nobody than me uses the 9700 for SACDs - what a pity

    Anyway - just to add some more annoying observations:
    - some SACDS (namely Pink Floyd promotion disc "Money" and Peter Gabriel "Shaking the Tree"
    cause the player to hang - sometimes the ">|" button helps, sometimes a power cycle
    - the user interface without having the TV screen on is simply useless - selecting
    single tracks on CDs or SACDs is pretty difficult, as the player always shows "play",
    when pressing the ">|" button instead of simply counting up the tracks. Pressing
    stop and showing "Browser" is also not really helpful - simply showing the current selected
    track and the total number of tracks would make more sense.
    - trying to start a CD sometimes causes the player to "hang". Power cycling or
    resetting helps.

    Are there any plans to improve things and more important to fix bugs?

    If needed, I could provide more information and test results.
    - Gerhard

  7. #7
    Silver Member
    Points: 2,335, Level: 13
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 115
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    83
    Points
    2,335
    Level
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    3
    Okay, nobody asked for but here some more stuff (for completeness):
    As mentioned above I'm using the HDMI "bi-wiring" scheme. Disconnecting HDMI Main
    from the TV set before plugging in the PDP9700 makes the multi-channel output work
    for a SACD (DSOTM - Pink Floyd) on HDMI AVR. While playing a track from this CD,
    I plugged in HDMI Main to my TV set (which is in standby mode) and suddenly the sound
    switches to "stereo". Needless to say that the player restarts playing track 1...

    - Gerhard

  8. #8
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,627, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 223
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wesepe/Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,627
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerhard View Post
    Hi,

    I have a problem in playing SACDs. The BDP is connected via two HDMI cables to the outer
    world. One to the TV set (audio disabled) and the second one to the AVR (bitstream).

    Each time I'd like to listen to a SACD I ony have the Stereo channels.
    Any ideas. I only once managed to make it work in multi channel mode.

    Cheers
    Gerhard
    Hallo Gerard,

    I have the same issue, and in addition I noticed that the Stereo signal that comes through (When SACD are played) is PCM 24/88Khz. So, some kind of conversion takes place based on the max capabilities of the DA converter in the TV set. Wrong offcourse. Hopefully this kind of info gives the Philips engineers some kind of clue what needs to be done.

  9. #9
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,627, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 223
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wesepe/Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,627
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerhard View Post
    Okay, nobody asked for but here some more stuff (for completeness):
    As mentioned above I'm using the HDMI "bi-wiring" scheme. Disconnecting HDMI Main
    from the TV set before plugging in the PDP9700 makes the multi-channel output work
    for a SACD (DSOTM - Pink Floyd) on HDMI AVR. While playing a track from this CD,
    I plugged in HDMI Main to my TV set (which is in standby mode) and suddenly the sound
    switches to "stereo". Needless to say that the player restarts playing track 1...

    - Gerhard
    This sounds like valuable information. I will try this option too. It will mean though that no picture will be available at all (Not even the limited play menu)
    Did you get native DSD output or was it some kind of PCM downsampling?

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,627, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 223
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wesepe/Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,627
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hallo Gerard

    I did some checks and agree that it works, but I can hardly imagine that this setup is intentional.

    So, a summary: In order to get direct DSD output in both the HDMI connector and at the same time through the ANalog RCA (7.1) connectors one has to disconnect the "HDMI main" from any TV set.

    The above setup will result in very good sound from SACD (and BLue Ray audio sources), both from the HDMI AVR connector as well as from the RCA connectors. THe DSD D/A conversion in the 9700 seems very well done, so people can stick to their high quality older amplifiers that lack HDMI connections.

    As a consequence of the above setup the BDP9700 does not produce any picture; the only thing you get is the black and white screen with warning text HDMI AVR is audio only. !
    Last edited by WillemV; 03-29-2013 at 09:09 AM. Reason: typo

  11. #11
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,627, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 223
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wesepe/Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,627
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerhard View Post
    Hi,

    I have a problem in playing SACDs. The BDP is connected via two HDMI cables to the outer
    world. One to the TV set (audio disabled) and the second one to the AVR (bitstream).

    Each time I'd like to listen to a SACD I ony have the Stereo channels.
    Any ideas. I only once managed to make it work in multi channel mode.

    Cheers
    Gerhard
    Several inputs have been delivered already but it was somewhat fragmentaric hence my attempt to create clarity for potential support team members that use the forum as a help to fix issues: I have created a list of scenario's and tested those with my equipment availalbe at home: Feel free to add more scenario's.


    Scenario 1: HDMI centric high quality SACD playback according to manual
    1. Connections: HDMI AVR to AVR, HDMI Main to Digital TV set.
    2. Audio Settings BDP9700: HDMI AVR: Bitstream, HDMI Main: Off
    3. Result: No six channel DSD bitstream fed into AVR. Instead 88Khz stereo. Analog audio not high quality (Probably a PCM derived signal, too many conversions).
    4. Video: Video available through TV set channel.


    Scenario 2: Analog centric to AVR
    1. Connections: HDMI AVR not connected, HDMI Main to AVR, Analog 7.1 to AVR.
    2. Audio Settings BDP9700: HDMI AVR:Bitstream, HDMI Main: Off
    3. Result: 6 channel (or 5 since most SACDís are 5.0) analog sound available in very high quality. However Player stops after most tracks and need next track restart.
    4. Video (for selection of tracks and progress of the player) available through monitor out of the AVR.

    Scenario 3: Analog centric to external HDMI TV set (for AVRís without HDMI input)
    1. Connections: HDMI AVR not connected, HDMI Main to digital TV, Analog 7.1 to AVR.
    2. Audio Settings BDP9700: HDMI AVR:Bitstream, HDMI Main: Off
    3. Result: 6 channel analog sound available in very high quality. Occasional stop after tracks and in need of next track restart.
    4. Video (for selection of tracks and progress of the player) available through external TV channel..

    Scenario 4: HDMI centric DSD direct
    5. Connections: HDMI AVR to AVR, HDMI Main to AVR.
    6. Audio Settings BDP9700: HDMI AVR: Bitstream, HDMI Main: Off
    7. Result: High quality six channel DSD bitstream fed into AVR.
    8. Video: No Video available when using the HDMI AVR connected input on the AVR. Switching over to the HDMI Main connected input on the AVR provides Picture from the BDP9700 but causes the DSD bitstream to stop and silence overwhelms.

    Used equipment:
    Room1: BDP9700 connected to Onkyo TX 875 (With Burr Brown 1796, DSD Direct capable converters); 5 large speakers. Philips Digital TV set 6000 serie

    Room2: BDP9700 connected to Marantz SR12-S1 (7.1 channel amplifier without HDMI) 5 Large speakers. Philips 5000 serie TV set.
    Other players available for comparison: Sony BDP590, Marantz UD8004, Philips 963SA and Philips 9000SA.


    At it stands today Scenario 1 and 4 are useless for different reasons. (no video or no sound)

    Normally I would have returned the player already but I decided to put some extra effort in place because the sound quality so far has been very promissing; Seems even better than my beloved UD8004 (Sorry Marantz)

    Willem

  12. #12
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    please try the new firmware 3.76...

    Toengel@Alex

  13. #13
    Bronze Member
    Points: 209, Level: 2
    Level completed: 59%, Points required for next Level: 41
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!100 Experience Points31 days registered

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    11
    Points
    209
    Level
    2
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Tried the 3.76 version. But it didn't solve my issue of need to turn on tv to play sacd.

    ... Great hardware, awesome sound quality .... sloopy software .... Sigh .... What a waste...
    Last edited by hellochishing; 03-31-2013 at 07:07 AM.

  14. #14
    Bronze Member
    Points: 1,627, Level: 11
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 223
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    New Achievement!1 year registered1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Wesepe/Netherlands
    Posts
    24
    Points
    1,627
    Level
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Toengel View Post
    Hi,

    please try the new firmware 3.76...

    Toengel@Alex
    Sounds great to have new firmware. Unfortunately I cannot find it. It is not posted at the standard product website yet. ? Can you provide me with a link to upload ?

  15. #15
    Diamond Member
    Points: 50,250, Level: 69
    Level completed: 36%, Points required for next Level: 900
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassTagger First ClassOverdrive1000 Experience PointsNew Achievement!
    Awards:
    Posting Award

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    5,961
    Points
    50,250
    Level
    69
    Thanks
    149
    Thanked 168 Times in 150 Posts
    Rep Power
    9
    Hi,

    go to www.philips.com/support and search for your BDP...

    Toengel@Alex

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Topics

  1. 9700 and DSD super audio out through HDMI
    By DSD SACD MARI in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2013, 11:12 AM
  2. Can I record through the SMART TV Plus of the BDP 9700 via USB?
    By Gianluc76 in forum Blu-ray: BDP9000 Series
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-08-2013, 04:06 PM
  3. self created .mp4 movie >4Gb not playing, <4Gb is playing
    By DannyV in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-2012, 08:52 AM
  4. Playing MKV from from USB
    By marcobjorge in forum TV: Streaming & Network
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-04-2012, 08:50 AM
  5. Muse2: playing screen -> Media Library, not showing current playing track
    By Caveman in forum Sound: GoGear SA2-series (2010)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2012, 04:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •